Follow GotFuturama on Twitter and Facebook!

   
Can't Get Enough Futurama! Happy Fry
Can't get enough Futurama - morefuturama
Futurama Information
»  Futurama News
»  Articles
»  Episode Guide
»  Character Bios
»  Encyclopedia
»  Episode Capsules
»  Freeze Frame
»  Comic Capsules
»  Futurama FAQ
»  Futurama Staff
»  Lists & References
»  Merchandise
»  TV Listings
»  Web News
»  Futurama Links
»  What's Futurama
»  Behind the Scenes
Futurama Multimedia
»  Ascii Art
»  Sounds & Quotes
»  Fan 3D Art
»  Animation & Video
»  Frame Grabs
»  Guitar Tabs
»  Nokia Stuff
»  Original Scans
»  Other Sounds
»  Promo Pics
Interactive
»  Alien Codecs
»  Comic Reviews
»  Episode Reviews
»  Episode Trivia
»  Random Trivia
»  Fan Art
»  Fan Fiction
»  Futurama Chat
»  Guest Book
»  Message Board
Futurama Desktop
»  Futurama Fonts
»  Icons & Cursors
»  ICQ+ Scheme
»  PocketPC Themes
»  Screen Savers
»  Software
»  Wallpapers
»  Winamp Skins
Futurama Games
»  CGEF Games
»  Official Game
»  Flash Games
»  Game Addons
»  Submitted Games
»  Guess the Pic!
Contact
»  Privacy Statement

   Buddies:
  Planet Express Employee Lounge - The Futurama Message Board
  The Infosphere - Futurama Wiki
  The Futurama Point
  


   Support:
  



Episode Reviews


Short Summary

A Big Piece of Garbage
First aired 05/11/99
Rank: 52/124
Reviews: 130
Rating: 84%

In an effort to beat Wernstrom at a scientist contest, Professor Farnsworth creates a smell-o-scope. Ridiculed at first, he uses it to detect a flying ball of garbage hurtling towards earth.
 


add a review

Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] - 6 - [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13]
#51 by Dangerous Dave
I love this episode because its one of the first ones i ever saw and also the very first one i downloaded. When ever i think of futurama i think of this episode. I really like it becasue it gives so much information about the year 3000 on earth, instead of them running around some abstract planet with some crazy plot.

I personally think that this episode is a classic and i will keep watching it again and again whenever i feel the need for some futurama.

I wrote this a few weeks after the last episode in season five. Theres no more episodes , arhg

Dangerous Dave gave 5 points
25.08.2003

#52 by Bender3000
#49futuramastinks(on the previous page)why are you even on this page if you think futurama stinks. This was a great episode!I don't know who is more stupid fox or you.

Bender3000 gave 5 points
27.08.2003

#53 by Brian
This is corny but hilarious.
Best line:
Mayor Poopenmeyer: And for outstanding bravery, I present this Glemmy award to Professor Hubert Farnsworth, which we confinscated from Wernstrom, after it became apparent that he was a Jackass

Brian gave 5 points
28.08.2003

#54 by dr_wily
Farnsworth can hold his own, and for all you shallow guys out there it was excellent satire and commentary on how we treat garbage.. great episode

dr_wily gave 5 points
16.09.2003

#55 by Chris D
The most funniest modern day jokes plus the look of the future. Matt keeps coming up with more and more funnier jokes I really think he could go into ten seasons!

Chris D gave 4 points
31.10.2003

#56 by The Lamp Incident
I can't believe more people didn't mention Fry's reaction to the garbage ball! Seriously, I must have rewound and watched that on the DVD about 25 times in a row at least 10 times. That is truly a noise of greatness. The timer part also rules. Also, just the part in the video where they're playing that same music when the porno starts up...oh I won't get into detail on that. By far the best one of the first season. And as far as the Bart Simpson joke, I found David Cohen comment on the commentary funnier than the joke itself..."How did we ever get permission to use that sound clip?"

The Lamp Incident gave 5 points
06.02.2004

#57 by humorbot 5.0
i thought this was ok.

wernstrum~"in thery yes, but you'll never find a crew to go on a misionso suisidly dangerous"

farnsworth then looks at the crew

BENDER~ "oh crap"


humorbot 5.0 gave 4 points
14.02.2004

#58 by Form 9d , NSO
We want to tell you our opinion about this episode. We watched it in our English lesson, because we had the topic environment.
This is our favourite episode. It is just great how Matt Groening showed the spirit of the 20th century and how it is going to destroy the world suffocating under mountains of garbage. We also liked the competition between Warnstroem and Prof. Farnsworth. That showed in a funny way how people compete for a bit of glory and acknowledgement. The insertion of the Simpsons made the whole episode round of.
It was quite a good thought to think of Armageddon and to change the episode into a Futurama-like failure you can laugh about.

Form 9d, Nelly-Sachs-Highschool, Berlin

Form 9d , NSO gave 5 points
17.02.2004

#59 by Beowulf
Fantastic

Beowulf gave 5 points
08.04.2004

#60 by Psychotic Ape
one of the best of the first season. the garbage crisis and the bomb timer were great

Psychotic Ape gave 5 points
22.04.2004


Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] - 6 - [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13]

add a review


back to the overview

 

Legal notice: "Futurama" TM and copyright FOX, its related entities and the Curiosity Company. All rights reserved. Any reproduction, duplication or distribution of these materials in any form is expressly prohibited. Disclaimer: As a fan page, this web site and its content are not authorized by FOX.