Follow GotFuturama on Twitter and Facebook!

   
Can't Get Enough Futurama! Happy Fry
Can't get enough Futurama - morefuturama
Futurama Information
»  Futurama News
»  Articles
»  Episode Guide
»  Character Bios
»  Encyclopedia
»  Episode Capsules
»  Freeze Frame
»  Comic Capsules
»  Futurama FAQ
»  Futurama Staff
»  Lists & References
»  Merchandise
»  TV Listings
»  Web News
»  Futurama Links
»  What's Futurama
»  Behind the Scenes
Futurama Multimedia
»  Ascii Art
»  Sounds & Quotes
»  Fan 3D Art
»  Animation & Video
»  Frame Grabs
»  Guitar Tabs
»  Nokia Stuff
»  Original Scans
»  Other Sounds
»  Promo Pics
Interactive
»  Alien Codecs
»  Comic Reviews
»  Episode Reviews
»  Episode Trivia
»  Random Trivia
»  Fan Art
»  Fan Fiction
»  Futurama Chat
»  Guest Book
»  Message Board
Futurama Desktop
»  Futurama Fonts
»  Icons & Cursors
»  ICQ+ Scheme
»  PocketPC Themes
»  Screen Savers
»  Software
»  Wallpapers
»  Winamp Skins
Futurama Games
»  CGEF Games
»  Official Game
»  Flash Games
»  Game Addons
»  Submitted Games
»  Guess the Pic!
Contact
»  Privacy Statement

   Buddies:
  Planet Express Employee Lounge - The Futurama Message Board
  The Infosphere - Futurama Wiki
  The Futurama Point
  


   Support:
  



Episode Reviews


Short Summary

The Devil's Hands Are Idle Playthings
First aired 08/10/03
Rank: 22/124
Reviews: 1244
Rating: 90%

Fry cuts a deal with the devil which allows him to acquire the skills needed to show Leela that he loves her.
 


add a review

Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26] [27] [28] [29] - 30 - [31] [32] [33] [34] [35] [36] [37] [38] [39] [40] [41] [42] [43] [44] [45] [46] [47] [48] [49] [50] [51] [52] [53] [54] [55] [56] [57] [58] [59] [60] [61] [62] [63] [64] [65] [66] [67] [68] [69] [70] [71] [72] [73] [74] [75] [76] [77] [78] [79] [80] [81] [82] [83] [84] [85] [86] [87] [88] [89] [90] [91] [92] [93] [94] [95] [96] [97] [98] [99] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125]
#291 by Shea Peacock
Wow! That episode was a masterpiece ... I hardly know where to start reviewing except to say that I wish to extend my thanks to the entire Futurama cast & crew for hitting the very last episode out of the park, over the bleachers, and around the earth, past the Moon, approaching Mars ...

Shea Peacock gave 5 points
12.08.2003

#292 by BENDER #010111001010
GOOD-BYE! MEATBAGS!!!! Bender!

BENDER #010111001010 gave 5 points
12.08.2003

#293 by Wilhelm Damsleth
Excellent episode. I really liked the opera scenes, though I should have liked the music to continue on through the end credits instead of the theme music.

Wilhelm Damsleth gave 5 points
13.08.2003

#294 by MR.TV
Now this makes me wish more that Cartoon Network makes a real Season 5 telling what happens next.


MR.TV gave 4 points
13.08.2003

#295 by Havelock Vetinari
Wonderful episode. Joins the top 3 with Godfellas and Luck of the Fryish. Nothing I can really fault, the jokes made me laugh and the ending made me cry; that's the most I can ask from anything.

It's the final time I'll be trawling the internet looking for downloads so I can see the show. At least Fox has shown the episodes, we're still not finished with Season 4 here.

(Would people stop complaining about minor continuity issues, like the horn and Bender's arse? Where did Robot 1X go, where are Cubert and Dwight in most episodes...it's artistic license people)

Havelock Vetinari gave 5 points
13.08.2003

#296 by Brittany
I absolutely loved it. I loved the end but I really wanted Fry and Leela to kiss. It made me a little mad because of this.

Brittany gave 4 points
13.08.2003

#297 by Bender3000
fox stinks this was a great episode and futurama was great if fox is that stupid to cancle it then they should allow cartoon network to keep making new episodes at least.It was a great episode and I love that they put (see you on another channel) at the bottom. FUTURAMA WAS GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Bender3000 gave 5 points
13.08.2003

#298 by Danny
Best Episode Ever

P.S: The fan fiction crashcourse in love needs to be turned into a futurama movie. It has a great beginning middle and end. please write a letter to Matt and tell him to go to gotfuturama.com and go to the fan fiction section of the site and go to crashcourse in love. it would please me if you did this. "peace we out"

Danny gave 5 points
13.08.2003

#299 by Pedro House Jr
"See you on another Channel!" One can only hope that a channel smarter than Fox will pick it up on a future date! This episode was brilliant and I love the "Robot-Devil", Leela and Fry...I'm going to miss you! You'll be in our hearts forever! AS FOR THE FOX NETWORK, shame on you for Bringing back dreck like "American Idol" and a 2nd "Joe Millionair", but canning Futurama, I hope the Fox network ends up with the same fate! I WILL NEVER WATCH FOX AGAIN! LONG LIVE FUTURAMA!

Pedro House Jr gave 5 points
13.08.2003

#300 by PlanEx
Futurama goes out with an ... opera?

I have to say I was unpleasantly disappointed. For several reasons.
Near the beginning, Bender tells Fry that he wishes Fry's parents were still alive (so he doesn't have to parent him) - immediately then, seemingly overcome with a very uncharacteristic guilt, bender adds "not often", and then - get this - they hug.
Since when? This is not the Bender that would throw beer bottles at Fry, or further his own gains at the expense of his friends. In other words, it is not the Bender I've grown to know and laugh at - obnoxious and unrepentant.

Later on, Bender and Fry slide non-chalantly into robots' hell? With no problems? And what's more, Robot Devil knows Fry by name, and welcomes them? Again - not in line.

But this is nothing compared to the way the Futurama team (how many producer and producer-derivative credits flashed at the beginning of the episode?) chose to treat its fans - with an opera.

Yes sir. After 5 years of strong emotional punches used to depict Fry's unrequited love to Leela, we now get this lousy "opera" that sounds cheaper than a second grade Broadway musical. Soppy pretentious, unfunny. None of the wit and subtlety I'd come to expect from Futurama, was to be found in this episode.

Instead, this episode is self-conscious (watch for the split second where Zap Brannigan is inserted - as if to make a point of packing all the show's characters in this episode ), lackluster, and lukewarm
I love Futurama. But I'm not afraid to say this is by far the worst episode in the series.

The one exception, that was reminiscent and worthy of Futurama's habitual caliber, was the in the opening credits sequence, where the screen into which Planet Express Ship crashes, instead of showing a classic cartoon snip, is showing the same panorama we're watching, which also happens to be a classic cartoon. This was a nice touch.
The rest , was disappointing.

PS. BTW, I don't think we can say Futurama RIP just yet. On Fox maybe. But it is likely that the series may be picked up and continued on another channel (probably a cable channel) - notice how the tag line at the opening said "see you on another channel".

PlanEx gave 2 points
13.08.2003


Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26] [27] [28] [29] - 30 - [31] [32] [33] [34] [35] [36] [37] [38] [39] [40] [41] [42] [43] [44] [45] [46] [47] [48] [49] [50] [51] [52] [53] [54] [55] [56] [57] [58] [59] [60] [61] [62] [63] [64] [65] [66] [67] [68] [69] [70] [71] [72] [73] [74] [75] [76] [77] [78] [79] [80] [81] [82] [83] [84] [85] [86] [87] [88] [89] [90] [91] [92] [93] [94] [95] [96] [97] [98] [99] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125]

add a review


back to the overview

 

Legal notice: "Futurama" TM and copyright FOX, its related entities and the Curiosity Company. All rights reserved. Any reproduction, duplication or distribution of these materials in any form is expressly prohibited. Disclaimer: As a fan page, this web site and its content are not authorized by FOX.