Follow GotFuturama on Twitter and Facebook!

   
Can't Get Enough Futurama! Happy Fry
Can't get enough Futurama - morefuturama
Futurama Information
»  Futurama News
»  Articles
»  Episode Guide
»  Character Bios
»  Encyclopedia
»  Episode Capsules
»  Freeze Frame
»  Comic Capsules
»  Futurama FAQ
»  Futurama Staff
»  Lists & References
»  Merchandise
»  TV Listings
»  Web News
»  Futurama Links
»  What's Futurama
»  Behind the Scenes
Futurama Multimedia
»  Ascii Art
»  Sounds & Quotes
»  Fan 3D Art
»  Animation & Video
»  Frame Grabs
»  Guitar Tabs
»  Nokia Stuff
»  Original Scans
»  Other Sounds
»  Promo Pics
Interactive
»  Alien Codecs
»  Comic Reviews
»  Episode Reviews
»  Episode Trivia
»  Random Trivia
»  Fan Art
»  Fan Fiction
»  Futurama Chat
»  Guest Book
»  Message Board
Futurama Desktop
»  Futurama Fonts
»  Icons & Cursors
»  ICQ+ Scheme
»  PocketPC Themes
»  Screen Savers
»  Software
»  Wallpapers
»  Winamp Skins
Futurama Games
»  CGEF Games
»  Official Game
»  Flash Games
»  Game Addons
»  Submitted Games
»  Guess the Pic!
Contact
»  Privacy Statement

   Buddies:
  Planet Express Employee Lounge - The Futurama Message Board
  The Infosphere - Futurama Wiki
  The Futurama Point
  


   Support:
  



Episode Reviews


Short Summary

Jurassic Bark
First aired 11/17/02
Rank: 15/124
Reviews: 1477
Rating: 91%

Bender gets jealous when it looks like cloning will reunite Fry with his dog from the 20th century.
 


add a review

Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26] [27] [28] [29] [30] [31] [32] [33] [34] [35] [36] [37] [38] [39] [40] [41] [42] [43] [44] [45] [46] [47] [48] [49] [50] [51] [52] [53] [54] [55] [56] [57] [58] [59] [60] [61] [62] [63] [64] [65] [66] [67] [68] [69] [70] [71] [72] [73] - 74 - [75] [76] [77] [78] [79] [80] [81] [82] [83] [84] [85] [86] [87] [88] [89] [90] [91] [92] [93] [94] [95] [96] [97] [98] [99] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] [132] [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148]
#731 by Mandy J
The best Futurama episode I've seen. It's been a while since a TV show ep affected me like this one.
Maybe it's because I found the petrified remains of my old mutt around the same time...*sobs* Someone should have told you could scare a dog to death!
No really, a very touching episode with a very good point: Never leave old Yeller behind ;)

Mandy J gave 5 points
20.09.2004

#732 by Jackie
I first heard about this episode from my friend. She told me that she cried non-stopped after watching it and kept on cursing the evil writers who didn't give Seymore a "happy ending". I thought she was exaggerating...but I was wrong. And I don't even like dogs.

Jackie gave 5 points
21.09.2004

#733 by Joshua
Good episode. Very emotional. The part where Leela was about to jump into the lava was great. Fry doing his dance was great too.

Joshua gave 4 points
23.09.2004

#734 by Dave Ryan
I'm so glad I'm not the only person with enough of a soul to cry at this futuristic version of Greyfriars Bobby. I love everyone else who cried.

Dave Ryan gave 5 points
23.09.2004

#735 by panos d
well.. the episode itself wasnt that funny (i thought the dog barking 'im walking on sunshine' was a bit cornball) but the ending made my fincee and I cry. We had to go out for icecream and then watch a funny episode to try and cheer up.

brilliant amount of emotion at the end.. oh yeah, i listened to it with the commentary and they quote a couple of the comments from this board!

panos d gave 5 points
25.09.2004

#736 by Fish of Doom
That was the first time I cried during a cartoon...

Fish of Doom gave 5 points
25.09.2004

#737 by Sam
Ok i just wanted to know why the episode had to be sad, why would a comedy turn int a drama just like that. I hated cause it made me sad, and i have a dog whos getting old. if anyone knows anything about this episode, and why the writers dcided to make it sad email me

Sam gave 1 point
26.09.2004

#738 by Morbo the Greek
I was deeply disturbed after seeing this episode. Obviously the story is very sad, but I was affected in a way that seemed to defy explanation. Sure, I own a dog, but I think the pathos of this episode runs deeper than the bonds of human-canine relationships.

One of the enduring themes in Futurama is that, though he was born in the 20th century, Fry never seemed to belong in his own time. By contrast, once he arrived in the 31st century, it was as though the world had fortuitously changed into one where he could fit in. This episode, like 'Luck of the Fryish' and a few others, reaffirms the notion that though Fry may not have felt important in his own time, his disappearance strongly impacted the lives of those who were close to him (few though they may have been).

What makes Seymore's story so moving (for me, anyway) is that Fry was really all he had. Fry *was* his world. When Fry left, Seymore's world changed into one where he no longer seemed to fit - devoted to someone who was no longer there. In short, the episode makes us sad not just because we identify with Fry, but because we identify with Seymore and his loss as well.

Also, the way the writers deflect our expectations in the last two scenes makes the episode that much more emotionally effective. I find it very reassuring to read this board and find that I am not the only viewer who cried at the end. But truly, this episode is sublime.

Morbo the Greek gave 5 points
28.09.2004

#739 by Johnnystorm
It was pretty good but not as good as other sad ones like 'Parasite Lost' or that 7 leaf clover one. They tried to make it too sad instead of adding on a sad part at the end to "ta-da" show a new side to the character. Fry's reasoning for not bringing back his dog didnt make much sense, and the darn dog suffered for 12 years.

Johnnystorm gave 4 points
28.09.2004

#740 by Caroline
SOOOOOO SAD SO CUTE SO LAF ... SO EVERYTHING!!! I CRIED ALL THE TIME!!!! OOOOO THAT WAS SO SAD!!!! I MEAN REALLY SAD ( okay you understand...) The episodes about the past of Fry are always sad! you know... if it was me i miss so much things ofthe past! :'(!

Caroline gave 5 points
02.10.2004


Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26] [27] [28] [29] [30] [31] [32] [33] [34] [35] [36] [37] [38] [39] [40] [41] [42] [43] [44] [45] [46] [47] [48] [49] [50] [51] [52] [53] [54] [55] [56] [57] [58] [59] [60] [61] [62] [63] [64] [65] [66] [67] [68] [69] [70] [71] [72] [73] - 74 - [75] [76] [77] [78] [79] [80] [81] [82] [83] [84] [85] [86] [87] [88] [89] [90] [91] [92] [93] [94] [95] [96] [97] [98] [99] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125] [126] [127] [128] [129] [130] [131] [132] [133] [134] [135] [136] [137] [138] [139] [140] [141] [142] [143] [144] [145] [146] [147] [148]

add a review


back to the overview

 

Legal notice: "Futurama" TM and copyright FOX, its related entities and the Curiosity Company. All rights reserved. Any reproduction, duplication or distribution of these materials in any form is expressly prohibited. Disclaimer: As a fan page, this web site and its content are not authorized by FOX.