Follow GotFuturama on Twitter and Facebook!

   
Can't Get Enough Futurama! Happy Fry
Can't get enough Futurama - morefuturama
Futurama Information
»  Futurama News
»  Articles
»  Episode Guide
»  Character Bios
»  Encyclopedia
»  Episode Capsules
»  Freeze Frame
»  Comic Capsules
»  Futurama FAQ
»  Futurama Staff
»  Lists & References
»  Merchandise
»  TV Listings
»  Web News
»  Futurama Links
»  What's Futurama
»  Behind the Scenes
Futurama Multimedia
»  Ascii Art
»  Sounds & Quotes
»  Fan 3D Art
»  Animation & Video
»  Frame Grabs
»  Guitar Tabs
»  Nokia Stuff
»  Original Scans
»  Other Sounds
»  Promo Pics
Interactive
»  Alien Codecs
»  Comic Reviews
»  Episode Reviews
»  Episode Trivia
»  Random Trivia
»  Fan Art
»  Fan Fiction
»  Futurama Chat
»  Guest Book
»  Message Board
Futurama Desktop
»  Futurama Fonts
»  Icons & Cursors
»  ICQ+ Scheme
»  PocketPC Themes
»  Screen Savers
»  Software
»  Wallpapers
»  Winamp Skins
Futurama Games
»  CGEF Games
»  Official Game
»  Flash Games
»  Game Addons
»  Submitted Games
»  Guess the Pic!
Contact
»  Privacy Statement

   Buddies:
  Planet Express Employee Lounge - The Futurama Message Board
  The Infosphere - Futurama Wiki
  The Futurama Point
  


   Support:
  



Episode Reviews


Short Summary

The Devil's Hands Are Idle Playthings
First aired 08/10/03
Rank: 22/124
Reviews: 1244
Rating: 90%

Fry cuts a deal with the devil which allows him to acquire the skills needed to show Leela that he loves her.
 


add a review

Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] - 8 - [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26] [27] [28] [29] [30] [31] [32] [33] [34] [35] [36] [37] [38] [39] [40] [41] [42] [43] [44] [45] [46] [47] [48] [49] [50] [51] [52] [53] [54] [55] [56] [57] [58] [59] [60] [61] [62] [63] [64] [65] [66] [67] [68] [69] [70] [71] [72] [73] [74] [75] [76] [77] [78] [79] [80] [81] [82] [83] [84] [85] [86] [87] [88] [89] [90] [91] [92] [93] [94] [95] [96] [97] [98] [99] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125]
#71 by mst99
It was good for a regular episode, But poor for a series Finale

mst99 gave 2 points
11.08.2003

#72 by Gringo
Please finish it up Fry, I don't care how it ends anymore.

Really, Futurama was the best animated show I knew until somwhere araound 50th episode, when it took a dive from funny and well-written to, well, not too funny and not very well written. It has become sort of a tv-version of itself, where the humor degraded and tried to please the sitcom oriented crowd who prefer bad taste over the chanche that they might not get joke or reference right away.

It seems the writers developed a specific amnesia regarding character consistancy. For instance, in "Bender should not be allowed on tv", Bender seems to have grown a Fonzarelli conscience. Leela, who used to be a 'nosy and opinionated' kungfu expert, hasn't been much more than a surrendering schoolgirl nowdays, to serve in the Fry stories. Fry, originally the lovable nimwit, now seems to have to 'redeem' himself as a normal human being, apparently to avoid the risk male (sitcom-oriented) viewers might identify themselves with him. And Zoidberg, the once depressed lobster, has been turned into a clown whose sole role is to cheerfully pass through offensively unfunny jokes about his failure at being anything.

The show insn't about the future anymore. It stopped when it was cancelled.

Gringo gave 1 point
11.08.2003

#73 by Danwhy
What a great high note to go out on!

Danwhy gave 5 points
11.08.2003

#74 by Pommes
This one is right up there among the best episode in the whole show. Normally i dont like those musical episodes but this time i even enjoyed the opera part. Zoidberg cracked me up on this ("...it is in your heart" - "The music is bad and you should feel bad")

Lots and lots of really funny jokes and that Segway Ginger joke had me rolling on the floor.

5 points are not easily given by me but this one deserves it. Gone with a last loud BAANNGG!



Pommes gave 5 points
11.08.2003

#75 by Kike
A really good ending to an excellent show. Futurama, we'll miss you.

Kike gave 5 points
11.08.2003

#76 by Benn
It's difficult to look at an episode of your favorite show objectively when you know it's the last time you'll ever experience the thrill of a new installment. Still, in the context of season 5, it was a solid ep, erring on being great, for a series finale (which it was never meant to be, I know) it was adequate.

It was a refreshing change from the glut of uninspired Bender-centric episodes of the past month. The snail was awesome, the Robot Devil had some hilarious moments ("these things are always touching me in places.." ), but the singing was just dire..

For a Fry/Leela shipper ep (I'm not a fan, but hell, it's the final episode, let them get together), I can't help but think it's impact was somewhat lessened by FOX's insistence on showing the preceding episodes out of production order. So much for any believable build-up of URST when, bam, there's another bloody Bender episode thrown into the mix..

I think the writers handled the relationship issue as best as they could, considering the uncertain role of this ep at it's conception. I can't get the mental picture of shippers everywhere pulling their hair out as the final credits rolled though..

As always, there was way too little Professor (he is, after all, the funniest character on the show, in my opinion), but it really wasn't his style of episode.

All in all, it was an enjoyable installment, unfairly burdened with a finality with which it should never have had to endure.

Thanks guys.

Benn gave 4 points
11.08.2003

#77 by Rene
I loved it. The Robot Devil was very funny tonight. Zoidberg had some great lines. "I'll take eight!"

And Bender, of course, with,"Bite my shiny metal...oh nooooooooooo!".

A great way to end the show...I just wish it weren't ending.

Rene gave 5 points
11.08.2003

#78 by WastedBender
I'm giving it a 5 because the whole series was awesome. remember at the title screen it said " see you on another channel." There's hope. As For Fox ( besides the Simpson's, NFL, and MLB.) The reality tv shows suck and all I have to say is " Bite my shiny metal ass!" that one was for Bender who I'll never again besides reruns on TBS.

WastedBender gave 5 points
11.08.2003

#79 by William Burns
I guess I'm obligated to give this one a five, but it's a bit of a wobbler. It had the "feel" of the first season's episodes, so I thought it tied things up nicely. It was mostley very funny, except for the last scene, which was good in its own way. There's a few characters I would have liked to see more of before it was over, like Zapp, Amy and Kif, but that's just a comment, not a complaint.

William Burns gave 5 points
11.08.2003

#80 by Luke
A touching and funny conclusion to one of the best animated series of all time. Whomever thought of using the opera as a background to telling the story is a genius. Some of my favorite moments include Professor's "opera glasses," Zoidberg's line in the opera, Hedonismbot and the chocolate sauce (!!!), and Calculon's Unholy ACTING ability! I'm sad to see Futurama go, but if it must, then I am glad it was with an episode as good as this one.

Luke gave 5 points
11.08.2003


Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] - 8 - [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26] [27] [28] [29] [30] [31] [32] [33] [34] [35] [36] [37] [38] [39] [40] [41] [42] [43] [44] [45] [46] [47] [48] [49] [50] [51] [52] [53] [54] [55] [56] [57] [58] [59] [60] [61] [62] [63] [64] [65] [66] [67] [68] [69] [70] [71] [72] [73] [74] [75] [76] [77] [78] [79] [80] [81] [82] [83] [84] [85] [86] [87] [88] [89] [90] [91] [92] [93] [94] [95] [96] [97] [98] [99] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125]

add a review


back to the overview

 

Legal notice: "Futurama" TM and copyright FOX, its related entities and the Curiosity Company. All rights reserved. Any reproduction, duplication or distribution of these materials in any form is expressly prohibited. Disclaimer: As a fan page, this web site and its content are not authorized by FOX.