Follow GotFuturama on Twitter and Facebook!

   
Can't Get Enough Futurama! Happy Fry
Can't get enough Futurama - morefuturama
Futurama Information
»  Futurama News
»  Articles
»  Episode Guide
»  Character Bios
»  Encyclopedia
»  Episode Capsules
»  Freeze Frame
»  Comic Capsules
»  Futurama FAQ
»  Futurama Staff
»  Lists & References
»  Merchandise
»  TV Listings
»  Web News
»  Futurama Links
»  What's Futurama
»  Behind the Scenes
Futurama Multimedia
»  Ascii Art
»  Sounds & Quotes
»  Fan 3D Art
»  Animation & Video
»  Frame Grabs
»  Guitar Tabs
»  Nokia Stuff
»  Original Scans
»  Other Sounds
»  Promo Pics
Interactive
»  Alien Codecs
»  Comic Reviews
»  Episode Reviews
»  Episode Trivia
»  Random Trivia
»  Fan Art
»  Fan Fiction
»  Futurama Chat
»  Guest Book
»  Message Board
Futurama Desktop
»  Futurama Fonts
»  Icons & Cursors
»  ICQ+ Scheme
»  PocketPC Themes
»  Screen Savers
»  Software
»  Wallpapers
»  Winamp Skins
Futurama Games
»  CGEF Games
»  Official Game
»  Flash Games
»  Game Addons
»  Submitted Games
»  Guess the Pic!
Contact
»  Privacy Statement

   Buddies:
  Planet Express Employee Lounge - The Futurama Message Board
  The Infosphere - Futurama Wiki
  The Futurama Point
  


   Support:
  



Episode Reviews


Short Summary

Attack of the Killer App
First aired 07/01/10
Rank: 117/124
Reviews: 223
Rating: 59%

Fry posts an embarrassing video of Leela online.
 


add a review

Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] - 11 - [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23]
#101 by X
The promising first act is ruined by "Susan," the lowest point of the whole series.

X gave 2 points
06.07.2010

#102 by AP
I liked it better than the first 2 episodes, BUT hated these two things:

1. Susan Boyle. That was South Park, as others have noted. Not Futurama. Stupid, dated, gross, not funny, and just plain bad. Poor form guys, this "joke" ruined an otherwise superb episode.
2. Fry and Leela's relationship went from them being together to just friends with NO discussion or resolution. VERY poor form and a real diss to the fans of their relationship. The Fry/Leela romance is one of the best written aspects of the show, but this single episode has thrown that away.

I actually didn't mind the goat so much, or the eyePhone humour, as the show has always had dated references (KidNapster, Single Female Lawyer)

AP gave 3 points
06.07.2010

#103 by Uni
This episode was better than the 2nd but still pretty bad.

The constant already dated jokes about the IPhone and Twitter, and the horrid Susan Boil and two headed goat idea leave me very disappointed.

This from the height of the show with classic lines such as "The winner in a quantum finish...no fair you changed the results by measuring it!" and "I'll never love again...of course you will, it's shareware."

The new series feels like poorly done generic toilet humour and pop culture references where they attempt to make everything into a one liner.

Here's hoping against hope that the writing gets better as the season wears on. I can still watch any of the original run Futurama episodes and laugh, as well as find something new that I'd missed before.

As it stands now that I've seen each new episode twice, I've only chuckled once at the chamber of understanding, and laughed audibly once from the "You know too much" Japanese toilet joke.

Uni gave 2 points
06.07.2010

#104 by Kel
Best new episode yet - funny and some great lines "No, I came here to talk to you", Mr. Chunks, the eyePhone spoof. Very happy. Futurama is ramping up well on its comback.

Kel gave 5 points
06.07.2010

#105 by A TO THE C
Good episode, some great one liners, liked the eyePhone satire, the boil bit annoyed me but not enough to ruin the episode.

A TO THE C gave 4 points
06.07.2010

#106 by Martin
Did you note that this chapter don't follow cronologicaly the others?, because fry and leela are only friends... And i really think that the idea of the singing but boil was something stupid, but it's a good episode... (Sorry about my english)

Martin gave 3 points
07.07.2010

#107 by LeftWanting
I was actually surprised to see so many positive reviews for this episode. To me this is a distasteful moment for Futurama. I understand that every show has its flops, and this one, however great, is no exception (The Birdbot of Icecatraz and Mars University being some of my less favored). However, even at it's worst I have always found Futurama enjoyable and there are no episodes I would not watch again.

Although not their best work, I was at relatively happy with Rebirth (loved the Professor's lines in that one) and In-A-Gadda-Da-Leela, but something about this episode just rubbed me the wrong way.

Using current events for humor has never really been Futurama's style, and taking a whole episode mocking the Iphone and Twitter was more like a second rate Family Guy episode than a Futurama plot.

Also, for a show that (despite it's insane basis) keeps relatively grounded idea, having a singing boil as Leela's embarrassing moment
seemed kinda crude, almost like they ran out of time writing.

And then there's the whole Fry-Leela thing being held in limbo after the last couple episodes.

Maybe I've just got hi expectations after a few fairly solid movies and some great episodes (The Sting, Luck of the Fryish, Jurassic Bark, The Devil's Hands are Idle Playthings, etc), but it just feels to me like not as much thought went into this one.

Overall, I give it a C-,D+ range. Not the worse thing I've ever seen, but nothing I'm keen to watch again.

LeftWanting gave 2 points
07.07.2010

#108 by Hmmmm
I've always loved Futurama and although I'm glad it's back, I think that they are making the same mistakes as in the films - the writers are suffering from under-writing the show.

In the original 72, 2 teams of writers would slave over a script drafting it over and over and nit-picking, plotting and pacing.

In the films, they had less writers, less time and therefore more throwaway gags and less time spent on focusing the script. ITWGY was the most affected, with long rambling lines by Keeler that would have been trimmed.

Now, they've got some new writers (and lost some great old ones) so now Fry/Leela's relationship suffers, we get Family-Guy jokes and stupid endings with no continuity.

Disappointed, but still hopeful.

Hmmmm gave 3 points
07.07.2010

#109 by An Angry Fan
Don't the writers get it? We don't want to see gross humour and direct sex references! What genius thought it would be clever to have a talking boil? Oh right, Susan Boyle! Hahaha! Yeah, how lame can you get? Two headed goats that puke and cause diarrhea? Please! Don't insult our intelligence to low standards of Family Guy! We want clever humour and that's why I was a fan of the show in the first place! It better improve, otherwise I'm leaving this show for good and pretending these episodes never existed!

An Angry Fan gave 1 point
07.07.2010

#110 by Past viewer
Very bad but maybe a bit better than the first two episodes. I'll give the new season one more try but if it's not funnier I'll stop watching it.
Btw, saw season 1 yesterday. That is really good and you realize how bad the new stuff is.

Past viewer gave 2 points
07.07.2010


Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] - 11 - [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23]

add a review


back to the overview

 

Legal notice: "Futurama" TM and copyright FOX, its related entities and the Curiosity Company. All rights reserved. Any reproduction, duplication or distribution of these materials in any form is expressly prohibited. Disclaimer: As a fan page, this web site and its content are not authorized by FOX.