Follow GotFuturama on Twitter and Facebook!

   
Can't Get Enough Futurama! Happy Fry
Can't get enough Futurama - morefuturama
Futurama Information
»  Futurama News
»  Articles
»  Episode Guide
»  Character Bios
»  Encyclopedia
»  Episode Capsules
»  Freeze Frame
»  Comic Capsules
»  Futurama FAQ
»  Futurama Staff
»  Lists & References
»  Merchandise
»  TV Listings
»  Web News
»  Futurama Links
»  What's Futurama
»  Behind the Scenes
Futurama Multimedia
»  Ascii Art
»  Sounds & Quotes
»  Fan 3D Art
»  Animation & Video
»  Frame Grabs
»  Guitar Tabs
»  Nokia Stuff
»  Original Scans
»  Other Sounds
»  Promo Pics
Interactive
»  Alien Codecs
»  Comic Reviews
»  Episode Reviews
»  Episode Trivia
»  Random Trivia
»  Fan Art
»  Fan Fiction
»  Futurama Chat
»  Guest Book
»  Message Board
Futurama Desktop
»  Futurama Fonts
»  Icons & Cursors
»  ICQ+ Scheme
»  PocketPC Themes
»  Screen Savers
»  Software
»  Wallpapers
»  Winamp Skins
Futurama Games
»  CGEF Games
»  Official Game
»  Flash Games
»  Game Addons
»  Submitted Games
»  Guess the Pic!
Contact
»  Privacy Statement

   Buddies:
  Planet Express Employee Lounge - The Futurama Message Board
  The Infosphere - Futurama Wiki
  The Futurama Point
  


   Support:
  



Episode Reviews


Short Summary

The Day the Earth Stood Stupid
First aired 02/18/01
Rank: 34/124
Reviews: 175
Rating: 88%

Flying brains with the power to turn everybody stupid invade earth. Nibbler's race, the brains' nemesis, nominates Fry - immune to their attacks - as the one to save humanity.
 


add a review

Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] - 5 - [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18]
#41 by Crocodile Joe
It was good compared to other series 3 episodes, but may I say that series 1 and 2 are by far THE BEST! Therefore, this only gets a 3.

Crocodile Joe gave 3 points
24.04.2003

#42 by utah sanchez
Seems you either love it or you hate it, but this is one of my top five. I didn't stop laughing the whole way through and although Nibbler's character evolution is totally stupid, if you take the episode on it's own terms, you will be seduced by it. Flawless.

utah sanchez gave 5 points
25.04.2003

#43 by LthrBear
Long live the Hypno-toad. I really liked this one.

LthrBear gave 5 points
08.05.2003

#44 by Futurama=finals cure
Man, people really need to chill and appreciate the versatility of Futurama's storylines...flying brains, hypnotoads, and Fry saving the universe...things like these make the jokes keep coming. Great episode!



Futurama=finals cure gave 5 points
23.05.2003

#45 by Zack
And the winner of the grand prize is... The Hypno Toad.

(Bowowowowowowowow) Hypno..Toad...Hypno... Toad... Hypno... Toad clap clap clap

Die all that think this is a bad episode, for hypno-toad made it the best. I wish to see hypno-toad in future episodes, preferably all of them. Thank u and by the way.. HYPNO TOAD


Zack gave 5 points
23.05.2003

#46 by Dirty Jack
There are a few quotes of which I would like to resite
1. Fry: Quick Leela help me think of something
Leela:Duuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu
2. Big Brain: Yes I am the greetest!
now I will leave for no rason.
Any way, a script with about as much info shoved into it as barito. I must add even though it's been quoted by everyone in these reveiws....Hypno Toad....! In short it was simply fun to watch

Dirty Jack gave 5 points
26.05.2003

#47 by Jenna
GREAT! MY cute boyfriend Fry save the World ^^! I like this episode :D!

Jenna gave 5 points
27.05.2003

#48 by tanner g.
not so great episode. nibbler talking was good.people becoming stupid was okay.favorite line:i'm here to kick your a**

tanner g. gave 2 points
31.05.2003

#49 by anonymousbob
I didn't think this episode was all that hot.

It had its good parts:
- Fry: "People said I was dumb, but I proved them!"
- Leela translating Nibbler was funny in how extreme it was: "you go on to say..." -- totally clowning bad TV.
- Fry and the bird with the megaphone was the biggest laugh of this episode.
- The way fry hits the bookcase and they way it falls on him is very funny -- it kind of reminds me of the timing in Family Guy but it works.

But then there was the not-so-good:
- Zoidberg's dance was funny was funny but the pet show opening scene just went on too long and it ran out of steam. A lot of mediocre jokes (an afghan made of an afghan -- come on) and overused jokes: the hypno-tode, and Bender whipping Zoidberg.
- All the characters acting stupid could have been really funny, but it was just... well, stupid.
- The Nibblonians were just kind of stupid. None of that was funny. That whole part was basically exposition. If an episode needs to spend that much time to explain itself, it's either overly convoluted, or there's no real logic behind it and they have to come up with *some* kind of explanation that usually takes the form of a long-winded scene like that.
- The end, the brain trapping Fry and Leela in the different books wasn't funny. It's one of those things that might seem like a good idea when they came up with it, but it just fell flat.

I thought this was a sub-par episode. It's not bad, I'm giving it a 3 and I think that shows what a quality show Futurama is: that this episode is one of the poorer ones -- one of the problems with setting the bar that high: shows like this one disappoint.

anonymousbob gave 3 points
08.06.2003

#50 by swlliimeecwietuwe
meesa thinky theesa eesa good eppiezote!

swlliimeecwietuwe gave 4 points
10.06.2003


Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] - 5 - [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18]

add a review


back to the overview

 

Legal notice: "Futurama" TM and copyright FOX, its related entities and the Curiosity Company. All rights reserved. Any reproduction, duplication or distribution of these materials in any form is expressly prohibited. Disclaimer: As a fan page, this web site and its content are not authorized by FOX.