Follow GotFuturama on Twitter and Facebook!

   
Can't Get Enough Futurama! Happy Fry
Can't get enough Futurama - morefuturama
Futurama Information
»  Futurama News
»  Articles
»  Episode Guide
»  Character Bios
»  Encyclopedia
»  Episode Capsules
»  Freeze Frame
»  Comic Capsules
»  Futurama FAQ
»  Futurama Staff
»  Lists & References
»  Merchandise
»  TV Listings
»  Web News
»  Futurama Links
»  What's Futurama
»  Behind the Scenes
Futurama Multimedia
»  Ascii Art
»  Sounds & Quotes
»  Fan 3D Art
»  Animation & Video
»  Frame Grabs
»  Guitar Tabs
»  Nokia Stuff
»  Original Scans
»  Other Sounds
»  Promo Pics
Interactive
»  Alien Codecs
»  Comic Reviews
»  Episode Reviews
»  Episode Trivia
»  Random Trivia
»  Fan Art
»  Fan Fiction
»  Futurama Chat
»  Guest Book
»  Message Board
Futurama Desktop
»  Futurama Fonts
»  Icons & Cursors
»  ICQ+ Scheme
»  PocketPC Themes
»  Screen Savers
»  Software
»  Wallpapers
»  Winamp Skins
Futurama Games
»  CGEF Games
»  Official Game
»  Flash Games
»  Game Addons
»  Submitted Games
»  Guess the Pic!
Contact
»  Privacy Statement

   Buddies:
  Planet Express Employee Lounge - The Futurama Message Board
  The Infosphere - Futurama Wiki
  The Futurama Point
  


   Support:
  



Episode Reviews


Short Summary

Love & Rocket
First aired 02/10/02
Rank: 61/124
Reviews: 135
Rating: 82%

Love is in the air when Bender finds himself involved in a shipboard romance....with the ship. When the Professor upgrades the Planet Express spaceship's software with a sexy female voice (guest star Sigourney Weaver), Bender falls hopelessly in love.
 


add a review

Page: [1] [2] [3] - 4 - [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14]
#31 by AirBallingBozo
All I have to say is that Bender has much to teach us with his mighty robot powers!
some memorable moments from this ep:

-Bender, are you looking at other women?-Nah Baby Never!

-Aw, calm down.I'm sure Bender is taking this just as hard as you are.-Bender is Great. Oh, Bender is Great! Bender! Bender! Bender!

Definitely one of my favorites!

AirBallingBozo gave 5 points
03.04.2002

#32 by Heliotrope
This episode just finished showing here in England.
And it was great as usual! ^_^
It may not have been as funny as some other episodes, but it was still a really cute and sweet episode, i nearly cheered for Fry when he gave Leela his oxygen.
But there were some funny bits, the Omicrons watching Friends, Benda singing again, and Zoidbergs little talk at the end were all great.

"The consept of Wuv confuses and infuriates us!!!"


Heliotrope gave 5 points
07.04.2002

#33 by Mike
Well, I'm pleased to say that 'Love and Rocket' wasn't that bad. Not great (and no way near as good as 'Put Your Head On My Shoulder'), but it was definitely an improvement on the last two episodes.

The main story itself, Bender falling in love with the PE ship, wasn't really that interesting, and at times, too stupid. For me, giving a spaceship a personality, and having it fly around a zoo just wasn't funny.

The Fry-Leela story was much more interesting, and it really should taken up more time in the episode. It may not have been as sweet as the romantic parts in 'A Flight To Remember' or 'Time Keeps On A Slippin'', but it still led to a good ending, unfortunatly spoilt in the last few seconds by Zoidberg.

Although, like the last few Futurama episodes, this one didn't really have many good jokes, there was still the occasional good moment. Bender's head getting chopped off at the beginning made me smile, as did Bender and Fry's enjoyment of a scantily-clad Amy washing the ship, 'obviously you're both ITEMS..', and the 'Bender is great' song. The only part that made me laugh out loud, though, was Lrrr's scene with the 'I WUV U' heart. Speaking of returning faces, it was nice to see those mutants back near the end, the robot floozies, and another mention of Sean.

Bad bits? Well, the heart factory scene was unfunny, too long, and fairly pointless, and the scene at Fry and Bender's appartment was just weird. The ship going nuts (including the bit where they're linked together) wasn't that interesting, either. Elzar saying 'bam' all the time is getting on my nerves, too.

Graphically, the episode was excellent, especially the anti-grav hearts scene, and the bit where Bender plugged himself into the ship.

I'm glad that the series is getting better again, and I'm really looking forward to next week's episode, just to find out more about Leela's past.

Normally, I'd give 'Love and Rocket' 2.5/5 - I didn't wuv it, but it wasn't that bad. However, as I'm not allowed to here, I'll round it up to a three (to separate it from my scores from the last two episodes).

Mike gave 3 points
07.04.2002

#34 by Otis P Jivefunk
As usual, another great episode although not one of my favorites. It was interesting to see a Season 4 production episode, brilliant writing and the concept of a spaceship in love with Bender was interesting. The episode jumped around to many different settings yet still felt coherently whole. Some really nice visuals like the candy floating around and seeing it get dumped. Lrr was as great as ever and those new uniforms were cool.

I liked it when the Planet Express ship visited Bender and Fry’s apartment. Another good thing is that the use of guest stars didn’t bring down the quality of this episode like they have done in the past. I didn't find this episode all that funny though, it had some great laughs but also some unnecessary stupidity such as the lion in the Planet Express ship. Overall a solid episode and a great ending, it was touching to see Fry and Leela so close and on the same wavelength.


Otis P Jivefunk gave 4 points
07.04.2002

#35 by PCC Fred
A better than average episode, but not one of the all-time greats. The Bender/PE ship plot's not all that interesting, and the bit where they merge their programming is just plain boring. What saves this episode are the little things: trillions of candy hearts being blasted into space, the cameo by Lucy Liu, the Omicronians watching Friends, and Fry giving Leela his oxygen.

PCC Fred gave 4 points
08.04.2002

#36 by jakem
good,not great,good


jakem gave 3 points
08.04.2002

#37 by FryGuy3000
A great episode. I was laughing all the way through. Good to see Lrrr watching Friends, a Fry/Leela scene, Kiff without Zapp, and the plot was great. Weaver did a good job.
Overall: Fab episode.

FryGuy3000 gave 5 points
08.04.2002

#38 by Fry/Flexo Fan
A good episode, particularly enjoyable for Lucy Lui's cameo and the ending narated by Docter Zoidberg. The main plot, with Bender and the Planet Express ship, does wear a bit thin a little too early on the episode, but the 'Daisy, Daisy'sequence was a good start. The best bit for me, however, was Leela wishing Fry a happy Valentine's Day...maybe some day they will become more than just friends after all.

Fry/Flexo Fan gave 4 points
13.04.2002

#39 by Ryan
I don't know if this replaces "Luck of the Fryish" as my favorite Futurama episode or not. Visually, this episode was stunning, with simply gorgeous 3D animation blended with the 2D about as well as is possible. I agree Sigourney Weaver did a good job on the ship, though I didn't recognize her voice at first. The episode was chock-full of good gags and, like the best Futuramas, really had heart (no pun intended). The characters were more believable and realistic than usual; hopefully this is a sign of things to come. Overall a great episode. It's sad that Fox has mishandled the show so badly that their only solution is to cancel it; Futurama continues to realize its potential and get even better.

Ryan gave 5 points
15.04.2002

#40 by Shawn peterburg
Loved it.

Shawn peterburg gave 5 points
23.04.2002


Page: [1] [2] [3] - 4 - [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14]

add a review


back to the overview

 

Legal notice: "Futurama" TM and copyright FOX, its related entities and the Curiosity Company. All rights reserved. Any reproduction, duplication or distribution of these materials in any form is expressly prohibited. Disclaimer: As a fan page, this web site and its content are not authorized by FOX.