Follow GotFuturama on Twitter and Facebook!

   
Can't Get Enough Futurama! Happy Fry
Can't get enough Futurama - morefuturama
Futurama Information
»  Futurama News
»  Articles
»  Episode Guide
»  Character Bios
»  Encyclopedia
»  Episode Capsules
»  Freeze Frame
»  Comic Capsules
»  Futurama FAQ
»  Futurama Staff
»  Lists & References
»  Merchandise
»  TV Listings
»  Web News
»  Futurama Links
»  What's Futurama
»  Behind the Scenes
Futurama Multimedia
»  Ascii Art
»  Sounds & Quotes
»  Fan 3D Art
»  Animation & Video
»  Frame Grabs
»  Guitar Tabs
»  Nokia Stuff
»  Original Scans
»  Other Sounds
»  Promo Pics
Interactive
»  Alien Codecs
»  Comic Reviews
»  Episode Reviews
»  Episode Trivia
»  Random Trivia
»  Fan Art
»  Fan Fiction
»  Futurama Chat
»  Guest Book
»  Message Board
Futurama Desktop
»  Futurama Fonts
»  Icons & Cursors
»  ICQ+ Scheme
»  PocketPC Themes
»  Screen Savers
»  Software
»  Wallpapers
»  Winamp Skins
Futurama Games
»  CGEF Games
»  Official Game
»  Flash Games
»  Game Addons
»  Submitted Games
»  Guess the Pic!
Contact
»  Privacy Statement

   Buddies:
  Planet Express Employee Lounge - The Futurama Message Board
  The Infosphere - Futurama Wiki
  The Futurama Point
  


   Support:
  



Episode Reviews


Short Summary

Godfellas
First aired 03/17/02
Rank: 21/124
Reviews: 309
Rating: 90%

When Bender is accidentally swept away into a space vacuum, he becomes spiritually inclined and makes some devastating decisions.
 


add a review

Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] - 8 - [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26] [27] [28] [29] [30] [31]
#71 by Stephen [Animator]
Frankly beautiful. I was geniuinely moved by this episode of Futurama.

It addresses religion, God, human nature and so much more in only twenty minutes.

Uplifting.

Fox are mad to think of cancelling this show.

Stephen [Animator] gave 5 points
05.05.2002

#72 by Otis P Jivefunk
Another superb episode, I keep thinking about those gorgeous visuals of nebulas, and the other cool aesthetics that space had. Considering space is just a boring void, they sure made it look beautiful, another excellent job by the Futurama team. I also liked seeing Bender 3D animated during a large part of this episode, while drifting through space.

It stated out really fast, the space pirates were cool, they didn’t waste any time. This episode just got better and better as Bender drifted through space. Seeing Bender as a God, and all the dilemmas, decisions and issues involved were perfect. Some really humorous. Clever writing, highly enjoyable. All the mistakes and problems he faced were accurate to real life, but on a smaller scale.

The subplot with Fry and Leela trying to find Bender helped give this episode added humour, and enlightened us from Bender responsibility as a God. It was nice to see the smellescope getting some more use, even though it didn’t help. The monks were pretty funny too, this is a classic episode, one of, if not thee best Bender episode to date. I’m probably one of the only people to enjoy both ‘A Pharaoh To Remember’, and ‘Godfellas’, although I definitely prefer ‘Godfellas’ because it had more substance and depth.



Otis P Jivefunk gave 5 points
05.05.2002

#73 by Heliotrope
Good episode, quite funny, i liked the Bender and God bits.
But i didn't think this was better than last weeks episode, A pharaoh to remember, that was a brilliant episode.

" I know he was evil, and on actually more than one ocasion, he actually stole my blood!"


Heliotrope gave 4 points
05.05.2002

#74 by Fry/Flexo Fan
An amazing episode...it ranks right up there with 'Luck of the Fryish' and 'Time Keeps On Slipping' as 'Futurama's' best.

The jokes concerning the tiny civilisation were great, and the monks were also a blessing, but nothing was more mesmorising than Bender's meeting with God - that was the highlight of not only this episode, but also this season to date.

One of the things which made this episode so poignent and powerful is God's last line, which was amazingly thought-provoking. This episode is one of those very special but very rare (in any TV show) ones which manage not only to be brilliantly funny, but also spiritually uplifting and at the same time a little sad.

Fry/Flexo Fan gave 5 points
05.05.2002

#75 by PCC Fred
This is a unique episode. A true classic.

PCC Fred gave 5 points
06.05.2002

#76 by Annitarae
Absolutely the best episode. The "If you do it right" line was the crowning glory!

Annitarae gave 5 points
06.05.2002

#77 by Mike
I finally managed to watch this one properly this morning, so I can review it at last.

I would say that it's probably one of the better season 4 episodes (i.e. one of the best out of a bad bunch).. I think I'd probably rank it second to 'Buggalo', which I saw again this morning.

The main thing that let 'Godfellas' down was the lack of good jokes. Some things made me smile, but I didn't laugh out loud at all. On the plus side, though, there were much less really bad jokes than usual, probably because of the lack of Zoidberg (although the 'pirates.. from space!' was just as terrible as 'invaders.. from space!' from AOI2).

The idea for the story was excellet, although I think it could have been pulled off a bit better. In my opinion, some of the Bender parts seemed to drag on too long, and only really got interesting once the atomic war started. "How am I supposed to hear prayers coming out of my ass?" was a good line, and the nukes tickling him was funny. The 'God' bit was well written and thought provoking, although I have to admit my stupidity at not really understanding the significance of 'God's' wise saying at the end.

The Fry and Leela story, I thought, was much better. The Amalgamated Church was a good idea, and it was great seeing the much-underused fortune telling machine back again. "What am I, psychic?" The best part, though, was at the monastery. Fry burping and spitting before entering the holy building, the idea that God is inside your heart, and the monks in general were all good.

One stand out thing in 'Godfellas' was the graphics. The starry backgrounds Bender floats past, 'God', and even the robot pirates were all superbly designed, and the community on Bender's chest was surprisingly detailed.

Overall, it wasn't a bad episode, but it couldn't be compared to a lot of the earlier ones, which I why I couldn't give it any more than 3.5 out of 10.


Mike gave 3 points
11.05.2002

#78 by dan
What was the quote at the end of the episode? I cant remember it.

dan gave 4 points
12.05.2002

#79 by Oz
funny stuff!
best in ages

Oz gave 5 points
13.05.2002

#80 by Alex
Quite simply the greatest Futurama episode ever!

Alex gave 5 points
21.05.2002


Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] - 8 - [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26] [27] [28] [29] [30] [31]

add a review


back to the overview

 

Legal notice: "Futurama" TM and copyright FOX, its related entities and the Curiosity Company. All rights reserved. Any reproduction, duplication or distribution of these materials in any form is expressly prohibited. Disclaimer: As a fan page, this web site and its content are not authorized by FOX.