Follow GotFuturama on Twitter and Facebook!

   
Can't Get Enough Futurama! Happy Fry
Can't get enough Futurama - morefuturama
Futurama Information
»  Futurama News
»  Articles
»  Episode Guide
»  Character Bios
»  Encyclopedia
»  Episode Capsules
»  Freeze Frame
»  Comic Capsules
»  Futurama FAQ
»  Futurama Staff
»  Lists & References
»  Merchandise
»  TV Listings
»  Web News
»  Futurama Links
»  What's Futurama
»  Behind the Scenes
Futurama Multimedia
»  Ascii Art
»  Sounds & Quotes
»  Fan 3D Art
»  Animation & Video
»  Frame Grabs
»  Guitar Tabs
»  Nokia Stuff
»  Original Scans
»  Other Sounds
»  Promo Pics
Interactive
»  Alien Codecs
»  Comic Reviews
»  Episode Reviews
»  Episode Trivia
»  Random Trivia
»  Fan Art
»  Fan Fiction
»  Futurama Chat
»  Guest Book
»  Message Board
Futurama Desktop
»  Futurama Fonts
»  Icons & Cursors
»  ICQ+ Scheme
»  PocketPC Themes
»  Screen Savers
»  Software
»  Wallpapers
»  Winamp Skins
Futurama Games
»  CGEF Games
»  Official Game
»  Flash Games
»  Game Addons
»  Submitted Games
»  Guess the Pic!
Contact
»  Privacy Statement

   Buddies:
  Planet Express Employee Lounge - The Futurama Message Board
  The Infosphere - Futurama Wiki
  The Futurama Point
  


   Support:
  



Episode Reviews


Short Summary

Game of Tones
First aired 08/14/13
Rank: 45/124
Reviews: 129
Rating: 86%

tba
 


add a review

Page: [1] - 2 - [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13]
#11 by Dane-Mychal
Great episode. Every time they go back to the "1999" well, I get chills. The tone sound was cool on my sound system, by the way. Loved the Seymour stuff, which wasn't overdone and therefore did not trample on the legacy of "Jurassic Bark" (so please STFU about it now, fanboys). I especially thought Seth McFarlane's one-liner was extremely well-done. Easily the best episode of the season from a plot standpoint. Not the funniest of the season, but I'll trade it in for one final emotional episode (although I'm sure the finale will pack in some emotion).

Dane-Mychal gave 5 points
15.08.2013

#12 by UsualNoise
Best episode of the season, easily in my top ten all time. Great story, great emotion, it's the epitome of why I love Futurama. Bravo!

UsualNoise gave 5 points
15.08.2013

#13 by Lisa
I cried and hugged my son at the end and then he cried too.

Go Futurama!

Lisa gave 5 points
15.08.2013

#14 by Pimp-a-roo
One of the best episodes aired this season imo. Very touching ep! Great use of the characters, twas nice to see nibbler again!!

Pimp-a-roo gave 5 points
15.08.2013

#15 by Dom
Man, what an episode! One of the best since the Revival.

Gave me the sniffles at the end. Hasn't done that since Luck of the Fryrish.

Great jokes, great pacing, good plot, I enjoyed this one alot.

Best of the Season hands down.

Dom gave 5 points
15.08.2013

#16 by James
Amazing episode. Top 5 since the revival. Manly tears were shed.

James gave 5 points
15.08.2013

#17 by UnrealLegend
Reposted from PEEL:

I have to say, this episode was heaped full of fan service, and I loved it. It had a futuristic premise, a decent stream of gags (I particularly liked Mt. Shushmore big grin) and a well-written story that was fairly touching. The plotline with Fry's mother (who I wish had a name; I can't stand calling her "Mrs. Fry" hmpf ) was admittedly a bit predictable. I'll let that slide though, since this is only the second time Futurama has dug into the dreams and it's certainly nothing like "The Sting".

One thing I really liked was how the story didn't lessen the sadness/emotion spawned from "Jurassic Bark" and "The Luck of the Fryrish" by screwing with the timeline (BBS style) or cheapening Seymour's tragic departure. In fact, I loved how Seymour was what made Fry suddenly realise that he did in fact miss his old life. It felt like a nod to the many who consider "Jurassic Bark" to be one of the best episodes of the show.

Also, this episode only adds to the sheer amount of craziness that occured in that famous cryogenics lab on December 31st, 1999. It's undoubtedly my favourite recurring location on the show because of all the excellent stories it produces.

I won't say this was the funniest of the season, but I was giggling on more than a few occasions which puts it ahead of the likes of "Calcuon 2.0" and "T.: The Terriestrial" by default. Most of my enjoyment of this episode came from general entertainment as opposed to sheer laughter. And boy, was it entertaining. I particularly liked everything on the way to the cryogenics lab, such as Fry's reactions to some of the repeated lines. "I.C Weiner? Aw, crud. Every time!" big grin

But yes, that's probably enough typing for now. Other stuff I loved:

-Agnew with no pants. tongue
-"Philip, have you lost weight?"
-"It's the sound the game makes when you get the all-time lowest score..."
-Michelle being a bitch and Leela pushing him into leaving her.
-The luxury Vehicle Bender asked for was amazing.
-"I always forget he can talk" Finally, some acknowledgement that Nibbler's been MIA for so long.
-Seymour shrinking into Fry's pocket was neat.

I'm suspecting this is my favourite episode of season 7. First impression says 10/10. They've really been kicking it off these past few episodes; lets hope the quality continues.


UnrealLegend gave 5 points
15.08.2013

#18 by Suretay
Mike Rowe for president!

Suretay gave 5 points
15.08.2013

#19 by BringerOfPie
After writing 5 terrible episodes and one merely decent one (Fry Am the Egg Man), Mike Rowe basically just wrote an episode right out of Season 3. Many episodes this season have been subpar due to being cartoon stock plots ("Genestalk") or poor remakes of older episodes ("Leadbelly"), but here we got an episode that was not only wholly original, but rewards long-time viewers with continuity treats and details about Fry's past that are done smartly instead of being dumb retcon.

"Cold Warriors" gave us insight on the relationship between Fry and his dad, but this was the stronger episode with the more touching ending, and Fry's mom has never gotten any more depth before this than being a negligent football nut. It wasn't quite perfect, but it was funny, touching, and though we've seen Fry's past a lot, it was still expanded in a clever way.

Only my second "5" of Season 7 besides "Near-Death Wish".

BringerOfPie gave 5 points
15.08.2013

#20 by conan o'brienbot
A record breaking episode indeed!
This episode wasn't tone deaf, and hit all the groovy notes.


conan o'brienbot gave 5 points
15.08.2013


Page: [1] - 2 - [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13]

add a review


back to the overview

 

Legal notice: "Futurama" TM and copyright FOX, its related entities and the Curiosity Company. All rights reserved. Any reproduction, duplication or distribution of these materials in any form is expressly prohibited. Disclaimer: As a fan page, this web site and its content are not authorized by FOX.