Follow GotFuturama on Twitter and Facebook!

   
Can't Get Enough Futurama! Happy Fry
Can't get enough Futurama - morefuturama
Futurama Information
»  Futurama News
»  Articles
»  Episode Guide
»  Character Bios
»  Encyclopedia
»  Episode Capsules
»  Freeze Frame
»  Comic Capsules
»  Futurama FAQ
»  Futurama Staff
»  Lists & References
»  Merchandise
»  TV Listings
»  Web News
»  Futurama Links
»  What's Futurama
»  Behind the Scenes
Futurama Multimedia
»  Ascii Art
»  Sounds & Quotes
»  Fan 3D Art
»  Animation & Video
»  Frame Grabs
»  Guitar Tabs
»  Nokia Stuff
»  Original Scans
»  Other Sounds
»  Promo Pics
Interactive
»  Alien Codecs
»  Comic Reviews
»  Episode Reviews
»  Episode Trivia
»  Random Trivia
»  Fan Art
»  Fan Fiction
»  Futurama Chat
»  Guest Book
»  Message Board
Futurama Desktop
»  Futurama Fonts
»  Icons & Cursors
»  ICQ+ Scheme
»  PocketPC Themes
»  Screen Savers
»  Software
»  Wallpapers
»  Winamp Skins
Futurama Games
»  CGEF Games
»  Official Game
»  Flash Games
»  Game Addons
»  Submitted Games
»  Guess the Pic!
Contact
»  Privacy Statement

   Buddies:
  Planet Express Employee Lounge - The Futurama Message Board
  The Infosphere - Futurama Wiki
  The Futurama Point
  


   Support:
  



Episode Reviews


Short Summary

Neutopia
First aired 06/23/11
Rank: 109/124
Reviews: 140
Rating: 69%

The crew crash-lands on a planet where gender is unknown.
 


add a review

Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] - 6 - [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14]
#51 by ZyncSaucier
This Episode was good. Not quite up to the hype the commercials led on to, and a little awkward, but hilarious at the end. I think a 4 is an appropriate rating

ZyncSaucier gave 4 points
28.06.2011

#52 by Rich B
Starts off strong but the episode quickly loses momentum. The gender stereotyping jokes were done much better in "Amazon Women in the Mood", and here, many of these jokes were cringe-worthy.
The humor becomes a lot more creative in the second half when gender is quite literally made a non-issue, but this part is short lived.
Overall, it had quite a few strong jokes, but a lot of misses, and the core storyline felt rushed and unfocused.
Also, since the move to Comedy Central, the disconcerting trend of gross-out jokes for shock value continues. I'm not against this type of humor (long time fan of South Park) but it still feels extremely out of place and this moments are generally more irksome than funny.

Rich B gave 3 points
30.06.2011

#53 by Kettle
funny from start to finish

Kettle gave 5 points
01.07.2011

#54 by Fanturama
I was pretty diappointed with this episode.
The story could have been done with any tv series and was at times random (Zapp suddenly appearing).
There were very few character based jokes, most of them were very cheap clichees.

Futurama has great characters so they should go back to using them!

Fanturama gave 1 point
01.07.2011

#55 by James
This was no good. IMO here are some pros and cons from the episode.

Pros
- Better premiere episode then Rebirth.
- Episode was better then the first five episodes of the previous season.
- Was funny at times.

Cons
- Relying on pop culture too much. References to the office and Desperate Housewives. This IMO goes agaisnt futurama. (However, liked Bender's T2 reference.)

-Felt tired. Premise reminded me too much of two greats Amazon Women In The Mood and Where No Fan Has Gone Before. Melvar and basketball fundamentals come to mind. The show has done this before. Also, gender swapping reminded me of mind swapping seen in Prisoner of Benda (another great.)

- Gross out humor overload. Is the less restrictions on Comedy Central going to this shows head?
- Pacing felt rushed.

-Overall, 2/5 Benderama was way better and should have been the premiere episode.


James gave 2 points
01.07.2011

#56 by Max
I don't know why some of you are giving this episode a 1! What the hell is so bad about it. Some of you are ignorant and so stingy. Cut this episode some slack, it was a step up from some of the episodes from last season.


Max gave 5 points
02.07.2011

#57 by Treg
Just dumb. Just full of tired old cliches about men and women. And the joke that the planet express ship turned into airplane with propellers, yet still flies into space like it always does, was not funny to me at all.. just incredibly dumb. Too dumb to be funny for me. Lame.

Treg gave 2 points
02.07.2011

#58 by parabox
Some excellent jokes were in the mix (3-month Mercury, etc) and a hilarious new villain voiced by Dave Herman, but it was brought down a bit by some unnecessary ocean-crudeness and a few gender jokes that simply weren't up to the level of this show.

parabox gave 4 points
02.07.2011

#59 by George
Can't believe this episode is reviewed so poorly, by so many.

George gave 5 points
05.07.2011

#60 by Rachel D.
I suppose I should expect a crude, low-brow episode now and then, since the show is on Comedy Central now. Please, writers, don't think that you have to turn the show into Family Guy or South Park just because you can. I liked Futurama since the very first episode aired the very first time in 1999 and it makes me sad to see what is happening to it. If last season is any indication, they won't all be like this, I hope.

Rachel D. gave 2 points
07.07.2011


Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] - 6 - [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14]

add a review


back to the overview

 

Legal notice: "Futurama" TM and copyright FOX, its related entities and the Curiosity Company. All rights reserved. Any reproduction, duplication or distribution of these materials in any form is expressly prohibited. Disclaimer: As a fan page, this web site and its content are not authorized by FOX.