Follow GotFuturama on Twitter and Facebook!

   
Can't Get Enough Futurama! Happy Fry
Can't get enough Futurama - morefuturama
Futurama Information
»  Futurama News
»  Articles
»  Episode Guide
»  Character Bios
»  Encyclopedia
»  Episode Capsules
»  Freeze Frame
»  Comic Capsules
»  Futurama FAQ
»  Futurama Staff
»  Lists & References
»  Merchandise
»  TV Listings
»  Web News
»  Futurama Links
»  What's Futurama
»  Behind the Scenes
Futurama Multimedia
»  Ascii Art
»  Sounds & Quotes
»  Fan 3D Art
»  Animation & Video
»  Frame Grabs
»  Guitar Tabs
»  Nokia Stuff
»  Original Scans
»  Other Sounds
»  Promo Pics
Interactive
»  Alien Codecs
»  Comic Reviews
»  Episode Reviews
»  Episode Trivia
»  Random Trivia
»  Fan Art
»  Fan Fiction
»  Futurama Chat
»  Guest Book
»  Message Board
Futurama Desktop
»  Futurama Fonts
»  Icons & Cursors
»  ICQ+ Scheme
»  PocketPC Themes
»  Screen Savers
»  Software
»  Wallpapers
»  Winamp Skins
Futurama Games
»  CGEF Games
»  Official Game
»  Flash Games
»  Game Addons
»  Submitted Games
»  Guess the Pic!
Contact
»  Privacy Statement

   Buddies:
  Planet Express Employee Lounge - The Futurama Message Board
  The Infosphere - Futurama Wiki
  The Futurama Point
  


   Support:
  



Episode Reviews


Short Summary

Game of Tones
First aired 08/14/13
Rank: 45/124
Reviews: 129
Rating: 86%

tba
 


add a review

Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] - 8 - [9] [10] [11] [12] [13]
#71 by newkemall
Loved it!!

newkemall gave 5 points
20.08.2013

#72 by !iMmOrTaL!
I always enjoy these kinds of episodes. Them being the ones where we dwell into Fry's past. Not only are they interesting, but they often find great ways to pull on our heart strings.
We had 'Luck of the Fryrish' which explored Fry's relationship with his brother. 'Jurassic Bark' which explored Fry longing to see his dog again (as we all know, the most famous ending in any Futurama episode), 'Cold Warriors' which explored some of Fry's relationship with his father. And now 'Game of Tones' which explores Fry's longing to tell his mother what became of him.
I can't bring myself to say that this was as emotional as 'Luck of the Fryrish' and 'Jurassic Bark', but dammit, it tried and did a fantastic job.

Plus, I laughed out loud when Fry contemplated sleeping with Michelle in his dream and Fry's dad's interaction with Nixon.


!iMmOrTaL! gave 5 points
20.08.2013

#73 by 4LegsGood
Probably the best of the season so far.

I loved the gag, and how it played out. There were lots of great jokes, and some fun stuff.

I expect everyone else gives highest marks because of the emotion, which is fine, but it wasn't the strongest part to me - bordering in sappy. I know Fry loved all his family members, but I guess we get an episode for everyone now. Dog, Yancy, Dad and now Mom. It seems a little forced. Like saying "I love you" every time before you hang up the phone. Got it, Fry loves everyone in his family.

Got it.

The jokes, however, were hilarious. I especially loved the strip club he just *had* to check out.

Anyway, great episode!

4LegsGood gave 5 points
21.08.2013

#74 by Beamer
This episode has so many plot holes I fucking hate it!

Beamer gave 1 point
21.08.2013

#75 by Shane
The "heart felt" ending come off as contrived and the revelation behind the mysterious tones was horribly disappointing. Lots of the gags fell flat as well. Not the most horrible episode of the new run but not nearly good enough either. They should try to cram more "revelations" into the Pilot anymore. It's getting ridiculous.

Shane gave 2 points
21.08.2013

#76 by Cancel IT FAAASSTER!
Kind of shits on other past episodes, and Digby's actions make no sense since he tells the 1000 year old story perfectly, yet can't remember what planet he parked on. And why would he blow planets up with the key fob?

It was all around fuckin' crapola.



Cancel IT FAAASSTER! gave 1 point
21.08.2013

#77 by Jeff
Wonderful episode!

Jeff gave 5 points
21.08.2013

#78 by hijinx
Fantastic episode. Probably the best since the original run.

hijinx gave 5 points
21.08.2013

#79 by totalnerduk
I don't get why people seem to be loving this episode so much - it's lazy, cheap, and packs no emotional punch relative to episodes like TKOS or TLOTF. Whilst it's enjoyable, it's certainly not the show's best moment, and even feels a little off-base. There are a few flat gags, the relationship between Fry and his mother is somewhat contradictory of what we've already seen, and now Nibbler is apparantly magic. This wasn't so much a great episode as an episode that had the potential to be great, but squandered this with a mediocre, standard-television sentimental message. Futurama's become such a watered-down brew that I'm wondering exactly what's wrong with people that they're not up in arms about the increasingly shallow nature of what used to be a deep and thoughtful show.

This was a decidedly average episode, and the fact that it's rated so highly here only proves that some people are incredibly easily pleased.

totalnerduk gave 3 points
21.08.2013

#80 by Happy
Great episode!

Happy gave 5 points
21.08.2013


Page: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] - 8 - [9] [10] [11] [12] [13]

add a review


back to the overview

 

Legal notice: "Futurama" TM and copyright FOX, its related entities and the Curiosity Company. All rights reserved. Any reproduction, duplication or distribution of these materials in any form is expressly prohibited. Disclaimer: As a fan page, this web site and its content are not authorized by FOX.