Follow GotFuturama on Twitter and Facebook!

   
Can't Get Enough Futurama! Happy Fry
Can't get enough Futurama - morefuturama
Futurama Information
»  Futurama News
»  Articles
»  Episode Guide
»  Character Bios
»  Encyclopedia
»  Episode Capsules
»  Freeze Frame
»  Comic Capsules
»  Futurama FAQ
»  Futurama Staff
»  Lists & References
»  Merchandise
»  TV Listings
»  Web News
»  Futurama Links
»  What's Futurama
»  Behind the Scenes
Futurama Multimedia
»  Ascii Art
»  Sounds & Quotes
»  Fan 3D Art
»  Animation & Video
»  Frame Grabs
»  Guitar Tabs
»  Nokia Stuff
»  Original Scans
»  Other Sounds
»  Promo Pics
Interactive
»  Alien Codecs
»  Comic Reviews
»  Episode Reviews
»  Episode Trivia
»  Random Trivia
»  Fan Art
»  Fan Fiction
»  Futurama Chat
»  Guest Book
»  Message Board
Futurama Desktop
»  Futurama Fonts
»  Icons & Cursors
»  ICQ+ Scheme
»  PocketPC Themes
»  Screen Savers
»  Software
»  Wallpapers
»  Winamp Skins
Futurama Games
»  CGEF Games
»  Official Game
»  Flash Games
»  Game Addons
»  Submitted Games
»  Guess the Pic!
Contact
»  Privacy Statement

   Buddies:
  Planet Express Employee Lounge - The Futurama Message Board
  The Infosphere - Futurama Wiki
  The Futurama Point
  


   Support:
  



Episode Reviews


Short Summary

The Why Of Fry
First aired 04/06/03
Rank: 10/124
Reviews: 353
Rating: 91%

Once again the Nibblonians need Fry's help to save the universe.
 


add a review

Page: [1] [2] - 3 - [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26] [27] [28] [29] [30] [31] [32] [33] [34] [35] [36]
#21 by jp
im not sure about being the best episode of the season "Jurassic Bark" hit an emotion like no other for lots of people including me, its rare that a cartoon can do that and i think it needs credit.

jp gave 5 points
07.04.2003

#22 by dude
an incredible season finale I haven't seen an episode like this since roswell ends well. great!!!

dude gave 5 points
07.04.2003

#23 by fonoop
This is only the second episode I've written a review for, that means it was really good in my book. It certainly explains a lot, quite a coincidence since I recently saw "Space Pilot 3000" on dvd and on the commentary track, they pointed out the scene with the shadow of Nibler. Certainly one of the most interesting/funny episodes in awhile. Surprise ending too...I hope they developed that a little more in future episodes.

fonoop gave 5 points
07.04.2003

#24 by natt
Great episode.
great ending.
now i might as well turn off my TV because there isn't going to be anything that's even near as good as this

natt gave 5 points
07.04.2003

#25 by Cygnus-hime
One of the most ambitious and emotional episodes ever. Granted, it wasn't perfect: I did't understand why Fry's doing the nasty with Grandma had to do with him lacking Delta waves until I thought about it, and I have some logistical objections to the Brain Spawn trying to gather knowledge (which would probably take an infinite amount of time), and moreover, why would they want to destroy the universe WHEN THEY LIVE IN THE UNIVERSE? However, the episode did have some delightfully warped moments, such as the feast of a thousand feasts and riding to his mission on a child's play-cart, Fry found out WHY he wound up in the future in the first place (save the universe, find love, all that good stuff) and had to choose between his past and future lives, and Leela realized just how much she loved Fry, despite his flaws. If only FOX would give the show a chance--then we could have many, many more great episodes like this!

Cygnus-hime gave 5 points
07.04.2003

#26 by Brian
What a great story. This is probably one of my all time favorites - very smart writing. Great last couple scenes.

Brian gave 5 points
07.04.2003

#27 by aslate
Great episode! The start was funny and it remained interesting throughout.
Fry: "I can't work under these conditions, without me there is no mission, i am the mission."
Leela: "We're back from the mission"
Fry: "Wha, what? You went without me?"
Bender: "You were looking up cursewords in the dictionary, it seemed a better use of your time"

We kinda guessed most of what happened, but it was great to see it confirmed and all the bits between.
The bit inside the data-thingy where Fry talks with the Nibblonians about how it was his life they had taken away was so touching.

Nibbler: "We had no choice, you were the only one that could help us. What is one life weighed against the entire universe?"
Fry: "But it was my life" :sniff:

Definately one of the top episodes produced. And it advanced the plot between Fry and Leela so much at the end, but yet it didn't seem forced or sudden.

Loved it all, full marks!



aslate gave 5 points
07.04.2003

#28 by Makaio
This one make me feel compleat. This ties up alot of loose ends. But what I don't get, is that in Jurassic Bark, you can see Nibbler's eye coming out of the garbage can, but it wasn't in this one, even though you see Fry's shadow. Uh, well, any-who, this was a great episode.

Makaio gave 5 points
07.04.2003

#29 by Magpie
great ep! the Nibbolians are so cute and the fry/leela part was great too. I wish there was another whole season. I mean the Simpsons had tons of seasons y not Futurama? I hope the season Fanale is as good as this.

Magpie gave 5 points
07.04.2003

#30 by futurama fan
I don't know what all the fuss is about, sure it had some nice revelations as to Fry's destiny, but where are the laughs, i only laughed once through the entire episode. The writer's seem to concentrate more on plot then on jokes, and while that is nice and all, i still would like to experience the humour that made me fall in love with the show in the first place. In the first few seasons the jokes came out of left-field but now i can see them coming a mile away and most of them are lame. Still love futurama, but if this is the way the show is going,i'll be glad to see it go before it gets really bad.

futurama fan gave 3 points
07.04.2003


Page: [1] [2] - 3 - [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26] [27] [28] [29] [30] [31] [32] [33] [34] [35] [36]

add a review


back to the overview

 

Legal notice: "Futurama" TM and copyright FOX, its related entities and the Curiosity Company. All rights reserved. Any reproduction, duplication or distribution of these materials in any form is expressly prohibited. Disclaimer: As a fan page, this web site and its content are not authorized by FOX.