Follow GotFuturama on Twitter and Facebook!

   
Can't Get Enough Futurama! Happy Fry
Can't get enough Futurama - morefuturama
Futurama Information
»  Futurama News
»  Articles
»  Episode Guide
»  Character Bios
»  Encyclopedia
»  Episode Capsules
»  Freeze Frame
»  Comic Capsules
»  Futurama FAQ
»  Futurama Staff
»  Lists & References
»  Merchandise
»  TV Listings
»  Web News
»  Futurama Links
»  What's Futurama
»  Behind the Scenes
Futurama Multimedia
»  Ascii Art
»  Sounds & Quotes
»  Fan 3D Art
»  Animation & Video
»  Frame Grabs
»  Guitar Tabs
»  Nokia Stuff
»  Original Scans
»  Other Sounds
»  Promo Pics
Interactive
»  Alien Codecs
»  Comic Reviews
»  Episode Reviews
»  Episode Trivia
»  Random Trivia
»  Fan Art
»  Fan Fiction
»  Futurama Chat
»  Guest Book
»  Message Board
Futurama Desktop
»  Futurama Fonts
»  Icons & Cursors
»  ICQ+ Scheme
»  PocketPC Themes
»  Screen Savers
»  Software
»  Wallpapers
»  Winamp Skins
Futurama Games
»  CGEF Games
»  Official Game
»  Flash Games
»  Game Addons
»  Submitted Games
»  Guess the Pic!
Contact
»  Privacy Statement

   Buddies:
  Planet Express Employee Lounge - The Futurama Message Board
  The Infosphere - Futurama Wiki
  The Futurama Point
  


   Support:
  



Episode Reviews


Short Summary

Obsoletely Fabulous
First aired 07/27/03
Rank: 86/124
Reviews: 256
Rating: 79%

Bender is about to get an upgrade to compete with the Professor's latest acquisition. But in the end, he isn't all that sure about it.
 


add a review

Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] - 18 - [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26]
#171 by John, sweden
Very entertaining, great episode.

John, sweden gave 5 points
09.08.2003

#172 by AntMo

what was the quote... something like

"A war on technology worthy of a anthem by Rush"

What other program references Canadian Heavy Rock



AntMo gave 5 points
10.08.2003

#173 by Mike!
Boring! This reminded me of that desert island Simpsons episode, especially the nonsensical ending.

It started off promisingly, with the robot fair (Mom's a great character, and it was good to see that the writers had remembered she's not supposed to be nasty in public), but as soon as the Professor bought the new robot it went downhill.

The idea of the three out of date robots was brilliant, but it's a shame that, apart from the cartridge robot, their weaknesses were forgotten after the opening scene.

I didn't like the idea of Bender being made of wood (although Leela's reaction to it was quite funny), and although I quite liked the 'it was all just part of the upgrade' ending, the bit outside the factory at the very end was just stupid. Oh, one more thing - I didn't like the scene with Bender out on the boat - it looked way too computer generated.

Overall, it wasn't a terrible episode, but the fact that it featured Bender practically all the way through didn't do it any favours.

Mike! gave 2 points
10.08.2003

#174 by James
This is a brilliant episode. Some of you are comparing it to the rather average 30% Iron chef, I'd say it's more worthy of comparision to an episode like Godfellas (both in quality and structure). I laughed alot during this episode, I thought Bender was particularly good. I loved the out-dated robots, especially the tape robot "What!?".
Other highlights were Farnsworth finally punching Wernstrom, the panic attacks that the water wheel robot has every time the water runs out, Wooden Bender, trying to find a socket for the blender, some cool CGI waves, and the brillaint ending.



James gave 5 points
11.08.2003

#175 by a person
i really liked if it even if though
it took a while for the jokes to really start
the episode deserves better than 79% so i'll give it an extra point

a person gave 5 points
11.08.2003

#176 by Lee
This episode wasn't only great but it was rated as number 7 out of 10 to watch this week! It was truly Obsoletely Fabulous.


Lee gave 5 points
11.08.2003

#177 by Athos
Nice one. Better than "Bender Should Not Be Allowed On TV", and maybe even a little better than The Devil's Hands Are Idle Playthings".

The highlights for me where Bender and the stones at the beach ("HELF"), the Tape Robot, Bender shouting "Save my friends! And Zoidberg!" and the stone-throwing catapult on Bender's ship (reminded my of Monkey Island Part One).

Although.... the idea of non-alcoholic robots..... horrible! :)

Athos gave 4 points
12.08.2003

#178 by Super King
i loved the bit with the nanny bot and the 2 kill bots their should be more killbots in futurama

Super King gave 5 points
13.08.2003

#179 by Killed by: DarkSim
OK, Any episode with a Fight Club segment in it is alright by me. Tress as the panicy waterbot had me in stitches "OH GOD! I'LL NEVER MAKE IT!"

"HELF" That's all I can say without laughing out loud.

In conclusion I am very dissapointed with CGEF for not including my favorite sound-bite of the episode.

"Take that Beethoven, you deaf bastard!"

I just might remember that line to the day I die.

Killed by: DarkSim gave 4 points
15.08.2003

#180 by Flexo
I don't get it this was a really great episode.

Death to the 1X robots

Flexo gave 5 points
31.08.2003


Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] - 18 - [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26]

add a review


back to the overview

 

Legal notice: "Futurama" TM and copyright FOX, its related entities and the Curiosity Company. All rights reserved. Any reproduction, duplication or distribution of these materials in any form is expressly prohibited. Disclaimer: As a fan page, this web site and its content are not authorized by FOX.