Follow GotFuturama on Twitter and Facebook!

   
Can't Get Enough Futurama! Happy Fry
Can't get enough Futurama - morefuturama
Futurama Information
»  Futurama News
»  Articles
»  Episode Guide
»  Character Bios
»  Encyclopedia
»  Episode Capsules
»  Freeze Frame
»  Comic Capsules
»  Futurama FAQ
»  Futurama Staff
»  Lists & References
»  Merchandise
»  TV Listings
»  Web News
»  Futurama Links
»  What's Futurama
»  Behind the Scenes
Futurama Multimedia
»  Ascii Art
»  Sounds & Quotes
»  Fan 3D Art
»  Animation & Video
»  Frame Grabs
»  Guitar Tabs
»  Nokia Stuff
»  Original Scans
»  Other Sounds
»  Promo Pics
Interactive
»  Alien Codecs
»  Comic Reviews
»  Episode Reviews
»  Episode Trivia
»  Random Trivia
»  Fan Art
»  Fan Fiction
»  Futurama Chat
»  Guest Book
»  Message Board
Futurama Desktop
»  Futurama Fonts
»  Icons & Cursors
»  ICQ+ Scheme
»  PocketPC Themes
»  Screen Savers
»  Software
»  Wallpapers
»  Winamp Skins
Futurama Games
»  CGEF Games
»  Official Game
»  Flash Games
»  Game Addons
»  Submitted Games
»  Guess the Pic!
Contact
»  Privacy Statement

   Buddies:
  Planet Express Employee Lounge - The Futurama Message Board
  The Infosphere - Futurama Wiki
  The Futurama Point
  


   Support:
  



Episode Reviews


Short Summary

The Deep South
First aired 04/16/00
Rank: 46/124
Reviews: 175
Rating: 85%

The crew discovers merfolk living in Atlanta, a fabled city that sank into the ocean centuries ago. Fry faces a decision - should he go back home with his friends or remain with the mermaid he's fallen in love with?
 


add a review

Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] - 7 - [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18]
#61 by CAB
A top-5 episode, without a doubt. Perhaps the best Zoidberg episode. Not a single misstep. One of the truly great things about this ep is that the entire PE crew gets great lines.

"The Magician?"

CAB gave 5 points
12.08.2003

#62 by Chalmers
Living in Atlanta since 1982, I can really appreciate the humor of the episode. Congrats to the artists - a great comic rendition of downtown Atlanta and Hartsfield airport. Your map of North Georgia is better than most of the graphics on local news shows. Nice touch with Lakes Allatoona, SIdney Lanier, I-285 Loop and major highways. One of the very funny episodes - or it just might be the caffeine.


Chalmers gave 5 points
12.08.2003

#63 by Dan
I have to second the comments about this episode made by Atlanta residents - the MOST accurate parody of this city that I have ever seen/heard...and I'm saying that as someone who loves it here! The idea of turnign the city into an island to truly be a tourist destination and the fact that a Ted Turner statue sinks the city are brilliant strokes. I just want to know how the writer knows my city so well!

Dan gave 5 points
12.08.2003

#64 by futurama watcher
this episode was awsome i liked the comments about when leela kepped on catching boots and dr. zoideberg's lines were hilarious i like actually every bit of it my eyes were glued to the t.v. the whole time i didnt move at all i would give it a 10 if the ratings went that high

futurama watcher gave 5 points
14.08.2003

#65 by MeLuvBender
This was a hillarious episode!Zoidberg rocks!^____^
Hermes was funny,too ^__^
"My manwich!"

"Careful,Fry,the flag might be poisinous"

"Woohwoohwoohwoohwooh(or something like that)"

"Look at me,everyone!I'm Zoidberg the homeowner!"

Long live Zoidy!

MeLuvBender gave 5 points
24.08.2003

#66 by j_ohanley
The opening was great, just the Planet Express crew zinging each other. Then, except for the a few spots in the last five minutes, the laughs were non stop.

Zoidberg: Be careful Fry, I think that flag might be poisonous.

j_ohanley gave 5 points
26.08.2003

#67 by Ike
This classic episode might be my favorite Futurama episode of all time. Non-stop hilarity. Maybe it helped the show for Fry to have a "love interest" and not to be obsessed with Leela all the time--why do all shows, including sitcoms and even satires like Futurama, have to get the main characters into absurd romances with one another? Is it the last refuge of a lazy writing team? Not that Fry-Leela always doesn't work ("Time Keeps on Slippin'" is another favorite of mine).

Ike gave 5 points
30.08.2003

#68 by Brian
This episode was absolutely awesome.
The scene when Fry and Umbriel realize that due to no vagina, they can't have sex, was a little too adult in my opinion.
But it was still funny..

Brian gave 5 points
30.08.2003

#69 by Chip K
Definitely a top 5 episode. Excellent ending.

Chip K gave 5 points
11.09.2003

#70 by The Purpletraitor
A very high-quality episode. There's not a lot I can say about the plot or jokes that hasn't already been said or is worth saying, but one thing I would like to comment on is that the writers did a fantastic job in this episode of keeping all the characters believable.
Fry's stupidity and determination was spot on as was the Professor's combination of scientific knowledge and senility (and his obsession with sepositories!), Zoidberg's 'homeowner' sub-plot and the fact that no-one cared when he was going to stay behind, Amy's bitchy comment about Leela's boots and Hermes' love of bureaucracy.
Also, special mention to Bender who was absolutely on fire during the fishing scene ("Quit exaggerating, Fry!", "It wasn't there when I took your umbrella," "Honk if Bender is great" etc.). But also, in the scene where the crew bid Fry farewell, Bender's line is simply "I'll miss you buddy," and sobbing, which I thought was a brilliant touch when they could've just crammed another joke in there. It really makes Bender seem genuine in this episode.

Not even the positive representation of Coca-Cola could ruin this baby!

The Purpletraitor gave 5 points
15.09.2003


Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] - 7 - [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18]

add a review


back to the overview

 

Legal notice: "Futurama" TM and copyright FOX, its related entities and the Curiosity Company. All rights reserved. Any reproduction, duplication or distribution of these materials in any form is expressly prohibited. Disclaimer: As a fan page, this web site and its content are not authorized by FOX.