Follow GotFuturama on Twitter and Facebook!

   
Can't Get Enough Futurama! Happy Fry
Can't get enough Futurama - morefuturama
Futurama Information
»  Futurama News
»  Articles
»  Episode Guide
»  Character Bios
»  Encyclopedia
»  Episode Capsules
»  Freeze Frame
»  Comic Capsules
»  Futurama FAQ
»  Futurama Staff
»  Lists & References
»  Merchandise
»  TV Listings
»  Web News
»  Futurama Links
»  What's Futurama
»  Behind the Scenes
Futurama Multimedia
»  Ascii Art
»  Sounds & Quotes
»  Fan 3D Art
»  Animation & Video
»  Frame Grabs
»  Guitar Tabs
»  Nokia Stuff
»  Original Scans
»  Other Sounds
»  Promo Pics
Interactive
»  Alien Codecs
»  Comic Reviews
»  Episode Reviews
»  Episode Trivia
»  Random Trivia
»  Fan Art
»  Fan Fiction
»  Futurama Chat
»  Guest Book
»  Message Board
Futurama Desktop
»  Futurama Fonts
»  Icons & Cursors
»  ICQ+ Scheme
»  PocketPC Themes
»  Screen Savers
»  Software
»  Wallpapers
»  Winamp Skins
Futurama Games
»  CGEF Games
»  Official Game
»  Flash Games
»  Game Addons
»  Submitted Games
»  Guess the Pic!
Contact
»  Privacy Statement

   Buddies:
  Planet Express Employee Lounge - The Futurama Message Board
  The Infosphere - Futurama Wiki
  The Futurama Point
  


   Support:
  



Episode Reviews


Short Summary

Jurassic Bark
First aired 11/17/02
Rank: 15/124
Reviews: 1477
Rating: 91%

Bender gets jealous when it looks like cloning will reunite Fry with his dog from the 20th century.
 


add a review

Page: [1] [2] - 3 - [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26] [27] [28] [29] [30] [31] [32] [33] [34] [35] [36] [37] [38] [39] [40] [41] [42] [43] [44] [45] [46] [47] [48] [49] [50] [51] [52] [53] [54] [55] [56] [57] [58] [59] [60] [61] [62] [63] [64] [65] [66] [67] [68] [69] [70] [71] [72] [73] [74] [75] [76] [77] [78] [79] [80] [81] [82] [83] [84] [85] [86] [87] [88] [89] [90] [91] [92] [93] [94] [95] [96] [97] [98] [99] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] [132] [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148]
#21 by Lrrr
Folks, this one would have left Morbo weeping! Remember "Fear of a Bot Planet," when Leela and Fry are quizzed by the robot guards?

"No, it is the bad kind of puppy."

After tonight, there is no bad kind of puppy!

By the way, anybody notice the Philip Seymour connection? Just need Hoffman to complete the trifecta.

5 stars for this one. If the ratings hold, this will be the highest rated episode by CGEF respondents. Well worth it.

Too bad there won't be another Anthology of Interest. The "What If...?" Machine could bring back Seymour. I still think he's coming back when the Nibblonians return. Maybe Fry's reward for defeating the Brains once and for all.

A great job of connecting the story arc pieces, but one question comes to mind. Why, if we've already seen Fry's family and girlfriend, have we never heard of Seymour before this? Fry's had plenty of opportunities to remember the 20th Century, and in the first episode said that everything he ever knew or loved was dead - and this filled him with glee. This doesn't make a lot of sense.

Oh my god, I'm becoming a Trekkie or Star Wars nerd, marking the story inconsistencies! Help!

Lrrr gave 5 points
18.11.2002

#22 by Yixia
When I saw that little Seymore waited
for Fry for 12 years, from a puppy into
an old dog of his last days, I cried.
I thought about my lost dog, who was 18.
She's probably still looking for me and
wondering why I am not there.
This is a good episode, but it doesn't
need to be so sad. They could bring
Seymore back to life after showing how
loyal a dog he was.

Yixia gave 5 points
18.11.2002

#23 by FrysGIRL
I liked this episode a lot. My brother pretty much dislikes this show, but this was the first time he sat down to watch it. I consider that an achievement.

Yeah, yeah, I cried. It made me wonder if my dog remembers me. Nevertheless, this ep was packed with jokes and I laughed out loud. It was fun and had a nice emotional aspect to it.

FrysGIRL gave 5 points
18.11.2002

#24 by THX1138
It's been 12 hours since I watched the episode and I am still touched by the last two minutes. I have watched Futurama every Sunday (when Fox has bothered to air it)with the other Fox shows for years and this is by far my favorite episode. It had an emotional punch similar to the "clover" episode or the one where we found out where Leela really came from. I have two dogs now and have had several in the past and that last shot of Seymore finally lying to rest just tore me apart. I just sat there hugging my dogs and bawling like a baby because it brought back all those memories of the dogs I've had before. I hope they produced another episode where Fry and Seymore are re-united, but if not, this one will always be special to me. Damn Fox for cancelling what has always been an excellent and at times, like last night, brilliant show.

THX1138 gave 5 points
18.11.2002

#25 by BFG
What a fabulous episode...Futurama packs an emotional punch that the Simpsons lost several seasons ago. I know that Matt Groening wanted to wind up the Simpsons and focus exclusively on Futurama, so it is a shame Fox cancelled the series. Fry is a tremendously insensitive slacker but he and that dog had a connection. I suppose we all hope that some one or something will love us unconditionally, and that's why it was so heart-breaking to watch that little guy go to sleep for the last time in front of the pizzeria as life just passed him by. I realize that is how things work...we all have our little sorrows and tragedies that get drowned out in the general background noise of life. I suppose that is the appeal of this episode. Damn, I wish they would have cloned that stupid dog.

Another thing that is interesting and disturbing about this episode is that Fry actually has a chance to get the dog back at the end and he still can't do it. He passes on the opportunity to have a little time together with his 15 year-old-dog before the end. I guess that is a reminder to treasure the time you have with the people (or animals) you care about while you have a chance. I don't care if it was a cartoon. At least it makes one want to think a little which is more than can be said about most series.

Hey Groening...what's the chance of you convincing Fox to pick up the show again so you can find some way to bring the dog back?



BFG gave 4 points
18.11.2002

#26 by aslate
What an episode! Funny throughout and had such an emotional ending.
I loved the professor lines in the third act.
("It's dolomite baby!" "Professor, fire, hot!" and "Oh, smash the smart guy's machine?")
The Fry/Nibbler shadows and Nibbler in the bin have raised some mysterious ideas, more on PEEL.

aslate gave 5 points
18.11.2002

#27 by E. T.
A great show overall, but I could have done without the ending. My dog was lying on the couch next to me when they showed the final montage. They got me, I admit, and I started to cry. If that was their intention then they succeeded. Like some of the other people who have written reviews of this episode, I hate tear-jerkers. That said, I realize why they are effective. They poke at our tender spots, the places we sometimes don't like to admit to having. Seeing that Frye did have an impact in the 20th century, even though he was a lazy, shiftless pizza delivery man, added some interesting depth to his character. I just wish he and Seymour could have been reunited.

E. T. gave 4 points
18.11.2002

#28 by apparition
Like another person who reviewed this episode, watching this episode also drove me to type Futurama into a search engine to find a website for it. I've always liked this show a lot, but this episode was perfect. And as a dog owner and lover, I also started tearing at the end. Just thinking of that scene now is making me well up again. Beautifully done. Here's to hoping that FOX comes to its senses, renews this excellent show and gives it the support it deserves: A better time slot and stronger promotion.

apparition gave 5 points
18.11.2002

#29 by Jose
I gave this ep a 5 expectaculer one of the best once i have been a fan of this show since episode one, and I got to say one of the best ep I ever seen dont usually cry with TV shows but this one...dam. Just thinkig about it right now as I type bring tears to my eyes just the ending killed me I was in tears...It be a shame if this show does get cancell cause with this ep it just goes to show how good this TV show is and how much petential it has.

Jose gave 5 points
18.11.2002

#30 by Chris
Wonderful, one of the best ... i love this episode ....
But Ayepis right,dont watch the end, it makes me very sad ... the ppor dog .... has alwasy waiting ...

Chris gave 5 points
18.11.2002


Page: [1] [2] - 3 - [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26] [27] [28] [29] [30] [31] [32] [33] [34] [35] [36] [37] [38] [39] [40] [41] [42] [43] [44] [45] [46] [47] [48] [49] [50] [51] [52] [53] [54] [55] [56] [57] [58] [59] [60] [61] [62] [63] [64] [65] [66] [67] [68] [69] [70] [71] [72] [73] [74] [75] [76] [77] [78] [79] [80] [81] [82] [83] [84] [85] [86] [87] [88] [89] [90] [91] [92] [93] [94] [95] [96] [97] [98] [99] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] [132] [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148]

add a review


back to the overview

 

Legal notice: "Futurama" TM and copyright FOX, its related entities and the Curiosity Company. All rights reserved. Any reproduction, duplication or distribution of these materials in any form is expressly prohibited. Disclaimer: As a fan page, this web site and its content are not authorized by FOX.