Follow GotFuturama on Twitter and Facebook!

   
Can't Get Enough Futurama! Happy Fry
Can't get enough Futurama - morefuturama
Futurama Information
»  Futurama News
»  Articles
»  Episode Guide
»  Character Bios
»  Encyclopedia
»  Episode Capsules
»  Freeze Frame
»  Comic Capsules
»  Futurama FAQ
»  Futurama Staff
»  Lists & References
»  Merchandise
»  TV Listings
»  Web News
»  Futurama Links
»  What's Futurama
»  Behind the Scenes
Futurama Multimedia
»  Ascii Art
»  Sounds & Quotes
»  Fan 3D Art
»  Animation & Video
»  Frame Grabs
»  Guitar Tabs
»  Nokia Stuff
»  Original Scans
»  Other Sounds
»  Promo Pics
Interactive
»  Alien Codecs
»  Comic Reviews
»  Episode Reviews
»  Episode Trivia
»  Random Trivia
»  Fan Art
»  Fan Fiction
»  Futurama Chat
»  Guest Book
»  Message Board
Futurama Desktop
»  Futurama Fonts
»  Icons & Cursors
»  ICQ+ Scheme
»  PocketPC Themes
»  Screen Savers
»  Software
»  Wallpapers
»  Winamp Skins
Futurama Games
»  CGEF Games
»  Official Game
»  Flash Games
»  Game Addons
»  Submitted Games
»  Guess the Pic!
Contact
»  Privacy Statement

   Buddies:
  Planet Express Employee Lounge - The Futurama Message Board
  The Infosphere - Futurama Wiki
  The Futurama Point
  


   Support:
  



Episode Reviews


Short Summary

Jurassic Bark
First aired 11/17/02
Rank: 15/124
Reviews: 1477
Rating: 91%

Bender gets jealous when it looks like cloning will reunite Fry with his dog from the 20th century.
 


add a review

Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26] [27] [28] [29] [30] [31] [32] [33] [34] [35] [36] [37] [38] [39] [40] [41] [42] [43] [44] [45] [46] [47] [48] [49] [50] [51] [52] [53] [54] [55] [56] [57] [58] [59] [60] [61] [62] [63] [64] [65] [66] [67] [68] [69] [70] [71] [72] [73] [74] [75] [76] [77] [78] [79] [80] [81] [82] [83] [84] [85] [86] [87] [88] [89] [90] [91] [92] [93] [94] [95] [96] [97] [98] [99] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] - 132 - [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148]
#1311 by scrub
This episode was great. but i wish they would have never made it. it made me cry thinking of my two dogs waiting for me at home. I think i'll go home next week just to see them.

scrub gave 5 points
25.02.2007

#1312 by Jaydon
I think the dog was very loyal. The ending made me cry. I wish fry would have cloned the dog.

Jaydon gave 5 points
25.02.2007

#1313 by defined
this was on eof the best episodes in the series.i loved it but its sad in the end.poor seymore waiting for fry to com

defined gave 5 points
28.02.2007

#1314 by PokeNirvash
Excellent episode. This is one of the best, but not as good as the one in Roswell

PokeNirvash gave 5 points
28.02.2007

#1315 by Zi
Good one. Almost made me cry at the end.

Zi gave 5 points
01.03.2007

#1316 by robbiefg90
this episode was so sad! i was so depressed after wotchin it, the end scene wen the dog dies is heartbreaking. it was just to sad for me to give it anything more than a 3, poor dog! they should of left it wen fry things that the dog lead a full life, i really hated that ending

robbiefg90 gave 3 points
03.03.2007

#1317 by Kristen
This episode was very sad indeed. it kind of makes me want to cry. When at the end, Fry said that Seymour probably forgot about him, He didn't know how untrue that really was. He never forgot fry, he sat waiting on the sidewalk, waiting to come home, but he never did. That's so sad.

Kristen gives 5.

Kristen gave 5 points
04.03.2007

#1318 by alex
This was an episode that made me feel depressed for days. The ending with seymour waiting for fry was sooo sad.
But when he was petrified he was uprite, but in the film he was lying down, so maybe he didnt die then......

alex gave 5 points
05.03.2007

#1319 by Tim
The death of Seymour is not a surprise death, but a known death. Time travel, cloning, or magic could all come in to play as the genre of the series could easily resolve the situation, but the story deals with fate rather than offering easy solutions, just as one can wish for a happy ending to avoid the fate of the ending itself.

We know the tragedy from the beginning, just as in Shakespeare. The story seems simple, yet we have the discovery and casting off of superficial material needs in place of something meaningful and important to Fry which is both physically unchangeable and changed by Fry's perspectives. We have the robot Bender who can only emulate humanity until being called inhuman, the wrestling match that knowingly points at the inanity of mindless action focused plots, and the professor who represents the easy sci-fi solution to all problems, which will predictably resolve the issue and result in a happy ending. Only it doesn't, and what's in the past must be accepted. The happy sci-fi outcome is simultaneously pitted against the realist fate of the unchangeable past, creating a Schrodinger's Dog who is both alive and dead and neither.

Seymour is permanently dead at the beginning of the episode, is loved enough to be kept as a reminder, dies by being lost to researchers, and is loved enough to be rescued and given the chance to be cloned.

Seymour is already a dead object, yet dies again in lava, being exchanged for the selfish love of a nonliving being. Again, Fry shows love and need for Seymour, and the selfish love of Bender is destroyed in self sacrifice, using a nonliving object to reestablish friendship with a living person.

Seymour is loved/wanted enough for Fry to continue with cloning. Seymour dies when Fry destroys the machine, seemingly killing the love Fry had for Seymour by killing Seymour's possibility of renewal as a clone. But Fry simultaneously shows unselfish love, as cloning would only make Seymour a desired plaything to live for another short span of years.

Seymour dies multiple times besides his natural death, contrasted with multiple instances of love, but the final decision of Fry is an acceptance of love and death at the same time. Death is no longer uncontrollable, and love is no longer uncontrollable, but both are willingly and selflessly combined.

Seymour wants eternal love but has a mortal form that is proven in death, yet in death he achieves immortality by waiting as a fossil to meet up with Fry, reminding him of his love for Seymour even in death. Cloning, despite creating life, can never change the death itself. Only love in the sense of letting something go, not selfish and needy love, is what allows Fry to end the conflict.

Starting the episode from the beginning presents the same conditions as it does in the end. Nothing has changed: Love and death cycle endlessly. This cycle is presented linearly with a start of discovery in the future, and the acceptance of the past in the end. Though the past has already occurred, and the future does not change the past, Fry changes his perception that was carried in the beginning of needing Seymour. The physical, realistic world has not changed the entire time, yet Fry manages to change his perception by transcending the cycle of need and longing and breaking free of needy desire.

Tim gave 5 points
13.03.2007

#1320 by Chris
I love watching Futurama! But I don't remember seeing this episode before. It was really sad. There's so much that is funny in this cartoon, I was caught off guard by the last couple of minutes. I don't watch comedy cartoons to be hit over the head with serious emotions: I want escapism! But I can't deny how amazing it is that a cartoon can evoke a range of emotion! Good work!

Chris gave 5 points
14.03.2007


Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26] [27] [28] [29] [30] [31] [32] [33] [34] [35] [36] [37] [38] [39] [40] [41] [42] [43] [44] [45] [46] [47] [48] [49] [50] [51] [52] [53] [54] [55] [56] [57] [58] [59] [60] [61] [62] [63] [64] [65] [66] [67] [68] [69] [70] [71] [72] [73] [74] [75] [76] [77] [78] [79] [80] [81] [82] [83] [84] [85] [86] [87] [88] [89] [90] [91] [92] [93] [94] [95] [96] [97] [98] [99] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] - 132 - [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148]

add a review


back to the overview

 

Legal notice: "Futurama" TM and copyright FOX, its related entities and the Curiosity Company. All rights reserved. Any reproduction, duplication or distribution of these materials in any form is expressly prohibited. Disclaimer: As a fan page, this web site and its content are not authorized by FOX.