Follow GotFuturama on Twitter and Facebook!

   
Can't Get Enough Futurama! Happy Fry
Can't get enough Futurama - morefuturama
Futurama Information
»  Futurama News
»  Articles
»  Episode Guide
»  Character Bios
»  Encyclopedia
»  Episode Capsules
»  Freeze Frame
»  Comic Capsules
»  Futurama FAQ
»  Futurama Staff
»  Lists & References
»  Merchandise
»  TV Listings
»  Web News
»  Futurama Links
»  What's Futurama
»  Behind the Scenes
Futurama Multimedia
»  Ascii Art
»  Sounds & Quotes
»  Fan 3D Art
»  Animation & Video
»  Frame Grabs
»  Guitar Tabs
»  Nokia Stuff
»  Original Scans
»  Other Sounds
»  Promo Pics
Interactive
»  Alien Codecs
»  Comic Reviews
»  Episode Reviews
»  Episode Trivia
»  Random Trivia
»  Fan Art
»  Fan Fiction
»  Futurama Chat
»  Guest Book
»  Message Board
Futurama Desktop
»  Futurama Fonts
»  Icons & Cursors
»  ICQ+ Scheme
»  PocketPC Themes
»  Screen Savers
»  Software
»  Wallpapers
»  Winamp Skins
Futurama Games
»  CGEF Games
»  Official Game
»  Flash Games
»  Game Addons
»  Submitted Games
»  Guess the Pic!
Contact
»  Privacy Statement

   Buddies:
  Planet Express Employee Lounge - The Futurama Message Board
  The Infosphere - Futurama Wiki
  The Futurama Point
  


   Support:
  



Futurama Comics Reviews



Futurama Simpsons Crossover Crisis Part II #2

Release Date: 03/23/05

After all of the residents of Springfield are enslaved in 31st century New New York City, the Simpsons and the Planet Express crew must work together to restore order, find a peaceful resolution, and repair the huge gaping vortex in the side of the New New York Public Library that has unleashed every character from the world of literature on an unsuspecting populace. Prepare yourself for..."The Read Menace"! Read it and weep with laughter.

# of Reviews: 40   Rating: 83%


add a review for this comic

Page: - 1 - [2][3][4]


#1 by Otis P Jivefunk
It was a reasonable effort, but not up to the extremely high standard set by the previous Crossovers. Personally I thought that all the literary characters got in the way a bit. Having two sets of characters (Futurama/Simpsons) is more than enough to provide substantial material...

The whole issue felt a bit rushed, in terms of artwork and script (and on page 29 there's an extra "the" in Bart's speech bubble). There was simply so much more in the first part, and some really nice panel experimentation. This seemed more standard and run of the mill, but that's ok I guess. I found that some parts came off as a bit forced, however there were some genuinely classic and hilarious moments. I love how they brought the Finglonger back, and the joke they used with Bart picking Lisa's nose was hilarious! It was also great seeing Hans Moleman getting left behind in space, and the irony of Bender being used as a bottle opener by giant Homer was classic!
03/23/05

#2 by Stefan Scott
As I live in the UK, I had read the 2nd part of the Simpsons Futurama Crossover Crisis II about 2 weeks ago and I think this part 'The Read Menace' is much better than the 1st part 'Slaves of New New York'. This is because of the cameo appearance of the Amazing Colossal Homer from Simpsons Comics #1 and also contains more humourous jokes referring to the different story-book characters and the return of the What-If? machine and the Fing-longer. I also loved the Hans Moleman stranded in space joke and the new Captain of Zapp Brannigan's Nimbus Starship: Cptn. Waylon Smithers! I thought the first part was quite good but I felt that the Simpsons characters weren't involved much in the story. In the second part, I preferred the fact that they had a much larger role in the story. Anyway, 'The Simpsons Futurama Crossover Crisis II' has been an awesome piece of comic treasure and I would like to give special thanks to Matt Groening for creating both The Simpsons and Futurama as well as everyone at Bongo Comics for combining both universes again!
P.S. BRING FUTURAMA BACK ON FOX!!! So I can start watching it on Sky-One again!

Stefan Scott gave 5 points
03/24/05 | eMail

#3 by Ryan Brown
Hello! I live in UK, and can't find the second part anywhere! WHSmith, Martin's, Woolworths, Newsagents... where is it? The next one will be here soon, oh no!
But, I have read all other reviews... and if I don't get the 2nd part, I know what it's mostly about now (Shame to miss the poster - was there one?) Expect to hear from me in other comic reviews before this very soon...

Ryan Brown gave 4 points
03/26/05

#4 by tom123
I thought it was a decent issue. There were a few good surprises in there, and I always like surprises. There were also plenty of laughs, and, of course, the great ending. I can only wonder what lies in the future for this.

tom123 gave 4 points
03/26/05

#5 by The Futurama Wiz
It was a okay issue.Not as good as I expected though. I'm looking more forward to #20

The Futurama Wiz gave 4 points
03/26/05

#6 by fryfan
It was funny, but not as good as Part II of the original crossover. I like the ending, hope there are more crossovers in the future.

fryfan gave 4 points
03/29/05

#7 by thewhyofthisguy
Not very original, seemed forced; and maybe a little rushed. Still It had some good things.
But whats up with Mr.Burn's clone? I smell a two part comic special next year.
Smithers the butt-pirate, funny.

thewhyofthisguy gave 4 points
03/29/05

#8 by Nick Smith
MAKE A REPRINT BOOK OF THE WHOLE THING ALREADY!!!!!!! Springfield meeting New New York is cool enough for me.

Nick Smith gave 5 points
03/31/05

#9 by futurama rox
awsomeness!!!!!!!!FUTURAMA ROX!!!!!!!!!!!

futurama rox gave 5 points
03/31/05

#10 by Mr.X
The First Crossover, meanin issues 3 & 4 in England, were FAB. But i always want the Simpsons to do MORE in the world of Futurama. Well, Congrats 2 Matt and the rest of u Wakos, ya did it!

Mr.X gave 5 points
04/01/05


Page: - 1 - [2][3][4]

add a review for this comic


back to the overview

 

Legal notice: "Futurama" TM and copyright FOX, its related entities and the Curiosity Company. All rights reserved. Any reproduction, duplication or distribution of these materials in any form is expressly prohibited. Disclaimer: As a fan page, this web site and its content are not authorized by FOX.