Follow GotFuturama on Twitter and Facebook!

   
Can't Get Enough Futurama! Happy Fry
Can't get enough Futurama - morefuturama
Futurama Information
»  Futurama News
»  Articles
»  Episode Guide
»  Character Bios
»  Encyclopedia
»  Episode Capsules
»  Freeze Frame
»  Comic Capsules
»  Futurama FAQ
»  Futurama Staff
»  Lists & References
»  Merchandise
»  TV Listings
»  Web News
»  Futurama Links
»  What's Futurama
»  Behind the Scenes
Futurama Multimedia
»  Ascii Art
»  Sounds & Quotes
»  Fan 3D Art
»  Animation & Video
»  Frame Grabs
»  Guitar Tabs
»  Nokia Stuff
»  Original Scans
»  Other Sounds
»  Promo Pics
Interactive
»  Alien Codecs
»  Comic Reviews
»  Episode Reviews
»  Episode Trivia
»  Random Trivia
»  Fan Art
»  Fan Fiction
»  Futurama Chat
»  Guest Book
»  Message Board
Futurama Desktop
»  Futurama Fonts
»  Icons & Cursors
»  ICQ+ Scheme
»  PocketPC Themes
»  Screen Savers
»  Software
»  Wallpapers
»  Winamp Skins
Futurama Games
»  CGEF Games
»  Official Game
»  Flash Games
»  Game Addons
»  Submitted Games
»  Guess the Pic!
Contact
»  Privacy Statement

   Buddies:
  Planet Express Employee Lounge - The Futurama Message Board
  The Infosphere - Futurama Wiki
  The Futurama Point
  


   Support:
  



Episode Reviews


Short Summary

Leela's Homeworld
First aired 02/17/02
Rank: 80/124
Reviews: 260
Rating: 80%

Bender and Professor Farnsworth decipher something far more rewarding for Leela, as Fry helps her discover some long-lost secrets about her background, including what happened to her parents.
 


add a review

Page: [1] [2] [3] - 4 - [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26]
#31 by TomDaTom
the most interesting thing in this episode is that song at the very end..
Please e-mail me, if you know informations about that song!! ..PLEASE!!! ..

thanxx so far..
Tom

TomDaTom gave 4 points
24.02.2002

#32 by ventolin
I dont know whats wrong with you ppl! This ep was incredible! It had great story and great jokes. I almost teared up there near the end. On a side note, it is true that this episode sould have been saved for one of the last ones. But then again, maybe Mr. Groenig is taking into consideration that the show is sadly being cancelled...

ventolin gave 5 points
24.02.2002

#33 by blah
y does everyone keep asking the name of the song...it's already been posted 3 times

blah gave 4 points
25.02.2002

#34 by tome
Ouch, this episode needs some praise to get it's percentage up. I thought it was great and didn't have to be funny, just informative. We needed a revealing episode like this, especially after the future of this show being under jeopardy. I still liked it, even though many of you didn't.

tome gave 5 points
25.02.2002

#35 by bunnibutcher
Loved the episode! Touching and funny, like a chic flick! I really need to get the name of the song and artist at the end though- please e-mail me if you know!!!!

bunnibutcher gave 4 points
25.02.2002

#36 by Lisa
I liked it. I like Leela even though a lot of people don't, and I like the idea of her not being some exotic alien but rather a lowly mutant. That grounds her character more. And I'm a Leela/Fry shipper too, so I loved the cute look on Fry's face at the end :)
It wasn't very funny though, I agree with that. Except for Bender and his waste disposal business.

Lisa gave 4 points
26.02.2002

#37 by Ming
I think this episode was nearly a peer of "luck of Fryish". A really touching ending, and really good story.

Ming gave 5 points
26.02.2002

#38 by Media-matic
OK, I saw this on it's original airing, then immediately watched it again. This is how I avoid the painful experience known as King of the Hill. Then, I found the song played at the end (Pizzicato 5) in usenet. I got more hooked on the song (it had lingered in my head after two viewings) and ended up watching the ep a couple more times.
Now I am ready to pass judgement. Yes, it would have been nice if the parent-origin foreshadowing wasn't dropped into the ep so early as the end of the first act. Fine, so what. No real damage done. Personally, I liked how the sub-plots were woven once Fry/Leela got separated. The professor's machine is a gas. Especially the 'ding' part. Bender's Honest Waste Disposal was a gas. C'mon. Who can't bust a gut when he stuffs the whale down the sewer? I feel the entire episode leads up to the emotional video montage at the end with Pizzicato 5. That tugs at me every time I see it. Overall, this ain't the funniest ep, but who cares. It has so much more to offer.
I must admit that I am becoming EXTREMEMY biased because a few weeks ago, I started a 'complete series marathon'. I am almost done and my opinion of the show has changed entirely. At first, I thought of it merely as my favorite show still on the air. Now, I can hardly stand the thought of it's impending doom at the hands of FOX. It is THE BEST television to come out of the mill in many years. The only thing more original than Futurama was the live-action Tick. The only thought I have to console me is 'at least Daria got to run for 5 seasons of excellence, so I'll enjoy every seconds of Futurama that gets produced'. Futurama is a fantastic show. It works on so many levels. Geek humor. Modern (aka, not tired like the Simpsons) humor. Science-fiction reference/tribute heaven. Video game reference/tribute heaven. I connect with this show on a deep personal level. And so do millions of others. I have grown to love the 'non-favored' characters more. I'm telling you, one notices so much more when watching every episode, in sequence, in a month. If you have 'em. Do it. If not, get them and do it. You will thank yourself for basking in David X. Cohen's efforts rather than drivel such as 'The Glutton Bowl'.
... reaching ramble-on limit...
... signing off....
MM

Media-matic gave 4 points
27.02.2002

#39 by sn0wcat
Great episode :)

sn0wcat gave 5 points
28.02.2002

#40 by Teral
And enter the Leelaholics ;)

I loved this episode. Leela's "Fryish", and just as good as it's predecessor. Heartwarming, emotional and funny as h***, trademarks of Futurama that we all have come to love. If only FOX execs would watch episodes like this and Fryish, they'd come to their senses.
Although I would've prefered her to remain an alien, the mutant angle works surprisingly well too. The Leela museum (I wanna go there :)), the chase, Fry stopping Leela and the revelation of the truth about her heritage. Great writing, and great animation. The scene were Leela discovered the truth and hugged her parents was just as heartwarming and emotional as the ending of Fryish , and the way it was animated, amazing. The last segment, during the song, was nice, Leela was just the cutest of babies. :D

I kinda wished they'd saved this episode for a later season, maybe 7-8ish, but maybe they saw the writing on the wall. Leelas search for her homeplanet, and her people, was one of the most fascinating aspects about her character and they really didn't cash in on that. Only one episode, I think they could've made at least 3 or 4 more. Maybe leave little clues she could chase down, only to discover new clues and so on. They could even have used the mutant angle still, just make all the clues lead back to Earth. On the other hand, who is to say that it ends here. Leela and her parents could go on an epic journey in a future episode, to discover that they really are aliens. Maybe her parents came to Earth as small babies, the only surviviors of an alien spaceship that was destroyed in orbit, but I digress.

Things I like: The onelegged mutant (bring him back), "Honest Benders Waste Disposal" LOL, the nosemachine, that song "Baby Love Child" (it'll always remind me of Leela from now on), the highly toxic waste (kinda made me think about "Alien" ) and other stuff that eludes me now.

Some weird things: Is it me or was the drawing of Hermes really strange in the scene with the toxic waste-tasting?

Suming up: Great background info on Leela , secondbest episode of season 4 (Roswell is that more hillarious). I give it 5, I really wish I could give it 10 to up it's score a big chunck. (hey I am a Leelaholic, right ;)).


Teral gave 5 points
01.03.2002


Page: [1] [2] [3] - 4 - [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26]

add a review


back to the overview

 

Legal notice: "Futurama" TM and copyright FOX, its related entities and the Curiosity Company. All rights reserved. Any reproduction, duplication or distribution of these materials in any form is expressly prohibited. Disclaimer: As a fan page, this web site and its content are not authorized by FOX.