Follow GotFuturama on Twitter and Facebook!

   
Can't Get Enough Futurama! Happy Fry
Can't get enough Futurama - morefuturama
Futurama Information
»  Futurama News
»  Articles
»  Episode Guide
»  Character Bios
»  Encyclopedia
»  Episode Capsules
»  Freeze Frame
»  Comic Capsules
»  Futurama FAQ
»  Futurama Staff
»  Lists & References
»  Merchandise
»  TV Listings
»  Web News
»  Futurama Links
»  What's Futurama
»  Behind the Scenes
Futurama Multimedia
»  Ascii Art
»  Sounds & Quotes
»  Fan 3D Art
»  Animation & Video
»  Frame Grabs
»  Guitar Tabs
»  Nokia Stuff
»  Original Scans
»  Other Sounds
»  Promo Pics
Interactive
»  Alien Codecs
»  Comic Reviews
»  Episode Reviews
»  Episode Trivia
»  Random Trivia
»  Fan Art
»  Fan Fiction
»  Futurama Chat
»  Guest Book
»  Message Board
Futurama Desktop
»  Futurama Fonts
»  Icons & Cursors
»  ICQ+ Scheme
»  PocketPC Themes
»  Screen Savers
»  Software
»  Wallpapers
»  Winamp Skins
Futurama Games
»  CGEF Games
»  Official Game
»  Flash Games
»  Game Addons
»  Submitted Games
»  Guess the Pic!
Contact
»  Privacy Statement

   Buddies:
  Planet Express Employee Lounge - The Futurama Message Board
  The Infosphere - Futurama Wiki
  The Futurama Point
  


   Support:
  



Episode Reviews


Short Summary

Jurassic Bark
First aired 11/17/02
Rank: 15/124
Reviews: 1477
Rating: 91%

Bender gets jealous when it looks like cloning will reunite Fry with his dog from the 20th century.
 


add a review

Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] - 10 - [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26] [27] [28] [29] [30] [31] [32] [33] [34] [35] [36] [37] [38] [39] [40] [41] [42] [43] [44] [45] [46] [47] [48] [49] [50] [51] [52] [53] [54] [55] [56] [57] [58] [59] [60] [61] [62] [63] [64] [65] [66] [67] [68] [69] [70] [71] [72] [73] [74] [75] [76] [77] [78] [79] [80] [81] [82] [83] [84] [85] [86] [87] [88] [89] [90] [91] [92] [93] [94] [95] [96] [97] [98] [99] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] [132] [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148]
#91 by jeebus
Just like everybody said, great episode. Funny and freaking sad. I can't remember the last time I cried so much. It started with Seymour waiting for Fry in front of the pizzeria but the floodgates opened when Seymour finally laid down and then closed his eyes. A lot had to do with the music they chose too. Jeez, here I am at work getting teary-eyed while thinking of a cartoon.

jeebus gave 5 points
20.11.2002

#92 by Ashkan
Connie Frances

Ashkan gave 5 points
20.11.2002

#93 by Rob
Amazing episode. TV cannot get any better than this. I don't think an episode of anything has ever gotten to me this much. This was some brilliant, brilliant writing.

Rob gave 5 points
20.11.2002

#94 by Gray Man
What I wanted to say as already been said but this is one of the only shows on TV now that can make you feel so many emotions in 30 minutes.

Gray Man gave 5 points
20.11.2002

#95 by Matt
For some reason, as most of you know the episode was sad, I have started to see things on a different level from this episode. I just see life as a sucky place, and that horrible things happen and you cant change it. I keep having images of that poor dog passing away, and there wont be an episode to not make that in vein...and it tears me up inside. I seriously get really hot inside thinking about it. I just cant shake the horrible feeling. Is anyone else feeling this horrible. 2 days after I cried...it was just that sad. Be warned!

Anyone konw Matt Groening's contact information. Im gonna plea to him to make a new episode with Seymour.

Matt gave 5 points
20.11.2002

#96 by Pete
What an amazing episode to say the least. There is little if any television out there that can touch so many people. For a cartoon to be able to pull it off in 30 minutes is really a wonderful accomplishment. While sad, it did do the job of any well-told story, to stir up the emotions in its viewers. This was TV at its best.

Pete gave 5 points
20.11.2002

#97 by Matt
WOW. I was amazed to read that so many others had the same reaction as I did, after watching this tear jerker I had to go on-line and search google for a Futurama site.

But I have one comment. Could this episode also be an "indictment" of stupid people? You know, the only thing preventing Seymour reuniting with Fry was Fry's stupidity, the same thing that keeps him from Leela. I know this sounds kind of lame, but almost in an Ann Randish sort of way could Groening be commenting on lack of intelligence (as with Homer J. Simpson) being the root cause for mankind's problems?

P.S. I want a sequel where the dog gets recloned after all...even if it's only in a comic book or fan fiction.

:-)

Matt gave 5 points
20.11.2002

#98 by Phil
Wow, simply wow.

Phil gave 5 points
20.11.2002

#99 by Myn
What a beautiful tragedy. I loved the dog's progression from the weak, saddened alley mutt to the proud, healthy, and loyal-to-the-end companion. And I cried so much as he withered back away as the seasons passed, completely ignoring everything (even the offering of food) as he waited for the return of his friend.

As much as I was hoping to see the dog cloned, I think that if they brought Seymour back in another episode, it would spoil the tragedy of this episode a bit. Regret is a powerful emotion, and there's nothing sadder than an opportunity missed forever. The cartoon offers the unique perspective for us to see the missed opportunity, as Fry unwittingly destroys Seymour's last hope -- a rare selfless act for Fry in its intent, brought about by his love for his companion.

Myn gave 5 points
20.11.2002

#100 by Cameron
What an awesome episode! I don't really watch Futurama, never really got into it but I was told about this episode from a friend so, being the sucker for tragedy I immediately downloaded it from Kazaa and watched it. It was amazing, the only "cartoons" with more heart wrenching power than this are Grave of the Fireflies and probably Neon Genesis Evangelion.

As I watched this episode, I couldn't help but notice the detail given to the dog. Seymour was beautifully drawn to evoke as much sympathy as they could from the frail starving mutt, to the extremely exuberantly happy companion, to the lonely sad dying dog that sat waiting for a master that never came.

On the one hand, I empathize with Fry for he never knew the story. He assumed Seymour lived on happily, found new friends but he didn't realize that at that time that all they had were each other. Both were outcasts, lonely and desperate and found each other and I think Seymour recognized that better than Fry which accounts for unswerving hope and loyalty.

In the end as Myn pointed out above, yes it is more tragic not to have the dog cloned. But on the other hand, if Fry had cloned Seymour I don't think Seymour would have held the 12 years against Fry and would've been exuberant to be at his side again just one more time for Fry to complete his promise that he would come back. But in a way Fry did as he promised, he had brought Seymour home. Now, I'm off to cry again but I hope the writers before Futurama is completely yanked will write in an episode where Seymour is brought back to life if even for a second.

Cameron gave 5 points
20.11.2002


Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] - 10 - [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26] [27] [28] [29] [30] [31] [32] [33] [34] [35] [36] [37] [38] [39] [40] [41] [42] [43] [44] [45] [46] [47] [48] [49] [50] [51] [52] [53] [54] [55] [56] [57] [58] [59] [60] [61] [62] [63] [64] [65] [66] [67] [68] [69] [70] [71] [72] [73] [74] [75] [76] [77] [78] [79] [80] [81] [82] [83] [84] [85] [86] [87] [88] [89] [90] [91] [92] [93] [94] [95] [96] [97] [98] [99] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] [132] [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148]

add a review


back to the overview

 

Legal notice: "Futurama" TM and copyright FOX, its related entities and the Curiosity Company. All rights reserved. Any reproduction, duplication or distribution of these materials in any form is expressly prohibited. Disclaimer: As a fan page, this web site and its content are not authorized by FOX.