Follow GotFuturama on Twitter and Facebook!

   
Can't Get Enough Futurama! Happy Fry
Can't get enough Futurama - morefuturama
Futurama Information
»  Futurama News
»  Articles
»  Episode Guide
»  Character Bios
»  Encyclopedia
»  Episode Capsules
»  Freeze Frame
»  Comic Capsules
»  Futurama FAQ
»  Futurama Staff
»  Lists & References
»  Merchandise
»  TV Listings
»  Web News
»  Futurama Links
»  What's Futurama
»  Behind the Scenes
Futurama Multimedia
»  Ascii Art
»  Sounds & Quotes
»  Fan 3D Art
»  Animation & Video
»  Frame Grabs
»  Guitar Tabs
»  Nokia Stuff
»  Original Scans
»  Other Sounds
»  Promo Pics
Interactive
»  Alien Codecs
»  Comic Reviews
»  Episode Reviews
»  Episode Trivia
»  Random Trivia
»  Fan Art
»  Fan Fiction
»  Futurama Chat
»  Guest Book
»  Message Board
Futurama Desktop
»  Futurama Fonts
»  Icons & Cursors
»  ICQ+ Scheme
»  PocketPC Themes
»  Screen Savers
»  Software
»  Wallpapers
»  Winamp Skins
Futurama Games
»  CGEF Games
»  Official Game
»  Flash Games
»  Game Addons
»  Submitted Games
»  Guess the Pic!
Contact
»  Privacy Statement

   Buddies:
  Planet Express Employee Lounge - The Futurama Message Board
  The Infosphere - Futurama Wiki
  The Futurama Point
  


   Support:
  



Episode Reviews


Short Summary

The Devil's Hands Are Idle Playthings
First aired 08/10/03
Rank: 22/124
Reviews: 1244
Rating: 90%

Fry cuts a deal with the devil which allows him to acquire the skills needed to show Leela that he loves her.
 


add a review

Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26] [27] [28] [29] [30] [31] - 32 - [33] [34] [35] [36] [37] [38] [39] [40] [41] [42] [43] [44] [45] [46] [47] [48] [49] [50] [51] [52] [53] [54] [55] [56] [57] [58] [59] [60] [61] [62] [63] [64] [65] [66] [67] [68] [69] [70] [71] [72] [73] [74] [75] [76] [77] [78] [79] [80] [81] [82] [83] [84] [85] [86] [87] [88] [89] [90] [91] [92] [93] [94] [95] [96] [97] [98] [99] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125]
#311 by LiquidGUI
Greatest episode of Futurama. Funny and emotional. The opera was great. Great music. Great writing. The show is simply amazing, it is very sad to see Futurama leave. But as it says in the very beginning of the episode "See you on another channel". I hope this becomes true. -Dan

LiquidGUI gave 5 points
13.08.2003

#312 by bobbyKING
a very nice episode

bobbyKING gave 5 points
13.08.2003

#313 by M. Hicks
The opera was great, and the episode was quite decent, but the ending was poor-- sappy and nonsensical.

Why, I ask, would Leela soften so dramatically towards the once again loser Fry? Oh, right, because that's the standard TV formula, lousy guy gets the girl he wants eventually, often through persistent nagging, despite his lousiness. Futurama's flirted with doing this before at episode ends, but always pulled the nose up in the next episode. It was much more disappointing here, since this is _the_ end. A more subtle ending would have really made this episode top notch.

M. Hicks gave 4 points
13.08.2003

#314 by Helix
A splendid way to end a splendid show. I do hope that we will see them on another channel, if not the same one.

Helix gave 5 points
13.08.2003

#315 by Colin
It was good, but nearly as good as other superb episodes (like THE WHY OF FRY, MUTANT LEELA etc)

Colin gave 4 points
13.08.2003

#316 by Jimmy Farkus
Farewell to a truly wonderful show. I loved it from the beginning and I'll miss everything about it. Congrats to the entire team for making a quality program that was equally hilarious and at times moving and poignant. If only all television shows had the production value, ambition and heart of Futurama.... (sigh).

Jimmy Farkus gave 5 points
13.08.2003

#317 by Rick
Awesome... Awesome to the max! This was a great ep. I loved Bender "I always wondered what it would be like if I were more annoying." and the Robot Devil was hillarious "What a surprise Bender, for you...to find me in the fridge."
Zoidberg had many great lines also. "I'll take eight" Futurama is brilliant. I hope it has a future somewhere and maybe a movie. That would be so freaking sweet!

Rick gave 5 points
13.08.2003

#318 by vasilii
This person got it right........

Futurama goes out with an ... opera?

I have to say I was unpleasantly disappointed. For several reasons.
Near the beginning, Bender tells Fry that he wishes Fry's parents were still alive (so he doesn't have to parent him) - immediately then, seemingly overcome with a very uncharacteristic guilt, bender adds "not often", and then - get this - they hug.
Since when? This is not the Bender that would throw beer bottles at Fry, or further his own gains at the expense of his friends. In other words, it is not the Bender I've grown to know and laugh at - obnoxious and unrepentant.

Later on, Bender and Fry slide non-chalantly into robots' hell? With no problems? And what's more, Robot Devil knows Fry by name, and welcomes them? Again - not in line.

But this is nothing compared to the way the Futurama team (how many producer and producer-derivative credits flashed at the beginning of the episode?) chose to treat its fans - with an opera.

Yes sir. After 5 years of strong emotional punches used to depict Fry's unrequited love to Leela, we now get this lousy "opera" that sounds cheaper than a second grade Broadway musical. Soppy pretentious, unfunny. None of the wit and subtlety I'd come to expect from Futurama, was to be found in this episode.

Instead, this episode is self-conscious (watch for the split second where Zap Brannigan is inserted - as if to make a point of packing all the show's characters in this episode ), lackluster, and lukewarm
I love Futurama. But I'm not afraid to say this is by far the worst episode in the series.

The one exception, that was reminiscent and worthy of Futurama's habitual caliber, was the in the opening credits sequence, where the screen into which Planet Express Ship crashes, instead of showing a classic cartoon snip, is showing the same panorama we're watching, which also happens to be a classic cartoon. This was a nice touch.
The rest , was disappointing.

PS. BTW, I don't think we can say Futurama RIP just yet. On Fox maybe. But it is likely that the series may be picked up and continued on another channel (probably a cable channel) - notice how the tag line at the opening said "see you on another channel".

PlanEx gave 2 points

vasilii gave 2 points
13.08.2003

#319 by KRIEBES
I know what I like!,and what I
hate! This left me moved and
satisfied as an end to the 5th season not an overall ending to a brilliant series. The ending left you wanting to know what happens next, and that in my opinion is good story telling. The elements in this episode are very difficult to blend together, and in my opinion it was done quite brilliantly - glad I taped this one. I think as one fan stated earlier a more complete end could derived from some of plots of the our favorite Fan Fictions. One my favorites is a new one titled "Last Shot". I sure hope Matt does makes a movie for a finally, enough of us are behind him. On a sadder note! I think alot of fans feel this way when I say "Damn your short sitedness Fox Executives, and bite our shiney Metal Asses!" un quote. Thanks Matt! - for giving us Futurama Your the man! See ya in the Future!

Kriebes



KRIEBES gave 5 points
13.08.2003

#320 by spf2000
Bad, bad, bad.
Really a bad end for a series like this one.
Was no fun.

spf2000 gave 2 points
13.08.2003


Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26] [27] [28] [29] [30] [31] - 32 - [33] [34] [35] [36] [37] [38] [39] [40] [41] [42] [43] [44] [45] [46] [47] [48] [49] [50] [51] [52] [53] [54] [55] [56] [57] [58] [59] [60] [61] [62] [63] [64] [65] [66] [67] [68] [69] [70] [71] [72] [73] [74] [75] [76] [77] [78] [79] [80] [81] [82] [83] [84] [85] [86] [87] [88] [89] [90] [91] [92] [93] [94] [95] [96] [97] [98] [99] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125]

add a review


back to the overview

 

Legal notice: "Futurama" TM and copyright FOX, its related entities and the Curiosity Company. All rights reserved. Any reproduction, duplication or distribution of these materials in any form is expressly prohibited. Disclaimer: As a fan page, this web site and its content are not authorized by FOX.