Follow GotFuturama on Twitter and Facebook!

   
Can't Get Enough Futurama! Happy Fry
Can't get enough Futurama - morefuturama
Futurama Information
»  Futurama News
»  Articles
»  Episode Guide
»  Character Bios
»  Encyclopedia
»  Episode Capsules
»  Freeze Frame
»  Comic Capsules
»  Futurama FAQ
»  Futurama Staff
»  Lists & References
»  Merchandise
»  TV Listings
»  Web News
»  Futurama Links
»  What's Futurama
»  Behind the Scenes
Futurama Multimedia
»  Ascii Art
»  Sounds & Quotes
»  Fan 3D Art
»  Animation & Video
»  Frame Grabs
»  Guitar Tabs
»  Nokia Stuff
»  Original Scans
»  Other Sounds
»  Promo Pics
Interactive
»  Alien Codecs
»  Comic Reviews
»  Episode Reviews
»  Episode Trivia
»  Random Trivia
»  Fan Art
»  Fan Fiction
»  Futurama Chat
»  Guest Book
»  Message Board
Futurama Desktop
»  Futurama Fonts
»  Icons & Cursors
»  ICQ+ Scheme
»  PocketPC Themes
»  Screen Savers
»  Software
»  Wallpapers
»  Winamp Skins
Futurama Games
»  CGEF Games
»  Official Game
»  Flash Games
»  Game Addons
»  Submitted Games
»  Guess the Pic!
Contact
»  Privacy Statement

   Buddies:
  Planet Express Employee Lounge - The Futurama Message Board
  The Infosphere - Futurama Wiki
  The Futurama Point
  


   Support:
  



Episode Reviews


Short Summary

A Big Piece of Garbage
First aired 05/11/99
Rank: 52/124
Reviews: 130
Rating: 84%

In an effort to beat Wernstrom at a scientist contest, Professor Farnsworth creates a smell-o-scope. Ridiculed at first, he uses it to detect a flying ball of garbage hurtling towards earth.
 


add a review

Page: [1] - 2 - [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13]
#11 by TNUK
It's all been said before this review, so I'll just give it 5 points, and go.

TNUK gave 5 points
12.11.2002

#12 by die with dignity
its ok but it doesn't all make sense, if they had to make a delivery the day after the scientist's award thing they missed the delivery. fry found the garbage ball during the day, as is obvouse cause you can see the sky.

nobody mentions the deliver exept right before the intro.

it doesn't make sense!!

good episode otherwise though

die with dignity gave 3 points
01.12.2002

#13 by Grem
The plot is funny and interesting with some flaws. Overall Great episode.

Grem gave 5 points
10.12.2002

#14 by Jeremy
Love the references about the 20th century

Jeremy gave 4 points
23.12.2002

#15 by KRC 99014533
Best bitz:

Prof:'I've got something that'll put you young whippersnappers in your place!'
Wornstrom:'I hope it's not as lame as that death clock you made last year.'
Prof:'Oh my... Did it put you young whippersnappers in your place?'
Wornstrom:'No.'
(Wornstrom leaves)
Prof:'Oh my. I'll have to invent something within the next 10 minutes, perhaps some kind of death clock...'

Prof:'The smell travels through this coffee stain, around this olive pip and into this cigar burn. And... this, appears to be a... doodle of... myself, as a cowboy.'

Prof:'5, 4, 3, 2, 3, 4'(keeps counting)
Leela:'Just launch the damn thing.'
Fry:'OK'(he misses the button, tries again and presses it.) 'There we go.'

I was bent double with laughter on that second one.

KRC 99014533 gave 5 points
31.12.2002

#16 by Kristi
Great, especially Professor Farnsworth and his senility. Of course, a few things didn't make sense, like: how could a garbage ball that's so mushy a missile can go through it be able to destroy a large city? That doesn't matter though because this is sci-fi and they can make up whatever they want. 5/5

Kristi gave 5 points
22.01.2003

#17 by Ren Butler
25:00
15:00?
05:00?
6h:00?

six-h minutes! What a great gag!

And when Fry missed the button with his finger? These unexpected(and mostly insubstantial) jokes are just killer.

Ren Butler gave 5 points
23.01.2003

#18 by Carbito
It was great to have a episode centered around Farnsworth. This episode really helps to develop character of Farnsworth more than any other episode that I have seen. I think this is also the first time we know that Zoidberg is very hungry. We are also introduced to the mayor. This is one of my favorite episodes of Futurama and my favorite in the first season!

Carbito gave 5 points
26.01.2003

#19 by TwasThere
Plenty of great jokes, but the storyline wasnt fantastic.

The part about the death clock
Leela: Does it really work
Prof: Oh, its occasionally off by one or two minutes, what with free will and all.

Fry: Its not filth. Its a great monument to the achievements of the twentieth century

And my favourite line
Bender: MMmmmmmmm, shorts.
heh


TwasThere gave 4 points
29.01.2003

#20 by Walking
in this episode mayor poopmenyer said his famous quote it was very good episode! 5/5

Walking gave 5 points
04.03.2003


Page: [1] - 2 - [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13]

add a review


back to the overview

 

Legal notice: "Futurama" TM and copyright FOX, its related entities and the Curiosity Company. All rights reserved. Any reproduction, duplication or distribution of these materials in any form is expressly prohibited. Disclaimer: As a fan page, this web site and its content are not authorized by FOX.