Follow GotFuturama on Twitter and Facebook!

   
Can't Get Enough Futurama! Happy Fry
Can't get enough Futurama - morefuturama
Futurama Information
»  Futurama News
»  Articles
»  Episode Guide
»  Character Bios
»  Encyclopedia
»  Episode Capsules
»  Freeze Frame
»  Comic Capsules
»  Futurama FAQ
»  Futurama Staff
»  Lists & References
»  Merchandise
»  TV Listings
»  Web News
»  Futurama Links
»  What's Futurama
»  Behind the Scenes
Futurama Multimedia
»  Ascii Art
»  Sounds & Quotes
»  Fan 3D Art
»  Animation & Video
»  Frame Grabs
»  Guitar Tabs
»  Nokia Stuff
»  Original Scans
»  Other Sounds
»  Promo Pics
Interactive
»  Alien Codecs
»  Comic Reviews
»  Episode Reviews
»  Episode Trivia
»  Random Trivia
»  Fan Art
»  Fan Fiction
»  Futurama Chat
»  Guest Book
»  Message Board
Futurama Desktop
»  Futurama Fonts
»  Icons & Cursors
»  ICQ+ Scheme
»  PocketPC Themes
»  Screen Savers
»  Software
»  Wallpapers
»  Winamp Skins
Futurama Games
»  CGEF Games
»  Official Game
»  Flash Games
»  Game Addons
»  Submitted Games
»  Guess the Pic!
Contact
»  Privacy Statement

   Buddies:
  Planet Express Employee Lounge - The Futurama Message Board
  The Infosphere - Futurama Wiki
  The Futurama Point
  


   Support:
  



Episode Reviews


Short Summary

A Big Piece of Garbage
First aired 05/11/99
Rank: 52/124
Reviews: 129
Rating: 84%

In an effort to beat Wernstrom at a scientist contest, Professor Farnsworth creates a smell-o-scope. Ridiculed at first, he uses it to detect a flying ball of garbage hurtling towards earth.
 


add a review

Page: - 1 - [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13]
#1 by England
A great armageddon style episode, with the earth brought to it's nees by a big ball of garbage.

England gave 5 points
22.11.2001

#2 by Otis P Jivefunk
Brilliant episode, we get to see Professor Farnsworth's personality shine in this episode and we are introduced to one of his many inventions. A great Simpsons reference too and a cool bit where Fry helps people in the 30th century with what he learnt in the 20th Century.

Otis P Jivefunk gave 5 points
17.12.2001

#3 by Earnur
Easily one of the best,if not the best episode.

Earnur gave 5 points
28.01.2002

#4 by Code_Green
I thought this was a great episode. It was by far the best episode in Futurama's first season. It was great from begginning to end. It was a pretty good Armaggedon like episode too. As I'm sure you all noticed, Matt Groening snuck in a little Simpsons scene when they showed a pile of Bart Simpson dolls on the garbage ball. I give this episode a rating of 5.

Code_Green gave 5 points
05.03.2002

#5 by Silver Light
Probably the best episode in the First Season, this is an ironical 20 minute take on the 20th century and the consequences of its irresponsible attitude on a "semi-perfect" future. The irony is almost overwhelming; and the episode is very well-written, as a whole (include the Professor's old grudge with Wernstrom), and definitely worthy of the Emmy nomination. This is what Futurama is all about: smart satire of both future clichés and cheap sci-fi and present ignorance and irresponsability. Not the funniest, sure -- but superb as a concept.

Silver Light gave 5 points
07.03.2002

#6 by Bush
Oh no Garbage...

Bush gave 1 point
20.04.2002

#7 by dr.zoidberg
one of my top five favorite

dr.zoidberg gave 5 points
22.04.2002

#8 by Heliotrope
Another episode that was good, but not one of the best.
I like the Simpsons refrence, Bender ate Barts shorts! ^^

"Hmm, i'll have to invent something new in the next 10 minuets, perhaps some sort of Death clock..."

"Did you build a Smelescope?"
"No, i rememerd that i built one last year!"


Heliotrope gave 4 points
23.04.2002

#9 by Max F. Exter
Probably my favorite episode of the first season! I loved the whole Internet scene and Fry's attempts at teaching the world of tomorrow HOW to litter. The Professor got many great moments to shine, particularly every time he said the words, "death clock."

Funnier even than the Simpson's reference was the pocket of discarded AOL floppy disks! That killed me.

As for the next ball of garbage, what goes around, comes around.

Max F. Exter gave 5 points
15.05.2002

#10 by Sync
This is great episode!!!

Sync gave 5 points
17.06.2002


Page: - 1 - [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13]

add a review


back to the overview

 

Legal notice: "Futurama" TM and copyright FOX, its related entities and the Curiosity Company. All rights reserved. Any reproduction, duplication or distribution of these materials in any form is expressly prohibited. Disclaimer: As a fan page, this web site and its content are not authorized by FOX.