Follow GotFuturama on Twitter and Facebook!

   
Can't Get Enough Futurama! Happy Fry
Can't get enough Futurama - morefuturama
Futurama Information
»  Futurama News
»  Articles
»  Episode Guide
»  Character Bios
»  Encyclopedia
»  Episode Capsules
»  Freeze Frame
»  Comic Capsules
»  Futurama FAQ
»  Futurama Staff
»  Lists & References
»  Merchandise
»  TV Listings
»  Web News
»  Futurama Links
»  What's Futurama
»  Behind the Scenes
Futurama Multimedia
»  Ascii Art
»  Sounds & Quotes
»  Fan 3D Art
»  Animation & Video
»  Frame Grabs
»  Guitar Tabs
»  Nokia Stuff
»  Original Scans
»  Other Sounds
»  Promo Pics
Interactive
»  Alien Codecs
»  Comic Reviews
»  Episode Reviews
»  Episode Trivia
»  Random Trivia
»  Fan Art
»  Fan Fiction
»  Futurama Chat
»  Guest Book
»  Message Board
Futurama Desktop
»  Futurama Fonts
»  Icons & Cursors
»  ICQ+ Scheme
»  PocketPC Themes
»  Screen Savers
»  Software
»  Wallpapers
»  Winamp Skins
Futurama Games
»  CGEF Games
»  Official Game
»  Flash Games
»  Game Addons
»  Submitted Games
»  Guess the Pic!
Contact
»  Privacy Statement

   Buddies:
  Planet Express Employee Lounge - The Futurama Message Board
  The Infosphere - Futurama Wiki
  The Futurama Point
  


   Support:
  



Episode Reviews


Short Summary

The Deep South
First aired 04/16/00
Rank: 46/124
Reviews: 175
Rating: 85%

The crew discovers merfolk living in Atlanta, a fabled city that sank into the ocean centuries ago. Fry faces a decision - should he go back home with his friends or remain with the mermaid he's fallen in love with?
 


add a review

Page: - 1 - [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18]
#1 by Zoeynscoey
This was a great episode. Absolutely hilarious. Best episode of television to take place under water. Dr. Zoidbergs shell accidently burns down because Benders lit cigar. "This just raises further questions!"

Zoeynscoey gave 5 points
12.12.2001

#2 by Otis P Jivefunk
A brilliant episode, especially the first half. I love Frys sarcastic comment "Hook, my arse" then Bneder says "Ok" and does it. The first half has brilliant interaction between the whole P.E.crew too.

I liked it when they went underwater but it did'nt quite seem as good as the first half. I love the mermaid called Umbriel, she is really well drawn and the sexyest cartoon character I've ever seen, well the top half anyway. Overall a brilliant episode.

Otis P Jivefunk gave 5 points
18.12.2001

#3 by RK
The best episode ever!!!
Including the best part in the whole series when fry says:
"there are all sorts of strange sea creatures in the future, like Dr. Zoidberg!" (points at Zoidberg that is working on his "garden"!)

-I laughed so much at this episode I thought i was going to choke!

RK gave 5 points
05.01.2002

#4 by Facehairteeth
I think this is the best episode as far as unrelated side jokes...

Facehairteeth gave 5 points
31.01.2002

#5 by Oderik
Cool jokes involving Zoidberg, Prof., Bender, Fry and Leela.

"I'm bored! Let's go!"

Oderik gave 5 points
01.02.2002

#6 by Teral
I loved the first half of the episode. The fishing trip was a great way to show the PE crew as friends. Having fun, taking friednly jabs at eachother, competing etc. I even laughed at Amy's remarks to Leela about the boots. These 10 first minutes was topnotch Futurama.

The next 10 minutes with the ship on the bottom of the Atlantic was great too. Zoidy was as always very funny. The entire epsiode up until the Atlanta part was topcaracter allaround. Fry unknowingly saving the PE crew was funny, the hunt for food, the pressure suppository, the ST references, the "ocean madness" thing, etc. Brilliant.

And then they introduced Atlanta. Meh, the song was okay, but Atlanta and it's inhabitants just wasn't funny. It was a nice twist on the Atlantis-myth, but they should've made the inhabitants, and the story a lot more interesting.

Luckily Zoidy had a few more scenes to make this episode finish on a high note.

I'll call it a 4. The bland Atlanta part hurt. The rest was brilliant.

Teral gave 4 points
03.02.2002

#7 by Stalker
Wow, what a great episode. As for the Atlanta song, the guy who sang it is Donovan, a singer from the 60ies and 70ies. And guess what, one of his most famous songs is "Atlantis", with an intro exactly like the one in this episode. I didn't even know Donovan was still singing!

And I loved the cigar bit, and the "Hey, where's my parasol? - It wasn't there when I took your umbrella.". Really priceless.

The whole episode in itself worked great, kind of like the pilot (when they made their getaway during the firework display).

Top notch!

Stalker gave 5 points
22.02.2002

#8 by Silver Light
Definitely one of the best Futurama episodes ever. The underwater parts were great, but I also agree that the "Atlanta" myth could be better developed - but I don't think that was the point of the story, and if we are asked to ignore that flaw while being given some of the best belly-aching-from-laughing jokes ("Are we in international waters?"; "Yes, we are"; "Goose has landed, repeat, Goose has landed" or the scenes of Dr. Zoidberg's cosy home) and a more sensitive portrait of Fry than usual make this a real gem. Thumbs up!

Silver Light gave 5 points
04.03.2002

#9 by Aaron
Probably the funniest episode.

Aaron gave 5 points
04.03.2002

#10 by Escudo
Just a great episode. The laughs keep on coming in the best episode from series 2. I must have watched this episode 20-30 times, and still the one liners are fresh and funny. Great Episode - "Tempers are getting frayed, lets hope some robot doesn't kill anybody...."

Escudo gave 5 points
16.03.2002


Page: - 1 - [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18]

add a review


back to the overview

 

Legal notice: "Futurama" TM and copyright FOX, its related entities and the Curiosity Company. All rights reserved. Any reproduction, duplication or distribution of these materials in any form is expressly prohibited. Disclaimer: As a fan page, this web site and its content are not authorized by FOX.