Follow GotFuturama on Twitter and Facebook!

   
Can't Get Enough Futurama! Happy Fry
Can't get enough Futurama - morefuturama
Futurama Information
»  Futurama News
»  Articles
»  Episode Guide
»  Character Bios
»  Encyclopedia
»  Episode Capsules
»  Freeze Frame
»  Comic Capsules
»  Futurama FAQ
»  Futurama Staff
»  Lists & References
»  Merchandise
»  TV Listings
»  Web News
»  Futurama Links
»  What's Futurama
»  Behind the Scenes
Futurama Multimedia
»  Ascii Art
»  Sounds & Quotes
»  Fan 3D Art
»  Animation & Video
»  Frame Grabs
»  Guitar Tabs
»  Nokia Stuff
»  Original Scans
»  Other Sounds
»  Promo Pics
Interactive
»  Alien Codecs
»  Comic Reviews
»  Episode Reviews
»  Episode Trivia
»  Random Trivia
»  Fan Art
»  Fan Fiction
»  Futurama Chat
»  Guest Book
»  Message Board
Futurama Desktop
»  Futurama Fonts
»  Icons & Cursors
»  ICQ+ Scheme
»  PocketPC Themes
»  Screen Savers
»  Software
»  Wallpapers
»  Winamp Skins
Futurama Games
»  CGEF Games
»  Official Game
»  Flash Games
»  Game Addons
»  Submitted Games
»  Guess the Pic!
Contact
»  Privacy Statement

   Buddies:
  Planet Express Employee Lounge - The Futurama Message Board
  The Infosphere - Futurama Wiki
  The Futurama Point
  


   Support:
  



Episode Reviews


Short Summary

Jurassic Bark
First aired 11/17/02
Rank: 15/124
Reviews: 1477
Rating: 91%

Bender gets jealous when it looks like cloning will reunite Fry with his dog from the 20th century.
 


add a review

Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26] [27] [28] [29] [30] [31] [32] [33] [34] [35] [36] [37] [38] [39] [40] [41] [42] [43] [44] [45] [46] [47] [48] [49] [50] [51] [52] [53] [54] [55] [56] [57] [58] [59] [60] [61] [62] [63] [64] [65] [66] [67] [68] - 69 - [70] [71] [72] [73] [74] [75] [76] [77] [78] [79] [80] [81] [82] [83] [84] [85] [86] [87] [88] [89] [90] [91] [92] [93] [94] [95] [96] [97] [98] [99] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] [132] [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148]
#681 by pete punj
Sad as blazes. Superb stuff as usual. Prefer ones that don't make me cry so much.

However, is there some intentional joke about this dog-tragedy cartoon having been animated in Korea ?

pete punj gave 5 points
25.07.2004

#682 by M Dee
This is one which makes me sad. I will never watch it again. Trust me I wont!

M Dee gave 3 points
27.07.2004

#683 by Maniac
allright, here i go. this episode was the most emotionel episode ever and therefor one of the best, i got to say that i almost couldn't keep myself from crying during the last minute or so, a great story mixed up with some great (background) jokes, don't watch it if your a dog lover or an emotional type though

Maniac gave 5 points
28.07.2004

#684 by Peter
Oh my God!
thats incredible - I saw that episode yesterday evening and since then I cannot go back to normal life. I still hear that song and Seymour waiting for Fry. Crying like a baby and my wife too...
I came here to find if I'm insane but I'm not. God bless you all for sharing your feeling and bless writers to make me releasing such a big emotions....

All the best for all :-)

Peter gave 5 points
30.07.2004

#685 by Mark
This is my favorite episode. Reminds me a lot of me and my dog, and the loss I went through losing her.

Mark gave 5 points
31.07.2004

#686 by patrick
the song is called "i will wait for you" by connie francis. amazing episode

patrick gave 5 points
02.08.2004

#687 by John Smith
This episode is the saddest thing ever. I've seen movies with dogs and stuff and they always tend to make me sad, but this has gotten the strongest emotional response out of me of all time. I admit that I almost cried at the end, and I probably would have cried if my brother and sister weren't there. I guess with dogs and other animals, they evoke such strong emotions because they never stab you in the back, like people sometimes do. He just didn't understand why Fry didn't come back to him. He had nobody in the beginning, but Fry became his best and only friend, and he was so grateful and loyal. Life couldn't be better for him than that. Then he ended up with nobody again at the end. He just sat there because to his knowledge that's where Fry would come if he ever came back, and he couldn't be happy without Fry. Very sad. Man, I'm holding back tears just thinking about it. The first time I saw it, I had the worst day of my life. I kept trying to get my mind off it, but I couldn't. That night I went to bed hoping that in the morning I would feel better, but I didn't. It took weeks before I could think about it less, and those weeks were honestly hard for me because I love animals, and my first dog who was my best and first friend and was always there for me since I was like 3 years old had recently died. I still occasionally think about it and it makes me sad every time. I think about it less now, but then I come across something like this website and it all comes back to me. I don't think I will ever be able to forget this episode. That last scene is something I would normally walk away from because I know how I'm going to feel at the end, but since this is Futurama, I thought something good would happen. But nothing happened and it killed me. I would have preffered a number of different endings. Maybe they could show the whole sad scene at the end and then have like a rewind effect and only a few days after the dog started waiting for Fry, we could see the PlanEx ship come down from the sky and Fry could come out and reunite, and the dog could follow fry around in the future like nibbler does for leela. That would still be as powerful, but it would be a happy ending, and it could open up possibilities for future episodes. But we all know that's not going to happen. Another ending would be one where Fry wants to go back in time but the proffessor says that's impossible and explains that when they went back bafore, it never happened. So Fry could spend the rest of his years trying to invent a time machine, and he eventually does and reunites and dies of old age with his dog. That would only be marginally happier i guess. Or it could have been a What-If machine thing where Fry could have been watching what if he hadn't gotten frozen with his dog, with seymour sitting on his lap. Then they couldve shown when Fry got frozen but seymour couldve snuck in the machine, and it would make sense because he was always following Fry everywhere. Oh well. I can never watch this episode again.

I guess this episode is so powerful because of the contrast between the good times at the beginning, and the saddest thing possible (death) at the end. Also because of the anticipation, hoping that Fry can be with his dog again, and hoping seymour can be with his only friend again. It's okay if an pet dies because people can get over it, they haven't had the animal their whole life and they knew it was coming. But animals don't understand death or deception, and they don't know what to do when their owners die or abandon them, because in most cases, the pet lives with the same family their entire life. Sorry this is so long, but maybe other animal lovers will understand that I have to write this. Maybe not. Maybe I'm just emo.

John Smith gave 1 point
03.08.2004

#688 by Grace
This is by far the best antimated episode I have ever seen. Not only were the writers able to evoke such strong emotions in 20 minutes, but the story has permanently impacted my life. All Seymour wanted was to see Fry one more time ... and it never will happen. I will never forget Seymour.

Grace gave 5 points
04.08.2004

#689 by matt
this episode made me sob.

matt gave 5 points
05.08.2004

#690 by Billy West worshiper
They really know how to get to ya. They did it in luck of the fryish.

Billy West worshiper gave 5 points
06.08.2004


Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26] [27] [28] [29] [30] [31] [32] [33] [34] [35] [36] [37] [38] [39] [40] [41] [42] [43] [44] [45] [46] [47] [48] [49] [50] [51] [52] [53] [54] [55] [56] [57] [58] [59] [60] [61] [62] [63] [64] [65] [66] [67] [68] - 69 - [70] [71] [72] [73] [74] [75] [76] [77] [78] [79] [80] [81] [82] [83] [84] [85] [86] [87] [88] [89] [90] [91] [92] [93] [94] [95] [96] [97] [98] [99] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] [132] [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148]

add a review


back to the overview

 

Legal notice: "Futurama" TM and copyright FOX, its related entities and the Curiosity Company. All rights reserved. Any reproduction, duplication or distribution of these materials in any form is expressly prohibited. Disclaimer: As a fan page, this web site and its content are not authorized by FOX.