Follow GotFuturama on Twitter and Facebook!

   
Can't Get Enough Futurama! Happy Fry
Can't get enough Futurama - morefuturama
Futurama Information
»  Futurama News
»  Articles
»  Episode Guide
»  Character Bios
»  Encyclopedia
»  Episode Capsules
»  Freeze Frame
»  Comic Capsules
»  Futurama FAQ
»  Futurama Staff
»  Lists & References
»  Merchandise
»  TV Listings
»  Web News
»  Futurama Links
»  What's Futurama
»  Behind the Scenes
Futurama Multimedia
»  Ascii Art
»  Sounds & Quotes
»  Fan 3D Art
»  Animation & Video
»  Frame Grabs
»  Guitar Tabs
»  Nokia Stuff
»  Original Scans
»  Other Sounds
»  Promo Pics
Interactive
»  Alien Codecs
»  Comic Reviews
»  Episode Reviews
»  Episode Trivia
»  Random Trivia
»  Fan Art
»  Fan Fiction
»  Futurama Chat
»  Guest Book
»  Message Board
Futurama Desktop
»  Futurama Fonts
»  Icons & Cursors
»  ICQ+ Scheme
»  PocketPC Themes
»  Screen Savers
»  Software
»  Wallpapers
»  Winamp Skins
Futurama Games
»  CGEF Games
»  Official Game
»  Flash Games
»  Game Addons
»  Submitted Games
»  Guess the Pic!
Contact
»  Privacy Statement

   Buddies:
  Planet Express Employee Lounge - The Futurama Message Board
  The Infosphere - Futurama Wiki
  The Futurama Point
  


   Support:
  



Episode Reviews


Short Summary

The Duh-Vinci Code
First aired 07/15/10
Rank: 92/124
Reviews: 159
Rating: 76%

The crew races to future Rome to unearth the shocking secret of Leonardo da Vinci.
 


add a review

Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] - 6 - [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16]
#51 by Jerms
FINALLY - a solid episode that could've been pulled from earlier seasons. For people complaining about Fry's intelligence level, really?!? What show have you been watching all this time? It's been pretty well established that Fry is as close to retarded as he can be while still (somewhat) functioning. If the new season continues like this, it'll turn out great.

Jerms gave 5 points
16.07.2010

#52 by Rob
"Oh my god!"

What part of this episode is funny? This is the saddest thing I've ever seen.

What did they do to Futurama!?

Rob gave 1 point
16.07.2010

#53 by Stoney
to "#45 by Jfroneb1" the 'mile deep' club was referring to 'the mile high club' which is a club you belong to if you have sex with someone in an aeroplane for example since you are a metaphorical mile above the ground (most times more) and since they where far under ground he was asking her if she wanted to join the "mile deep" club...

Anyway this episode was awesome. And I think that they have opted to ignore the relationship conclusions they made between fyr and leela to get back to that cat and mouse game they had before end of the movies. they could however have acheived that in better ways.

Loved the episode.

Stoney gave 5 points
16.07.2010

#54 by Finally
The best episode of the season by far, in my opinion. This was a good example of how to do parody inoffensively: I didn't mind the (extremely) dated pop culture references because they were just a starting point for the overall plot.

Liked:
- People stayed in character

- There was a cohesive plot, with an actual story arc

- The writers didn't feel compelled to reference the Da Vinci Code excessively, and the Professor had a legitimate reason to be interested in Da Vinci

- The jokes were often clever (I was cool to the hammer/nail thing until I saw it referenced again at the end, quite well)

Problems:
- The writers continued a problem I had with the movies, which is that the jokes' timing seemed off. They appeared almost frantic, wtih too many jokes for the punchline to sink in. The show could use more editing, removing the sub-par efforts and letting the plot play out more easily. This was even more apparently when followed with the well-timed Roswell episode.

- The overall pacing seemed off, with the show unsure if it should go for a full-blown Da Vinci Code-style mystery or the planet plot. The result was that the exposition was rushed and the first half seemed to be strained so they could get to the "payoff" of the planet in the second half.

- Fry wasn't necessarily "too dumb", but the show insisted on beating us over the head with the idea. The game show was enough to bring up the subject, no need to make it overly obvious

These are relatively minor concerns compared with what the show got right... I'll be more than happy if it stays at this level.

Finally gave 4 points
17.07.2010

#55 by Humor Bot 5.0
Good to see the Space Pope

Humor Bot 5.0 gave 5 points
17.07.2010

#56 by Nemo
There were a few good jokes, but this is the first time ive nearly fallen asleep while watching Futurama. This show was better off cancelled.

Nemo gave 1 point
17.07.2010

#57 by BigFuturamaFan
Best episode of the new season by far. The other episodes are good too, but this one was the best yet imo.

Happy to see that many people like this one, and that this one is the best rated one yet of the new season.

I give it a 10/10. It's funny and the ending is very emotional.

BigFuturamaFan gave 5 points
17.07.2010

#58 by Wilburfarce
What a great episode. If I didn't know better, id say that this was made during the original run. exceptional!

as for the buffoons that gave this a 1; have you ever been a futurama fan? are you trying to be elitist? seriously, if you didn't like this episode, then you never really liked futurama like many of us tried and true fans.

Wilburfarce gave 5 points
17.07.2010

#59 by Dr, Z
Wow, I had pretty much written off new Futurama because of how mediocre episodes 3 and 4 were but this episode restored my faith in the Futurama reboot. Granted, it wasn't as good as Futurama in its prime but man, this was a funny episode. The writing is better and all I think they have to do is remove pop-culture references and sex humor and Futurama will be back on its feet again. Most of the Fry bashing didn't sit well with me because I don't think he's that dumb, but it was good to see the angry, money grubbing, jerky bender again. Cheers to the rest of the season, lets hope it is this good or even better.

(Maybe they can start delivering stuff again?)

Dr, Z gave 4 points
17.07.2010

#60 by Magical Hamster
This was a mad, mad, mad episode. The only glaring problem was that they tried to wrap up the plot too quickly. They could have easily cut out a minute or so of "the search" to give Davinchi a better death then a fallen gear. Other than that, though, great. It made me laugh and it tickled my...thing that uses imagination...thing.

Magical Hamster gave 4 points
17.07.2010


Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] - 6 - [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16]

add a review


back to the overview

 

Legal notice: "Futurama" TM and copyright FOX, its related entities and the Curiosity Company. All rights reserved. Any reproduction, duplication or distribution of these materials in any form is expressly prohibited. Disclaimer: As a fan page, this web site and its content are not authorized by FOX.