Follow GotFuturama on Twitter and Facebook!

   
Can't Get Enough Futurama! Happy Fry
Can't get enough Futurama - morefuturama
Futurama Information
»  Futurama News
»  Articles
»  Episode Guide
»  Character Bios
»  Encyclopedia
»  Episode Capsules
»  Freeze Frame
»  Comic Capsules
»  Futurama FAQ
»  Futurama Staff
»  Lists & References
»  Merchandise
»  TV Listings
»  Web News
»  Futurama Links
»  What's Futurama
»  Behind the Scenes
Futurama Multimedia
»  Ascii Art
»  Sounds & Quotes
»  Fan 3D Art
»  Animation & Video
»  Frame Grabs
»  Guitar Tabs
»  Nokia Stuff
»  Original Scans
»  Other Sounds
»  Promo Pics
Interactive
»  Alien Codecs
»  Comic Reviews
»  Episode Reviews
»  Episode Trivia
»  Random Trivia
»  Fan Art
»  Fan Fiction
»  Futurama Chat
»  Guest Book
»  Message Board
Futurama Desktop
»  Futurama Fonts
»  Icons & Cursors
»  ICQ+ Scheme
»  PocketPC Themes
»  Screen Savers
»  Software
»  Wallpapers
»  Winamp Skins
Futurama Games
»  CGEF Games
»  Official Game
»  Flash Games
»  Game Addons
»  Submitted Games
»  Guess the Pic!
Contact
»  Privacy Statement

   Buddies:
  Planet Express Employee Lounge - The Futurama Message Board
  The Infosphere - Futurama Wiki
  The Futurama Point
  


   Support:
  



Episode Reviews


Short Summary

The Day the Earth Stood Stupid
First aired 02/18/01
Rank: 34/124
Reviews: 175
Rating: 88%

Flying brains with the power to turn everybody stupid invade earth. Nibbler's race, the brains' nemesis, nominates Fry - immune to their attacks - as the one to save humanity.
 


add a review

Page: [1] - 2 - [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18]
#11 by Davce
Needs no comment watch it for yourself

Davce gave 5 points
24.03.2002

#12 by Dave
This is really a classic episode. The hypnotoad, the news, Leela and the Nibblonians, the plot holes and spelling errors, etc etc etc... wow. Nicely done indeed. Ah memories.

Dave gave 5 points
08.04.2002

#13 by SyD Barret
Now this was a really loaded episode. I mešn the pet competition scene was an instant calssic...no need to mention the PERFECT hypno-toad...i mean, exspecially this was one of the greates jokes ive ever known...the rest was like the makers were stoned all the time...plus an awesome theory of the beginning of the universe !

SyD Barret gave 5 points
06.05.2002

#14 by Jose
I thought this one was great!

In case you guys haven't realized it yet, this episode is a piss-take of the classic:
The Day the Earth Stood Still

But I guess the folks writing these scripts are a bit older...!

It was about time someone did something about Nibbler. I was getting tired of the same "incredible-edible-machine" joke.

Then, of course, there was the popular interplay between Leela and Fry.

And Fry gets to save the world again using his powers of stupidity.

The characterizations of the brains is hilarious.

One choke up, though. If the brains made people stupid by interfering with their brain waves, why do robots get affected? Unless, of course, they use a technology similar to human brains.

The beginning was hilarious, you have to admit. And the hypno-toad was great.

Not the greatest episode of the lot, but, all in all, I feel this the standard Futurama should continue to have if it wants to be as popular as Simpsons. Unfortunately, you still get the occasional episode, which loses the plot completely ("Leela's Homeworld?" and the Slurm one?). This is one of the better ones.

Jose gave 5 points
08.05.2002

#15 by Cosmic F
Damn you all ;)
I just thought I could write a review on this episode by just saying: "All glory to the hypno-toad"
And what must I read? 3 Guys already said that.

Shame on you!

Cosmic F gave 4 points
31.05.2002

#16 by Archie2K
A different but brilliant episode. Completely crazy, loads of jokes and stupidity and absolutely hilarious. The scenes where Fry and Leela were trapped in the stories seemed to drag on a bit but overall absolutely hilarious and an unexpected ending. Well done writers, but I'm glad not EVERY episode is as crazy as this.

Archie2K gave 5 points
11.06.2002

#17 by Don
The Hypno Toad was one of the funniest things I have ever seen in Futurama. "And the winner is... The Hypnotoad" Then you see him staring at the guy. That sound it makes is priceless.

But no one has commented on the ending (well, maybe but I only read a couple reviews)... Excellent. I never thought fry could do something so clever.

Don gave 5 points
19.06.2002

#18 by ErikaHanson
I think that it was cool and it will be funny

ErikaHanson gave 5 points
28.06.2002

#19 by Zoothey
This episode warrants 5 points for the Hypno-toad alone... but when you throw in all stupidity and everything else.... there should be a higher score!!

Zoothey gave 5 points
26.07.2002

#20 by John Zoidberg
At last! The explanation for the Nibbler Shadow in Space Pilot: 3000!
Thay said I don't think this episode was very go...
*hypotoad sound*
The..best...episode..every.

John Zoidberg gave 5 points
12.08.2002


Page: [1] - 2 - [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18]

add a review


back to the overview

 

Legal notice: "Futurama" TM and copyright FOX, its related entities and the Curiosity Company. All rights reserved. Any reproduction, duplication or distribution of these materials in any form is expressly prohibited. Disclaimer: As a fan page, this web site and its content are not authorized by FOX.