Follow GotFuturama on Twitter and Facebook!

   
Can't Get Enough Futurama! Happy Fry
Can't get enough Futurama - morefuturama
Futurama Information
»  Futurama News
»  Articles
»  Episode Guide
»  Character Bios
»  Encyclopedia
»  Episode Capsules
»  Freeze Frame
»  Comic Capsules
»  Futurama FAQ
»  Futurama Staff
»  Lists & References
»  Merchandise
»  TV Listings
»  Web News
»  Futurama Links
»  What's Futurama
»  Behind the Scenes
Futurama Multimedia
»  Ascii Art
»  Sounds & Quotes
»  Fan 3D Art
»  Animation & Video
»  Frame Grabs
»  Guitar Tabs
»  Nokia Stuff
»  Original Scans
»  Other Sounds
»  Promo Pics
Interactive
»  Alien Codecs
»  Comic Reviews
»  Episode Reviews
»  Episode Trivia
»  Random Trivia
»  Fan Art
»  Fan Fiction
»  Futurama Chat
»  Guest Book
»  Message Board
Futurama Desktop
»  Futurama Fonts
»  Icons & Cursors
»  ICQ+ Scheme
»  PocketPC Themes
»  Screen Savers
»  Software
»  Wallpapers
»  Winamp Skins
Futurama Games
»  CGEF Games
»  Official Game
»  Flash Games
»  Game Addons
»  Submitted Games
»  Guess the Pic!
Contact
»  Privacy Statement

   Buddies:
  Planet Express Employee Lounge - The Futurama Message Board
  The Infosphere - Futurama Wiki
  The Futurama Point
  


   Support:
  



Episode Reviews


Short Summary

Anthology of Interest 1
First aired 05/21/00
Rank: 23/124
Reviews: 207
Rating: 90%

Bender is 500 feet tall, Leela goes on a murder spree, and Fry never gets frozen in three what-if scenarios.
 


add a review

Page: - 1 - [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21]
#1 by Tor
This was perhaps the best episode EVER. A great plot, and lots of funny jokes. I especially like the impulsive Leela, the 500ft Bender and Al Gore. And because it's just the what-if-machine that makes it happen, it won't affect later episodes. All sorts of crazy stuff can happen, just like the Treehouse of horror episodes in the Simpsons. I really hope there will be more AOI episodes, perhaps even one in every season.

Tor gave 5 points
06.11.2001

#2 by Juliet
I really like this episode. I love it when Bender was big, Leela was so cool being impulse. Fry's one was ok but not as good as Leela and Bender's story.

Juliet gave 5 points
15.11.2001

#3 by Alexander
Funny story with Leela turning in to a homicadal maniac. She almost reminded me of Itchy the mouse.

Alexander gave 3 points
16.11.2001

#4 by [-mArc-]
This is most definitely one of my top 3 favourites I must say. The Leela on a killing spree is just great (epsecially the case solving scene with Dr Zoidberg ``Scruffy knows who killed 'em people´´). The tall Bender one was pretty nice, too though I wonder if they will show him and Zoidberg destroy New New York. The one with Fry not getting frozen was a logical thing to do for the writers and gave us the famous "what's nibbler not ding there" riddle.

[-mArc-] gave 5 points
17.11.2001

#5 by Teral
Teral's waaaaaay to long (sort of) review of "Anthology of Interest I"

I liked this very much, easily in top-10 (of the episodes so far). I hope this is gonna be a recurring thing just like THOH on Simpsons. The wacky stories was just hillarious to watch. And the little twist at the end, with the professor LOL.

My personal fave of the stories was "What if Leela was more impulsive, just a little, not too much ?"
Leela just looks so cute throughout this story. Great idea with her going on a killing spree. Starting with just one impulsive act, and then it snowballs on her. Loved the way she took care of Bender, when the timer "pings" he's done, LOL. Good way to hide the corpse too. And she finally got an opportunity to get back at Amy after another wisecrack from her. "Wow, sporty gocart Leela. So hip and sexy, not like you at all." Okay this time time she was asking for it. The scene where she wacks Cubert, Scruffy and Nibler was pure genius, but Leela doesn't wear socks? Eeewww. The last scene must be a alltime fave for all the Fry/Leela fanatics out there. Zoidberg was the only other to have a major part in this, and he was pure fun. True Zoidy behaviour. Loved it.

Second best, "What if Bender was 500 feet tall ?"
Good idea. Slow start, although it was deeply satisfying to see Hanson get squashed (and yes that disturbs me too ;)). But once Zoidy comes into the story, it catapults into the highest layer of comedy. Especially Zoidy's personal vendetta against, among others Chase Manhattan and the Apollo Theater, was fun. Great fightscene, and good weapons. Boiling Zoidy, great twist. But in the end Zoidy saves the day, "Hurray for Zoidberg".

Third best, "What if Fry never fell into the freezer-doodle and came to the future-jiggy ?"
Also a good idea. But the funniness first started when Prof. Hawking came into it. The whole idea with the Vice-Presidential Action Rangers was also a struck of genius, and a weird ensemble. Hawking hawking all ideas was just hillarious: "I call it a Hawking-hole", "I call it a Hawking-chamber" etc. Great qoutes in this one too. And the ending, oh I loved that, espicially Nichole's remarks about the Pasadena Star Trek Convention.

Short comments: I like Leela's new boots, that stripe IS crazy. Hawking has a very good sense of humour. Zoidy's lines in the Leela-story was brilliant. Oh, and Leela was just sooo cute in her story, wait-a-minute....I've already said that, d'oh.

Me like, very much. More of this. Good stories, zany action, good twists, it had it all. I'll definately call this a 5, easily. Let's hope they can keep it up in (hopefully) future AOI's.



Teral gave 5 points
19.11.2001

#6 by Otis P Jivefunk
Superb, Bender 500 feet tall was best, Cubert made a cameo in Leelas part and the Fry part was ok but not as good. Overall an excellent episode with a clever ending, will todays AOI 2 be as good? Only time will tell.

Otis P Jivefunk gave 5 points
06.01.2002

#7 by 7billiontonrobot
One of the best episodes made. All three were great especially the giant bender one

Who's the real 7 billion ton robot here. Not I......Not I

7billiontonrobot gave 5 points
15.01.2002

#8 by Max F. Exter
So far, this has to be my favorite episode of the series. In particular the third part, "What if Fry never fell into the freezer-madoodle and came to the future-majiggy?"

From the moment Stephen Hawking appears, the episode is pure genius. All of the guest stars, Al Gore in particular (Who knew he had a sense of humour?) got some great time to shine. Al's telling Deep Blue that there are other ways to solve conflicts was in many ways the best line of the series. And Hawking running over Fry with his chair was probably the single best visual.

I note that not everybody liked this episode so much. Guess you have to be interested in politics, Star Trek, Physics, Role Playing and Chess to get all of the jokes.

Max F. Exter gave 5 points
17.03.2002

#9 by Athos
5 stars, no discussion. One of the best episodes.

I personally liked the Leela part the best...the other two rank second best (I cannot decide which one I like more).

Athos gave 5 points
20.03.2002

#10 by Loki
A very very good episode. Especially I like Leela`s part. And other two parts are quite good too.
May be it is wrong. But my memory tells me that Bender`s part is a parody on one of the Hollywood`s films about aliens. The final scene of dying giant-Bender seems very familiar to me.
Excuse me if there are too many mistakes, because English is not my native language.

Loki gave 5 points
29.03.2002


Page: - 1 - [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21]

add a review


back to the overview

 

Legal notice: "Futurama" TM and copyright FOX, its related entities and the Curiosity Company. All rights reserved. Any reproduction, duplication or distribution of these materials in any form is expressly prohibited. Disclaimer: As a fan page, this web site and its content are not authorized by FOX.