Follow GotFuturama on Twitter and Facebook!

   
Can't Get Enough Futurama! Happy Fry
Can't get enough Futurama - morefuturama
Futurama Information
»  Futurama News
»  Articles
»  Episode Guide
»  Character Bios
»  Encyclopedia
»  Episode Capsules
»  Freeze Frame
»  Comic Capsules
»  Futurama FAQ
»  Futurama Staff
»  Lists & References
»  Merchandise
»  TV Listings
»  Web News
»  Futurama Links
»  What's Futurama
»  Behind the Scenes
Futurama Multimedia
»  Ascii Art
»  Sounds & Quotes
»  Fan 3D Art
»  Animation & Video
»  Frame Grabs
»  Guitar Tabs
»  Nokia Stuff
»  Original Scans
»  Other Sounds
»  Promo Pics
Interactive
»  Alien Codecs
»  Comic Reviews
»  Episode Reviews
»  Episode Trivia
»  Random Trivia
»  Fan Art
»  Fan Fiction
»  Futurama Chat
»  Guest Book
»  Message Board
Futurama Desktop
»  Futurama Fonts
»  Icons & Cursors
»  ICQ+ Scheme
»  PocketPC Themes
»  Screen Savers
»  Software
»  Wallpapers
»  Winamp Skins
Futurama Games
»  CGEF Games
»  Official Game
»  Flash Games
»  Game Addons
»  Submitted Games
»  Guess the Pic!
Contact
»  Privacy Statement

   Buddies:
  Planet Express Employee Lounge - The Futurama Message Board
  The Infosphere - Futurama Wiki
  The Futurama Point
  


   Support:
  



Episode Reviews


Short Summary

Saturday Morning Fun Pit
First aired 07/17/13
Rank: 119/124
Reviews: 104
Rating: 57%

The Futurama gang stars in a trio of craptastic morning cartoons.
 


add a review

Page: [1] - 2 - [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11]
#11 by herald
Why so low?

herald gave 5 points
18.07.2013

#12 by DJC13
This episode gets full marks from me because of Nixon's dubbing in the G.I. Zapp segment alone, but the Bendee Boo segment was really well done, and I didn't mind the Purpleberry Pond segment too much either.

DJC13 gave 5 points
18.07.2013

#13 by UnrealLegend
I wasn't impressed at all.

It felt like the first two segments weren't even trying to be Futurama. They were kind of doing their own thing, only they replaced the characters of the original show with the PE crew. This is why the GI Zapp part was by far the best to me; the dubbing gave it a bit of Futurama-esque humour that was seriously lacking until then. Even without the dubbing I reckon it could've held up reasonably well ("Did you prepare your parachute? Good, because I forgot mine.")

But man, those first two acts really rustled my jimmies. Looking back, there was exactly one thing in each of those segments that amused me (The Professor continuously plotting to get the purpleberries over and over, and Leela attempting to pull Zoidberg's "mask" off (which was subsequently ruined by having his head bounce all over the damn place)).
"Reincarnation" was much more broad than "Saturday Morning Fun Pit", which I think really worked in the former episode's favour. Old school animation, retro video games, and anime are three styles that are widely known even by people who don't care about them. But what exactly is somebody who's never seen Scooby-Doo or G.I. Joe going to get out of this episode? Jack all. And if it means anything, I used to watch a lot of Scooby-Doo back in the day yet found that segment the worst.

Anyway, that's enough ranting. I hope the worst of the season is behind us now, because otherwise season 7 is quickly on track to becoming the worst yet for me.

UnrealLegend gave 2 points
18.07.2013

#14 by Apocaloso
Really weak episode! First act was ok, but not so great! The rest felt boring and pointless!

Apocaloso gave 2 points
18.07.2013

#15 by Bowie76
Great episode! No one does parodies as well as Futurama. That said, this will probably divide fans who want more actual Futurama stories before the unfortunate end.

Bowie76 gave 5 points
18.07.2013

#16 by Quincy
1st section - 6/10
2nd section - 2/10
3rd section - 8/10

Quincy gave 2 points
18.07.2013

#17 by Mitchell
I like the idea of this episode but the application was very poor

Mitchell gave 2 points
18.07.2013

#18 by Hugh Maha
I really liked the first part of this episode, but I feel like the second two acts were a bit weaker. Honestly I think one of the biggest things that would have made this episode better is if it were an Anthology of Interest episode. Have the crew watching Saturday morning cartoons when the Professor wheels in the What If machine and they all ask what things would be like if they were their favorite cartoons. I would've felt like that was much better context then just Nixon watching them all on tv.

Hugh Maha gave 3 points
18.07.2013

#19 by Robo_Fett
The first segment was great!
Loved Fry as Shaggy, Bender as 'Bendy-Boo' (Scooby-Doo)...

The third segment was fantastic!
G.I. Zapp and the whole gang were awesome...

The middle segment, about a purple cereal - me no likes... But it may grow on me after 5-6 more viewings.

Well, 2 out of 3, not bad.

Robo_Fett gave 4 points
18.07.2013

#20 by Platypus
how can I rate with -5?

Platypus gave 1 point
18.07.2013


Page: [1] - 2 - [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11]

add a review


back to the overview

 

Legal notice: "Futurama" TM and copyright FOX, its related entities and the Curiosity Company. All rights reserved. Any reproduction, duplication or distribution of these materials in any form is expressly prohibited. Disclaimer: As a fan page, this web site and its content are not authorized by FOX.