Follow GotFuturama on Twitter and Facebook!

   
Can't Get Enough Futurama! Happy Fry
Can't get enough Futurama - morefuturama
Futurama Information
»  Futurama News
»  Articles
»  Episode Guide
»  Character Bios
»  Encyclopedia
»  Episode Capsules
»  Freeze Frame
»  Comic Capsules
»  Futurama FAQ
»  Futurama Staff
»  Lists & References
»  Merchandise
»  TV Listings
»  Web News
»  Futurama Links
»  What's Futurama
»  Behind the Scenes
Futurama Multimedia
»  Ascii Art
»  Sounds & Quotes
»  Fan 3D Art
»  Animation & Video
»  Frame Grabs
»  Guitar Tabs
»  Nokia Stuff
»  Original Scans
»  Other Sounds
»  Promo Pics
Interactive
»  Alien Codecs
»  Comic Reviews
»  Episode Reviews
»  Episode Trivia
»  Random Trivia
»  Fan Art
»  Fan Fiction
»  Futurama Chat
»  Guest Book
»  Message Board
Futurama Desktop
»  Futurama Fonts
»  Icons & Cursors
»  ICQ+ Scheme
»  PocketPC Themes
»  Screen Savers
»  Software
»  Wallpapers
»  Winamp Skins
Futurama Games
»  CGEF Games
»  Official Game
»  Flash Games
»  Game Addons
»  Submitted Games
»  Guess the Pic!
Contact
»  Privacy Statement

   Buddies:
  Planet Express Employee Lounge - The Futurama Message Board
  The Infosphere - Futurama Wiki
  The Futurama Point
  


   Support:
  



Episode Reviews


Short Summary

The Tip of the Zoidberg
First aired 08/18/11
Rank: 26/124
Reviews: 179
Rating: 89%

The crew uncovers a dark secret concerning a covert mission undertaken by the Professor and Dr. Zoidberg many years earlier.
 


add a review

Page: [1] - 2 - [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18]
#11 by José Ratón
This has become by far one of my favorite episodes of all time and it's the best of the season, along with Ghosts in the Machine.

Very well developed story, a lot of laugh-out-loud jokes, truly superb animation and an episode with heart.

José Ratón gave 5 points
19.08.2011

#12 by Catface
Oh man, was this one subpar. Kept expecting a punchline with all those lines of dialogue, and got nothing good. And.....a yeti syndrome? These are the same people who gave us all those brilliant pre-cancellation episodes, and it's getting tough to remember that.

Catface gave 2 points
19.08.2011

#13 by Shortee
This episode is perfect, if someone hates on it they have 'cynical asshole syndrome".
This epiosde made me cry it was so good. Please let Ken Keeler write all future episodes.
-Amen

Shortee gave 5 points
19.08.2011

#14 by Burter
lol, people are honestly giving this one a perfect score? Futurama fans sure are generous. 2 at best.

Burter gave 2 points
19.08.2011

#15 by GeoffyB
Lousy first half salvaged by a solid second.

The first act was a mess. Starting with the flashback was an interesting choice (I don't think the best one), but not terrible. But the extended sequence of Zoidberg "doctoring" was a wasted opportunity: the joke about Simpsons jaundice was reasonably funny, but the subsequent Garfield, Muppets, and Smurfs references were forced and out of place. Would it have killed the writers to have come up with even a barely plausible way that Leela, for example, could hop around talking without a spine? (For heaven's sake, just stick a piece of machinery on her body.) And the frequent cuts to flashbacks ruined the pacing and had no emotional heft since the professor's symptoms weren't established for far too long... so it never really coalesced.

The second half, though, was great. The Murderator was hilarious, Zoidberg got to demonstrate basic competence, and the ensemble had good lines without overstaying their welcomes. Everything was tied up neatly together, which was appreciated.

GeoffyB gave 4 points
19.08.2011

#16 by orly
yarly

orly gave 5 points
19.08.2011

#17 by (another) Marc
Meh... I'm with the review above me: the Simpsons reference was funny, the rest just took too long. But I think that also goes for the Murderator.
And indeed, no memorable one-liners in this one.

(I did check Wikipedia and yes, someone already added 'Carol' to Mom's bio!)

Liked the previous few episodes better, but I'm in a mild mood, so not a 3 but a 4. Okay?

(and now for some sleep as it's 6:30AM here in Europe)

(another) Marc gave 4 points
19.08.2011

#18 by crushinatrix2009
This was the most entertaining adventure brodcast upon TV screens this year.
I give it a 6/5, and yes you did read that correct.

crushinatrix2009 gave 5 points
19.08.2011

#19 by Magical Dreamer
I felt the grossness/violence level was a notch too high in this episode. I'm fine for dark humour but I'm squeamish when it comes to violence -- like I found Zoidberg's mistakes disturbing at the beginning, even though I know that was being played for laughs.

Despite that, the story itself was top-notch. It was interesting, shed light onto more backstory, and it was emotionally touching at times. I was deeply amused by the Murdilator although I was also pretty scared Farnsworth would get Murdilated grusomely and that would be his cure -- I'm glad they took the highroad and threw in some nice Yetism.

So yeah -- top notch episode. If some of the violence was toned down I would've given it a 5. I know alot of people won't agree, I understand; but it's a personal taste thing

Magical Dreamer gave 4 points
19.08.2011

#20 by flack
it didnt ruin zoidy thankfully but it was just ok. fry's symptoms were funny, zoidberg trying to kill the prod while mr sandman played was great. two complaints mainly. why was amy yelling so much in this episode?! it was annoying. also, did mom really need to be involved? she seemed tacked on. like she's never seen zoidberg since then?! um...remember the whole 80s guy taking over planet express and selling it? they were all at the merger right in front of mom! its nitpicking i know but not following continuity had destroyed the simpsons. all in all, fair episode. i dont love it or hate it.

flack gave 3 points
19.08.2011


Page: [1] - 2 - [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18]

add a review


back to the overview

 

Legal notice: "Futurama" TM and copyright FOX, its related entities and the Curiosity Company. All rights reserved. Any reproduction, duplication or distribution of these materials in any form is expressly prohibited. Disclaimer: As a fan page, this web site and its content are not authorized by FOX.