Follow GotFuturama on Twitter and Facebook!

   
Can't Get Enough Futurama! Happy Fry
Can't get enough Futurama - morefuturama
Futurama Information
»  Futurama News
»  Articles
»  Episode Guide
»  Character Bios
»  Encyclopedia
»  Episode Capsules
»  Freeze Frame
»  Comic Capsules
»  Futurama FAQ
»  Futurama Staff
»  Lists & References
»  Merchandise
»  TV Listings
»  Web News
»  Futurama Links
»  What's Futurama
»  Behind the Scenes
Futurama Multimedia
»  Ascii Art
»  Sounds & Quotes
»  Fan 3D Art
»  Animation & Video
»  Frame Grabs
»  Guitar Tabs
»  Nokia Stuff
»  Original Scans
»  Other Sounds
»  Promo Pics
Interactive
»  Alien Codecs
»  Comic Reviews
»  Episode Reviews
»  Episode Trivia
»  Random Trivia
»  Fan Art
»  Fan Fiction
»  Futurama Chat
»  Guest Book
»  Message Board
Futurama Desktop
»  Futurama Fonts
»  Icons & Cursors
»  ICQ+ Scheme
»  PocketPC Themes
»  Screen Savers
»  Software
»  Wallpapers
»  Winamp Skins
Futurama Games
»  CGEF Games
»  Official Game
»  Flash Games
»  Game Addons
»  Submitted Games
»  Guess the Pic!
Contact
»  Privacy Statement

   Buddies:
  Planet Express Employee Lounge - The Futurama Message Board
  The Infosphere - Futurama Wiki
  The Futurama Point
  


   Support:
  



Episode Reviews


Short Summary

Obsoletely Fabulous
First aired 07/27/03
Rank: 86/124
Reviews: 256
Rating: 79%

Bender is about to get an upgrade to compete with the Professor's latest acquisition. But in the end, he isn't all that sure about it.
 


add a review

Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] - 13 - [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26]
#121 by MR.TV

Best Bender episode of the season who really beated Bend Her.

MR.TV gave 5 points
30.07.2003

#122 by Splee
Good enough jokes to hold up yet another 'weepy out-of-character bender' episode. Any more of these plots and I'll get perturbed though.

Splee.

Splee gave 5 points
30.07.2003

#123 by m1ke
Average by futurama standards, which means excellent by most others.

The plot - Benders journey/what he learned on the way

The conclusion - moral of the story (perception of reality, what is real and what isn't)

The episode felt a little drawn out, even for just 21 minutes it felt that there just wasn't enough material in there. Futurama usually has A/B and even C stories running together, or else the highly intense 3 part episodes.

I feel this episode would have worked much better if there was something else going on in it.

There were some great jokes of course, the futurama universe was again expanded, and any fan of the show can spot the many interesting references etc... but overall it still lacked that killer content.

I'll watch it again anyway, it might be better on a second, either that or i'm not in a generous mood.

m1ke gave 3 points
30.07.2003

#124 by Robotron2084
Lukewarm episode with a couple good jokes but a boring premise. I originally was thinking,"great, this episode will focus on the fun side of rapid technological paradigm shifts in a Rudy Rucker sort of way." as the X-1 was entered into society. But then things just veered off course, with Bender off to Cheap Joke Island. It all felt a bit silly. Ha ha, look at bender, he's made of wood, get it? Ohhhh, I get it!

I guess what annoys me is that for once, the idea that I had in my mind for this episode was better than the episode!

Robotron2084 gave 1 point
30.07.2003

#125 by Ray Of Light
Although some really funny parts...I felt the episode was missing a lot. I love Bender and last weeks episode was so great I guess I just felt a little let down. Almost too much Bender but makes sense with the ending. I hope next weeks episode (Also Bender heavy) is more like Bend Her. Getting to see Roberto again was great though! "my parole officer won't give me back my stabbing knife..."

Ray Of Light gave 2 points
30.07.2003

#126 by fryfan
It was good, loved the Bender quotes, but I wish Fry, Leela, Amy and the Professor had more air time.

fryfan gave 3 points
30.07.2003

#127 by Jamie
Well... It was good but not the usual Futurama 5/5. Somethings about it sucked but others were great (the cassete robot rocked). I'd givei t a 4.5 but I'm evil so it gets a 4.

Jamie gave 4 points
30.07.2003

#128 by moonbus_69
Felt it could be better, so I give it an even 4.
So, Kenny Loggins and Beethoven made Bender's 'desert island discs' choices - would love to know what the other 8 CD's Bender smashed to bits were?
This episode reminded me of the island scenes in both 'Castaway' and 'Contact'.

moonbus_69 gave 4 points
30.07.2003

#129 by beelzebot
Take a typical Homer goes on a crazy, wacky adventure episode and replace Homer with Bender. Add a weak and abrupt slapped on ending and you get this kind of mess. Obsolete, indeed.

beelzebot gave 1 point
30.07.2003

#130 by dark
Funny and inventive, i dont know where they come up with this stuff sometimes.

dark gave 5 points
30.07.2003


Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] - 13 - [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26]

add a review


back to the overview

 

Legal notice: "Futurama" TM and copyright FOX, its related entities and the Curiosity Company. All rights reserved. Any reproduction, duplication or distribution of these materials in any form is expressly prohibited. Disclaimer: As a fan page, this web site and its content are not authorized by FOX.