Follow GotFuturama on Twitter and Facebook!

   
Can't Get Enough Futurama! Happy Fry
Can't get enough Futurama - morefuturama
Futurama Information
»  Futurama News
»  Articles
»  Episode Guide
»  Character Bios
»  Encyclopedia
»  Episode Capsules
»  Freeze Frame
»  Comic Capsules
»  Futurama FAQ
»  Futurama Staff
»  Lists & References
»  Merchandise
»  TV Listings
»  Web News
»  Futurama Links
»  What's Futurama
»  Behind the Scenes
Futurama Multimedia
»  Ascii Art
»  Sounds & Quotes
»  Fan 3D Art
»  Animation & Video
»  Frame Grabs
»  Guitar Tabs
»  Nokia Stuff
»  Original Scans
»  Other Sounds
»  Promo Pics
Interactive
»  Alien Codecs
»  Comic Reviews
»  Episode Reviews
»  Episode Trivia
»  Random Trivia
»  Fan Art
»  Fan Fiction
»  Futurama Chat
»  Guest Book
»  Message Board
Futurama Desktop
»  Futurama Fonts
»  Icons & Cursors
»  ICQ+ Scheme
»  PocketPC Themes
»  Screen Savers
»  Software
»  Wallpapers
»  Winamp Skins
Futurama Games
»  CGEF Games
»  Official Game
»  Flash Games
»  Game Addons
»  Submitted Games
»  Guess the Pic!
Contact
»  Privacy Statement

   Buddies:
  Planet Express Employee Lounge - The Futurama Message Board
  The Infosphere - Futurama Wiki
  The Futurama Point
  


   Support:
  



Episode Reviews


Short Summary

Bendin' In The Wind
First aired 04/22/01
Rank: 97/124
Reviews: 199
Rating: 74%

A mishap with a can opener leaves Bender paralyzed. He joins Beck's tour as a washboard player, while the rest of the Planet Express crew goes on a road trip in a 20th century van that Fry found.
 


add a review

Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] - 16 - [17] [18] [19] [20]
#151 by Marge
the best episode! why? cause Beck is in it!"odelay is a real word, look in the Becktionnary"

Marge gave 5 points
11.12.2005

#152 by rs-weez
the worst futurama episode

rs-weez gave 1 point
08.01.2006

#153 by DSN
I thought this was a pretty good episode overall. People who say that it was nothing more than a celebrity ass kissing episode don't know what an ass kissing episode is. Not many celebrities would take so many shots at their expense. Lines like "odelay is a real word, look in the Becktionnary" and "I use those all the time in my music" (refering to the irritating noise bender makes), and "It's kind of like my song 'Devil's Haircut'...wait, what was that song about?". This kind of irreverence was refreshing in this era of kissing hollywood's ass for a 10 second cameo.

DSN gave 4 points
13.01.2006

#154 by holly
when bender gets better though he was funny. this is a good episode
:}

holly gave 5 points
03.02.2006

#155 by Shiny
I'm not a Beck fan...I had no idea he wasn't a Futurama original character/spoof of modern folky musicians...and I thought it was a hilarious episode. So many good lines...Bender's song...Cylon and Garfunkle...how could anyone hate this ep?

Bender was just incredible. "For the love of god will somebody kick his ass?!" "Go Bender! Go Bender" (waves little arms) "Oh, crap, a miracle!" And when Bender forgets himself and dances on stage, I love how he's suddenly MORE flexible than we've ever seen him be before! Priceless!

I loved the crew turning hippy in the van. But why do people think the Professor was with them? Neither he nor Hermes went along...just Fry, Leela, Amy, and Zoidberg (the young folk and the loser). I loved seeing a bit of Leela's "wild side" (we know she dropped out of school to bum around India for a few months, this isn't any different). Fry was a hoot, dragging the van home, wearing the corpse's headband...he looked pretty good in it, too. Heh.

I also think people confuse "Futurama kissing Beck's ass" with [i]Bender[/i] kissing Beck's ass. But Bender's reaction to Beck is no different than his reaction to Elzar or Calculon, nyet? Totally in character for Bender.

My true rating for this would be a 4, because like "Future Stock" and "Pharaoh to Remember" it's funny without being [i]quintessentially[/i] Futurama, but I'm offsetting the extraordinarily low scores. Has the Simpsons' guest-appearances-gone-awry just wounded everyone so badly that they can't look past a celebrity voice to see a heap'o great jokes and a great Bender tour-de-force? Meh.




Shiny gave 5 points
11.02.2006

#156 by will
This is one of my favourite episodes. The song at the end is really good and Beck was really good too!

will gave 4 points
10.03.2006

#157 by Anthony Alvarez
First of all, I don't like Beck. But Bender was great at singing, Dr. Zoidberg getting scolded by Amy for ruining their clothes but then again they all liked the Tie-Dye style. Bender is still the funniest for singing folk songs though but yeah, he made this episode great. Go Bender!!!

Anthony Alvarez gave 5 points
30.03.2006

#158 by Ford
It's good, but it's no "Roswell that Ends Well", best bit: Zoidberg coughing up pearls

Ford gave 3 points
19.04.2006

#159 by FlowerPower
Beck Hanson, the great Scientologist himself makes a very special guest appearence in this episode; and what a treat it is. Led Zeppelin, a San Fransisco van chase, and Zoidberg's hippie love beads all contribute to this most enjoyable of television programs. Bender's character is fleshed out in this episode some more as he comes to grip with his newly paralised body. This is how he ends up going on tour with Beck and he realizes his secret lifelong dream of becoming a folk singer. This plot does get a little tedious but keeps the story moving. The sub-plot is, as always, more entertaining. But both plots come together nicely and the third act is arguably the most entertaining. Overall, a great episode to watch high with friends, or alone with a guitar. Sexx laws will lead you to freedom.

FlowerPower gave 4 points
30.04.2006

#160 by poppler
Aside from the corny music and the Woodstock scene,I thought it was a good show

poppler gave 3 points
19.06.2006


Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] - 16 - [17] [18] [19] [20]

add a review


back to the overview

 

Legal notice: "Futurama" TM and copyright FOX, its related entities and the Curiosity Company. All rights reserved. Any reproduction, duplication or distribution of these materials in any form is expressly prohibited. Disclaimer: As a fan page, this web site and its content are not authorized by FOX.