Follow GotFuturama on Twitter and Facebook!

   
Can't Get Enough Futurama! Happy Fry
Can't get enough Futurama - morefuturama
Futurama Information
»  Futurama News
»  Articles
»  Episode Guide
»  Character Bios
»  Encyclopedia
»  Episode Capsules
»  Freeze Frame
»  Comic Capsules
»  Futurama FAQ
»  Futurama Staff
»  Lists & References
»  Merchandise
»  TV Listings
»  Web News
»  Futurama Links
»  What's Futurama
»  Behind the Scenes
Futurama Multimedia
»  Ascii Art
»  Sounds & Quotes
»  Fan 3D Art
»  Animation & Video
»  Frame Grabs
»  Guitar Tabs
»  Nokia Stuff
»  Original Scans
»  Other Sounds
»  Promo Pics
Interactive
»  Alien Codecs
»  Comic Reviews
»  Episode Reviews
»  Episode Trivia
»  Random Trivia
»  Fan Art
»  Fan Fiction
»  Futurama Chat
»  Guest Book
»  Message Board
Futurama Desktop
»  Futurama Fonts
»  Icons & Cursors
»  ICQ+ Scheme
»  PocketPC Themes
»  Screen Savers
»  Software
»  Wallpapers
»  Winamp Skins
Futurama Games
»  CGEF Games
»  Official Game
»  Flash Games
»  Game Addons
»  Submitted Games
»  Guess the Pic!
Contact
»  Privacy Statement

   Buddies:
  Planet Express Employee Lounge - The Futurama Message Board
  The Infosphere - Futurama Wiki
  The Futurama Point
  


   Support:
  



Episode Reviews


Short Summary

The Devil's Hands Are Idle Playthings
First aired 08/10/03
Rank: 22/124
Reviews: 1244
Rating: 90%

Fry cuts a deal with the devil which allows him to acquire the skills needed to show Leela that he loves her.
 


add a review

Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] - 23 - [24] [25] [26] [27] [28] [29] [30] [31] [32] [33] [34] [35] [36] [37] [38] [39] [40] [41] [42] [43] [44] [45] [46] [47] [48] [49] [50] [51] [52] [53] [54] [55] [56] [57] [58] [59] [60] [61] [62] [63] [64] [65] [66] [67] [68] [69] [70] [71] [72] [73] [74] [75] [76] [77] [78] [79] [80] [81] [82] [83] [84] [85] [86] [87] [88] [89] [90] [91] [92] [93] [94] [95] [96] [97] [98] [99] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125]
#221 by waffleking
cant you people be honest??? this episode is NOT good enough to be the #1 ranked episode. the episode was essentially a letdown. you cant just give it a 5 becuase its the last one and you CERTAINLY CANNOT give it a 5 to rate the series either.

The episode was too short, it ended too abruptly, there was no closure for Bender, Amy, Zoidberg, or the Professor. This deserves a low 90s, high 80s score if anything.



waffleking gave 4 points
12.08.2003

#222 by Spocky
Good Episode! Goodbye Futurama

Spocky gave 5 points
12.08.2003

#223 by Roddimus
I thought it was a great way to end the series.
At first I thought "oh no, not another friggin' deal-with-the-devil premise." But they managed to completely twist it around and make the devil the desperate underdog.
Excellent plot work.
The endless stream of ironies were hillarious, as were Bender's constant "that's not irony!" rants.
I could have done without the characters singing during the final few minutes tho. The song had its funny moments, but overall took away from the absurdist momentum of the episode.
The final scene with Fry and Leela was particularly touching however. It definitely made up for the musical number's cheesiness.
So long Planet Express crew.
It's been a great run.

Roddimus gave 5 points
12.08.2003

#224 by AL
Amazingly touching, very funny, a great way to end the series. Thanks futurama!

AL gave 5 points
12.08.2003

#225 by FreddieB
If there was only a Robot Devil to whom I could sell my soul in exchange for keeping Futurama on the air.

My gawd, this was a brilliant episode, from its heartbreaking opening footer & the endless video cartoon loop of itself, to the very last note of music that plays as the holophonic figures walk off into the distance. The writing was brilliant , intelligent, and sharp and preserved series continuity throughout.

And I'm a sucker for musical episodes -- to have the last third of the episode to be set to song -- ah, what bliss. I can only hope that eventually a cd of all of Futurama's music gets released (ala Songs in the Key of Springfield).

If there is any justice in the world, this episode will not only receive an Emmy nomination but will clinch an Emmy win.

To all the writers and artists involved in the making of Futurama, you should be proud of the genius you have shared with us. I am indebted to you all always.

FreddieB gave 5 points
12.08.2003

#226 by french Fry
It was ok, not to many jokes, but i see why. But the funniest thing was " see you on other channels" it made me laugh and then cry then doo doo in my pants. seriously

french Fry gave 4 points
12.08.2003

#227 by Mack
I agree with waffleking. After I watched, I logged on to the site expecting the reviews to be along the lines of "That was it? The finale ended like that? What the %$#*!!" but instead saw it ranked higher than any previous episode.
Yes, it was very funny, but almost all the episodes are very funny. Yes, it had touching moments for Fry and Leela, but there are others with touching moments. Yes, I was a good episode, a very good episode, BUT it was the finale. My expectations were set higher, and they were not met. There were some good zingers, good running gags, but overall it was a disapointment for what it was, although it was a great episode.

So long Futurama, You'll be missed.

Mack gave 4 points
12.08.2003

#228 by arglefargle
ok... you want specifics, people... granted, the robot devil was funny, and hedonism-bot was pretty entertaining, but other than that this episode was just not funny at all... and the 'touching' moments felt very tacked-on and not genuine. the emphasis was quite severely tipped toward leela and fry (and bender to a lesser extent), with the other characters getting next to no screen-time. obviously, this wasn't meant to be the series finale... so my low score is not based on any sort of letdown... it is just based on the fact that i didn't find it either funny, touching or enjoyable in any way. of the approximately 65-70 episodes i have seen, this ranks toward the bottom. ergo, the score of one.

as another poster said... this episode does NOT deserve to be the highest rated episode just because it was hte last one... and it does not deserve to be the highest rated because you people feel like rating the entire series in these episode review boxes (and the series does deserve a 5).

p.s. to everyone asking me to be more specific just because i have a dissenting opinion: slag off. why don't you people who write 'best episode ever!' and that's it, give some specifics.

arglefargle gave 1 point
12.08.2003

#229 by RandomEngy
Superb episode, easily among the best. It had crack-em-up jokes most of the way through and was a fitting end to the best television series of all time.

RandomEngy gave 5 points
12.08.2003

#230 by rumpleforeskin
My life is incomplete now futurama has ended... cant wait for it to become a mainstream religeon so i have someplace to go on sundays... what can i say - superb episode and a fitting end to the greatest comedy series to grace my cathode ray tube... but by sega genisis i hope they make a movie to follow.... anyways i dissemble... if u wanna know what happenes in this episode and infact any-other i can imagine no greater joy than watching it, and if u dont like watching TV alone e-mail me and i will will happily join you ( how can i turn down futurama )

rumpleforeskin gave 5 points
12.08.2003


Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] - 23 - [24] [25] [26] [27] [28] [29] [30] [31] [32] [33] [34] [35] [36] [37] [38] [39] [40] [41] [42] [43] [44] [45] [46] [47] [48] [49] [50] [51] [52] [53] [54] [55] [56] [57] [58] [59] [60] [61] [62] [63] [64] [65] [66] [67] [68] [69] [70] [71] [72] [73] [74] [75] [76] [77] [78] [79] [80] [81] [82] [83] [84] [85] [86] [87] [88] [89] [90] [91] [92] [93] [94] [95] [96] [97] [98] [99] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125]

add a review


back to the overview

 

Legal notice: "Futurama" TM and copyright FOX, its related entities and the Curiosity Company. All rights reserved. Any reproduction, duplication or distribution of these materials in any form is expressly prohibited. Disclaimer: As a fan page, this web site and its content are not authorized by FOX.