Follow GotFuturama on Twitter and Facebook!

   
Can't Get Enough Futurama! Happy Fry
Can't get enough Futurama - morefuturama
Futurama Information
»  Futurama News
»  Articles
»  Episode Guide
»  Character Bios
»  Encyclopedia
»  Episode Capsules
»  Freeze Frame
»  Comic Capsules
»  Futurama FAQ
»  Futurama Staff
»  Lists & References
»  Merchandise
»  TV Listings
»  Web News
»  Futurama Links
»  What's Futurama
»  Behind the Scenes
Futurama Multimedia
»  Ascii Art
»  Sounds & Quotes
»  Fan 3D Art
»  Animation & Video
»  Frame Grabs
»  Guitar Tabs
»  Nokia Stuff
»  Original Scans
»  Other Sounds
»  Promo Pics
Interactive
»  Alien Codecs
»  Comic Reviews
»  Episode Reviews
»  Episode Trivia
»  Random Trivia
»  Fan Art
»  Fan Fiction
»  Futurama Chat
»  Guest Book
»  Message Board
Futurama Desktop
»  Futurama Fonts
»  Icons & Cursors
»  ICQ+ Scheme
»  PocketPC Themes
»  Screen Savers
»  Software
»  Wallpapers
»  Winamp Skins
Futurama Games
»  CGEF Games
»  Official Game
»  Flash Games
»  Game Addons
»  Submitted Games
»  Guess the Pic!
Contact
»  Privacy Statement

   Buddies:
  Planet Express Employee Lounge - The Futurama Message Board
  The Infosphere - Futurama Wiki
  The Futurama Point
  


   Support:
  



Episode Reviews


Short Summary

I Dated A Robot
First aired 05/13/01
Rank: 113/124
Reviews: 182
Rating: 66%

Fry downloads Lucy Liu's personality from nappster.com and into a blank robot. As their relationship advances they get caught up in a conflict with 30th century moral standards.
 


add a review

Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] - 7 - [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19]
#61 by C131
Lucy... Liu...
Really... funny...

C131 gave 5 points
13.08.2003

#62 by ll
it sucks thank you

ll gave 1 point
01.09.2003

#63 by leaveemptyifunder13
The whole moral thing "you can't copy that, it's ours" was embarrassing, but the exploding vampire was great... "Blah, =BOOOM=" he he he... makes me laugh jus' thinkin' about it...

leaveemptyifunder13 gave 3 points
12.09.2003

#64 by Adam J. Giess
The Liu bots wern't very funney.

Adam J. Giess gave 2 points
14.09.2003

#65 by Thomas R
The early stuff where Fry's living out his dreams about the future were kind of neat. Oddly enough I'd say the Lucy Liu bot he originally created was also cute at times. The Madeline Albright parody was kind of cute. The Scary Door is a bit overrated.

There are some things though that seem like odd or misguided ideas. I actually kind of liked Lucy Liu on Ally McBeal. The character was kind of a stereotype, but she did it well. She was fairly funny in the role. She also did moderately okay when she guested on the X-Files in her pre-Ally McBeal days. So I think her voicing a guest character could have been fine.

The problem is Lucy Liu as herself seems to be not all that interesting. Or in least herself as presented here was kind of ehh. The main thing she has going for her then is her looks. In animation this is generally not very relevant. It might have almost been better to have an ep where Lucy Liu instead voiced a guest character. Or just stuck with her as a silly robot creation. Then have Fry realize somehow it's love for him wasn't real. I imagine there could've even been ways to have that realization be funny.

Which leads to the other problem I have the more I see it. They seemed to show instead that the Liubot maybe did truly love him. At the very least it risked its life to save him. The reward for that heroism? A lecture on illegal downloading that ends with them deleting Liubot. The very end with Bender gave that a bit of a comic punch, but still in some ways its kind of annoying. Like those old stories where the white guy's minority girlfriend would conveniently die at the end so he's free to be with "real women" stories. Okay it's not that bad, but I didn't like that element anyway.

Thomas R gave 3 points
21.09.2003

#66 by Ptasiek
Great one! Especially the part when fried came in and started talking about new globe full of colors he saw also the scene with the guy hit by car. Generally great episode.

Ptasiek gave 5 points
25.09.2003

#67 by Cows Heart
It was pretty good. At least we saw more of the internet.

Cows Heart gave 3 points
26.09.2003

#68 by I LOVE THIS EPISODE!
People that are saying this episode must be on crack - this episode owns. So much witty and ironic stuff in this episode, brilliant job. The only thing that wasn't protrayed was Metallica heads - would have been more funnier to see Lars Ulrich's head talking about it. But overall a brilliant episode - GO SEE THIS ONE.

I LOVE THIS EPISODE! gave 5 points
26.09.2003

#69 by blackout_uk
Fantastic episode
"oh no she's stuck in a continuos loop....and he's an idiot" :)


blackout_uk gave 5 points
01.10.2003

#70 by andromache
It has some really funny moments, but the preachiness

andromache gave 2 points
17.10.2003


Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] - 7 - [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19]

add a review


back to the overview

 

Legal notice: "Futurama" TM and copyright FOX, its related entities and the Curiosity Company. All rights reserved. Any reproduction, duplication or distribution of these materials in any form is expressly prohibited. Disclaimer: As a fan page, this web site and its content are not authorized by FOX.