Follow GotFuturama on Twitter and Facebook!

   
Can't Get Enough Futurama! Happy Fry
Can't get enough Futurama - morefuturama
Futurama Information
»  Futurama News
»  Articles
»  Episode Guide
»  Character Bios
»  Encyclopedia
»  Episode Capsules
»  Freeze Frame
»  Comic Capsules
»  Futurama FAQ
»  Futurama Staff
»  Lists & References
»  Merchandise
»  TV Listings
»  Web News
»  Futurama Links
»  What's Futurama
»  Behind the Scenes
Futurama Multimedia
»  Ascii Art
»  Sounds & Quotes
»  Fan 3D Art
»  Animation & Video
»  Frame Grabs
»  Guitar Tabs
»  Nokia Stuff
»  Original Scans
»  Other Sounds
»  Promo Pics
Interactive
»  Alien Codecs
»  Comic Reviews
»  Episode Reviews
»  Episode Trivia
»  Random Trivia
»  Fan Art
»  Fan Fiction
»  Futurama Chat
»  Guest Book
»  Message Board
Futurama Desktop
»  Futurama Fonts
»  Icons & Cursors
»  ICQ+ Scheme
»  PocketPC Themes
»  Screen Savers
»  Software
»  Wallpapers
»  Winamp Skins
Futurama Games
»  CGEF Games
»  Official Game
»  Flash Games
»  Game Addons
»  Submitted Games
»  Guess the Pic!
Contact
»  Privacy Statement

   Buddies:
  Planet Express Employee Lounge - The Futurama Message Board
  The Infosphere - Futurama Wiki
  The Futurama Point
  


   Support:
  



Episode Reviews


Short Summary

Leela's Homeworld
First aired 02/17/02
Rank: 78/124
Reviews: 259
Rating: 80%

Bender and Professor Farnsworth decipher something far more rewarding for Leela, as Fry helps her discover some long-lost secrets about her background, including what happened to her parents.
 


add a review

Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] - 7 - [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26]
#61 by Myradon
I enjoyed this eppisode a great deal actualy, I tyhought the background was interesting, and the whole eppisode was very well written. What canI say, I'm an emmotional Sap.

The end Song was "Baby Love Child" by Pizzicato Fives

Myradon gave 5 points
10.04.2002

#62 by Jiri Kabrt
Probably realy best episode of this season.

Jiri Kabrt gave 5 points
13.04.2002

#63 by Heliotrope
A lovely new episode, i just finished watching it on Sky.
Some funny moments, especially around Bender and Farnsworh, a cute look from Fry at the end, and that song was nice!

Heliotrope gave 5 points
14.04.2002

#64 by Otis P Jivefunk
I love this episode, it's cool how in both "The Luck of the Fryrish" and "Leela's Homeworld", the secrets to their pasts lay underground. The animation was great, especially some of those camera angles and the lighting. The long shot chase scene with the muties tying to catch Leela looked awesome and reminded me of The Lion King. The story was engrossing even though the main secret was let out early, some really great Fry-Leela scenes and the humour was superb too.

Considering this is an emotional story driven episode I thought that the jokes were done brilliantly, the professor was ever funny and Benders get rich quick schemes helped lighten up the episode without getting mixed up with the emotional stuff. It was great to see the muties again and I enjoyed seeing more of were they lived. I'd say this episode was one of the best although not quite up to the standards of "The Luck of the Fryrish", some inconstancies and choppy flow let it down. Still an awesome episode that I'm glad they made early because it might never have been made otherwise.


Otis P Jivefunk gave 5 points
14.04.2002

#65 by Mike
I really wish I hadn't looked at the spoilers for this episode before I watched it. Before the US premiere, it never even occured to me that Leela was a mutant, and although it was kind of given away at the end of the first act, it still would have been a nice surprise.

Anyway, I don't think it was too bad an episode. I agree that there wasn't much humour in it, but I wouldn't say it was particularly duller than previous season four episodes up to now.

The toxic waste bit was good, and I liked the Professor's 'suspicious morons' line. :) Picking on that leg mutant was funny too. Apart from that, a lot of the other jokes fell flat, although compared to a lot of other episodes, it didn't seem like many were attempted.

This was definitely a story-led episode, which I usually tend to like, but there was just something about this one that made it a lot worse than 'Luck of the Fryrish' (although that IS possibly the best half-hour of television I've ever seen).

I thought the Bender sub-plot was pointless, and some parts dragged on too long, but on the plus side, it was great to see the mutants again. I really like the idea that Leela is a mutant, and although, like some people, I think the episode should have been aired nearer to the end, I suppose it's nice to have the 'relevation' episodes spaced out.

Before watching this episode I'd read that the last thirty seconds made beautiful TV, which I totally agree with. It's strange how the main plot stopped abruptly, though, after Leela found out about her parents.

Nice animation on Maurice's mouth, too. :)

Mike gave 3 points
14.04.2002

#66 by Riffraff
the direction of the plot was given away too early. The chasing scene was too long. The climax was an anti-climax.

Riffraff gave 1 point
16.04.2002

#67 by Fry/Flexo Fan
Wow...this was an amazing episode which, like 'Luck of the Fryish', had me in tears at the end. The final moments were extremely touching, and once again 'Futurama' is able to move us like no other show has ever done. Personnally I find the twist that Leela is a mutant a lot more satisfactory than her being an alien. I love love loved this episode - it is certainly the best of Season 4. What else could I give it but 5?

Fry/Flexo Fan gave 5 points
16.04.2002

#68 by PCC Fred
First, let's get the gripes out of the way. The first half of the episode is disjointed, and giving away the identity of Leela's parents after a few minutes just for the sake of that "camera looks up towards the stars, then quickly down to the sewers" gag was a bad move.
So why is it one of the best episodes ever? Firstly, it has a number of funny moments, like Amy's response to Leela winning the award from the Orphanarium - "Your parents must be so proud!", and Hermes tasting the toxic waste. Secondly, Fry does something smart (guessing the origin of the 'alien' note) for the second consecutive episode.
But the true greatness of this episode is in the last few minutes: the flashback of Leela's parents leaving her by the Orphanarium; the moment when Fry reveals them to Leela, and the montage of clips of Leela's parents watching over her as she grows up.
FOX may cancel the series, but it's episodes like this that'll keep me watching the re-runs/DVDs for years to come.

PCC Fred gave 5 points
17.04.2002

#69 by Slurm Addict
Evocative ending, great stuff.

Slurm Addict gave 5 points
20.04.2002

#70 by abacab
Ok ok it was not the funniest episode ever, but that's not the point. They tried to unveil the secret of Leela and they did it very good. They took more care of the story, the humor is set into the story like tiny raindrops, like the scene in the end where Bender let it rain into the huggings, like the big computer making glowing noses... The ending is brilliant, some kind of close-up on Leelas hard life and her evercaring parents, bringing her some cakes through the toilet is soooo cute. This is good humour! Not like those episodes where they forced the laughs out...

abacab gave 5 points
22.04.2002


Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] - 7 - [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26]

add a review


back to the overview

 

Legal notice: "Futurama" TM and copyright FOX, its related entities and the Curiosity Company. All rights reserved. Any reproduction, duplication or distribution of these materials in any form is expressly prohibited. Disclaimer: As a fan page, this web site and its content are not authorized by FOX.