Follow GotFuturama on Twitter and Facebook!

   
Can't Get Enough Futurama! Happy Fry
Can't get enough Futurama - morefuturama
Futurama Information
»  Futurama News
»  Articles
»  Episode Guide
»  Character Bios
»  Encyclopedia
»  Episode Capsules
»  Freeze Frame
»  Comic Capsules
»  Futurama FAQ
»  Futurama Staff
»  Lists & References
»  Merchandise
»  TV Listings
»  Web News
»  Futurama Links
»  What's Futurama
»  Behind the Scenes
Futurama Multimedia
»  Ascii Art
»  Sounds & Quotes
»  Fan 3D Art
»  Animation & Video
»  Frame Grabs
»  Guitar Tabs
»  Nokia Stuff
»  Original Scans
»  Other Sounds
»  Promo Pics
Interactive
»  Alien Codecs
»  Comic Reviews
»  Episode Reviews
»  Episode Trivia
»  Random Trivia
»  Fan Art
»  Fan Fiction
»  Futurama Chat
»  Guest Book
»  Message Board
Futurama Desktop
»  Futurama Fonts
»  Icons & Cursors
»  ICQ+ Scheme
»  PocketPC Themes
»  Screen Savers
»  Software
»  Wallpapers
»  Winamp Skins
Futurama Games
»  CGEF Games
»  Official Game
»  Flash Games
»  Game Addons
»  Submitted Games
»  Guess the Pic!
Contact
»  Privacy Statement

   Buddies:
  Planet Express Employee Lounge - The Futurama Message Board
  The Infosphere - Futurama Wiki
  The Futurama Point
  


   Support:
  



Episode Reviews


Short Summary

The Why Of Fry
First aired 04/06/03
Rank: 10/124
Reviews: 353
Rating: 91%

Once again the Nibblonians need Fry's help to save the universe.
 


add a review

Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] - 10 - [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26] [27] [28] [29] [30] [31] [32] [33] [34] [35] [36]
#91 by Splee
Frankly, I don't care much for the episodes with emotional endings- only the funny ones. Fortunately, this one was also funny. Especially the Brains.

However it also fell into repeating a bit too much. How many times have we seen that 1999 bit in various episodes? Like 5 times?

But it was nice to see one with a grounded plot compared to the last two, which were, well funny, very, very wacky.

I'm sure the last episode will be chalk full of sentiment. I'm not sure whether to look forward to it or fear it.

Splee.

Splee gave 4 points
07.04.2003

#92 by Morbo
Best episode in the season, right after Jurrasic Bark.

Morbo gave 5 points
07.04.2003

#93 by RB
I thought the plot was too convoluted and contrived.

The endless string of jokes during the first act made this a very solid episode though. I just wish they could carry the humor through with the plot.

And Fry finally got his smooch! Good work, buddy!

RB gave 4 points
07.04.2003

#94 by Scott O
Great, great, great... I loved it. Best ep. in a while. It really is sad though, they are wrapping up all the loose ends in the series... and the kiss, oh man, I got teary-eyed.

Scott O gave 5 points
07.04.2003

#95 by Damitol
I'm giving it a 4, but only because I'm trying to rate it strictly against other Futurama's, and a “Futurama 4” is like a 14 for any other show.

Many good jokes, but more chuckles than belly laughs. I completely understand that the point of this episode was to advance the overall plot arc rather than unending big laughs, but to me, the jokes are a bit more important.

I think that this one will be a lot of fun to rewatch, because it is filled with subtle things. Like, Leela's single big contact lens (which was written pre-Monsters Inc.), or the fact Fry started to fall into the cryogenic tube by himself, but "future Fry" pulled the chair leg back while he was still arguing with 1999 Nibbler. I also loved the Scooty Puff Jr. ("Who's Ready For Some Safe Fun?"), the Feast of 1000 Beasts ("You going to eat that?" "Maybe later.") and, of all the questions Fry could ask the Big Brain, they first was the recipe for stamp glue.

Like others here, I think this would have made a perfect series finale and can't wait to see what they did in "Devil's Hands" for David to say in that interview that it was their "just in case the series ends" episode.

If we could use decimals, I would have given it a 4.8, but I have to reserve a 5 rating for the shows that I laugh out loud at. But - brilliant episode and definitely one of my top 10.

Damitol gave 4 points
07.04.2003

#96 by Kyliedawg
Enjoyable episode (especially the crack about those who don't use their brains much...with reference to 'people who watch cartoon shows!') but I think the hype as the show comes to an end may have been impossible to live up to as I don't think the team behind the show ever planned this as a show OR season finale...

As for Leela and Fry.....can't believe no one has mentioned the "Other One" comment...

What if it's a 'Return of the Jedi' thing and Leela and Fry are really related!

EEEWWWW!!!

Kyliedawg gave 4 points
07.04.2003

#97 by Jason M. Peavey
I found this episode to be a bit predictable.. after all, I always believed in the "Nibbler's shadow" theory, and that Fry would have to go back to that fateful night of December 31, 1999 attempting to change things. It also seemed too much like a rerun of "The Day the Earth Stood Stupid".

Still, this episode was significantly better than some of the other most recent ones. And I'm glad this "Nibbler's Shadow" mystery has finally been resolved for people who haven't been paying attention!

Jason M. Peavey gave 5 points
07.04.2003

#98 by H & SØ
One of the best episodes i ever have seen!
Futurma is to cool to cancelled. Think about your mistake FOX!!!

H & SØ gave 5 points
07.04.2003

#99 by cbrowne319
Great episode. I am really going to miss this show.

cbrowne319 gave 5 points
07.04.2003

#100 by Matt
hooray a great ep

Matt gave 5 points
07.04.2003


Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] - 10 - [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26] [27] [28] [29] [30] [31] [32] [33] [34] [35] [36]

add a review


back to the overview

 

Legal notice: "Futurama" TM and copyright FOX, its related entities and the Curiosity Company. All rights reserved. Any reproduction, duplication or distribution of these materials in any form is expressly prohibited. Disclaimer: As a fan page, this web site and its content are not authorized by FOX.