Follow GotFuturama on Twitter and Facebook!

   
Can't Get Enough Futurama! Happy Fry
Can't get enough Futurama - morefuturama
Futurama Information
»  Futurama News
»  Articles
»  Episode Guide
»  Character Bios
»  Encyclopedia
»  Episode Capsules
»  Freeze Frame
»  Comic Capsules
»  Futurama FAQ
»  Futurama Staff
»  Lists & References
»  Merchandise
»  TV Listings
»  Web News
»  Futurama Links
»  What's Futurama
»  Behind the Scenes
Futurama Multimedia
»  Ascii Art
»  Sounds & Quotes
»  Fan 3D Art
»  Animation & Video
»  Frame Grabs
»  Guitar Tabs
»  Nokia Stuff
»  Original Scans
»  Other Sounds
»  Promo Pics
Interactive
»  Alien Codecs
»  Comic Reviews
»  Episode Reviews
»  Episode Trivia
»  Random Trivia
»  Fan Art
»  Fan Fiction
»  Futurama Chat
»  Guest Book
»  Message Board
Futurama Desktop
»  Futurama Fonts
»  Icons & Cursors
»  ICQ+ Scheme
»  PocketPC Themes
»  Screen Savers
»  Software
»  Wallpapers
»  Winamp Skins
Futurama Games
»  CGEF Games
»  Official Game
»  Flash Games
»  Game Addons
»  Submitted Games
»  Guess the Pic!
Contact
»  Privacy Statement

   Buddies:
  Planet Express Employee Lounge - The Futurama Message Board
  The Infosphere - Futurama Wiki
  The Futurama Point
  


   Support:
  



Episode Reviews


Short Summary

The Devil's Hands Are Idle Playthings
First aired 08/10/03
Rank: 22/124
Reviews: 1243
Rating: 90%

Fry cuts a deal with the devil which allows him to acquire the skills needed to show Leela that he loves her.
 


add a review

Page: - 1 - [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26] [27] [28] [29] [30] [31] [32] [33] [34] [35] [36] [37] [38] [39] [40] [41] [42] [43] [44] [45] [46] [47] [48] [49] [50] [51] [52] [53] [54] [55] [56] [57] [58] [59] [60] [61] [62] [63] [64] [65] [66] [67] [68] [69] [70] [71] [72] [73] [74] [75] [76] [77] [78] [79] [80] [81] [82] [83] [84] [85] [86] [87] [88] [89] [90] [91] [92] [93] [94] [95] [96] [97] [98] [99] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125]
#1 by Maharg
Of course it's superb. Why hasn't anyone else reviewed it?

Maharg gave 5 points
11.08.2003

#2 by PuLSe
What a shame to stop it here - this stuff is too good to stop.

PuLSe gave 5 points
11.08.2003

#3 by Matt
Was a great episode, nice way to end the series

Matt gave 5 points
11.08.2003

#4 by james
wow, absolutly wow.

best episode ever.

love this show. great music in this episode.

what a great episode to end the seris with.

wow, I love this show, wow, what an cathartic episode to end with!

Fry and Leela get together (asumely) the perfect end to a perfect sersis.

it was kind of sad that fox aired nothing about it being the show's finalie, but tipical and heartwarming at the same time.

i cried at the end. bothe because of emotion involved in the story and taht i knew it was the last episode ever.

good luck futurama crew! you guys rock!

signed,
james hamilton

james gave 5 points
11.08.2003

#5 by Ant
Good episode to pick for ending a series. :)

Not too many jokes, but I can understand that for this episode.

Futurama forever! I submitted a story on today's Futurama episode on Slashdot: http://slashdot.org/article.pl?sid=03/08/ ... 88&tid=214 ...

Ant gave 4 points
11.08.2003

#6 by Farnesworth
It started out a bit slow, I thought... so I was almost afriad it'd be like the most recent Season 5 shows... but it got better. The last 5 or 10 minutes with the opera scene was totally awesome. That made the episode superb. It was a great way to go out on.

Farnesworth gave 5 points
11.08.2003

#7 by Lo
Neither the best nor the worst episode of the season - "The Why of Fry" would have made a better series finale. But the concept was terribly sweet, the singing was really good (even if there have been better songs on the show), and the ending is open and very fitting - either it truly is a kiss and a walk into the sunset, or if (cross your fingers) Cartoon Network is able to produce more episodes, there's a) a new story line of Fry and Leela the couple or b) the same story line, wherein she gets cuddly for a moment but we're back to bemused disgust for the next episode.

Lo gave 4 points
11.08.2003

#8 by Kristi
Amazing episode!!! It was great as a series finale. All the characters were funny. I'm glad some minor characters were able to make cameos. I loved the Robot Devil in this episode. Too bad he wasn't in Futurama more, he's so funny! The twist where Leela has to marry Beezlebot was great and unexpected.

Some of my favorite things:

- The caption and billboard gags at the beginning were especially great.
- The singing at the end (I like musicals)!
- Zoidberg (singing): I can't believe everyone's just ad-libbing!
- the grumpy snail
- Bender: Bite my shiny metal... nooooo!
- all the parts with Beezlebot
- the running gag about irony
- Leela saying the robot hands are cold and Beezlebot shouting that it's hot in hell. Hehe.
- Mentioning Sean again and finding out more about him
- Seeing the construction worker from the pilot again (the one on that You Gotta Do What You Gotta Do poster)
- The Donkey Kong reference. Now the pilot AND the series finale have a Donkey Kong reference.
- Hermes ordering a Shirley Hemphill. He's been making a lot of marijuana jokes lately. I love it.

The ending was great. It was a fitting end to a great show and very sweet and touching. Fry finally won Leela's heart. About time. The last line and last holophoner piece were great and symbolic. "I want to hear how it ends."

Goodbye, Futurama. You had a great run.

Kristi gave 5 points
11.08.2003

#9 by nraygun
Very sad, but most likely because we knew it was the last one. Thought it was very sneaky of the writers to never actually put Fry and Leela together... it didn't seem to have that much closure, but in a good way, because it left so much for our own imaginations, and leaves it wide open for movies or a [highly unlikely] return to television. Overall, a great episode, great way to end the series. [although i would still like to see leela & fry fall in love... i'm just sappy]

ps- Also choked up at the "see you on another channel" opener.

nraygun gave 5 points
11.08.2003

#10 by Dave E
Well, I'll rectify that situation right now. All I can say is I laughed out loud, was entertained throughout, and got choked up at the end. Man, they really outdid themselves with this one; I think all the main characters got a decent play in this episode, lot's of good cameos, great jokes, some surprizingly good vocal performances, and a classy, sweet ending. Great plot twists (Leela going deaf, Bender loosing his ass)...too much to go into at this late hour. I just wanted to be a part of this final evaluation and help give Futurama the sendoff it deserves. Bravo...encore!! Too bad a certain network allowed this great show to end when it was just hiting it's highest mark. Goodbye Fry, Leela, Bender, Professor, Amy, Zoidberg, Hermes, Zapp, Kiff, Mom, Calculon, and all the rest...

Dave E gave 5 points
11.08.2003


Page: - 1 - [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26] [27] [28] [29] [30] [31] [32] [33] [34] [35] [36] [37] [38] [39] [40] [41] [42] [43] [44] [45] [46] [47] [48] [49] [50] [51] [52] [53] [54] [55] [56] [57] [58] [59] [60] [61] [62] [63] [64] [65] [66] [67] [68] [69] [70] [71] [72] [73] [74] [75] [76] [77] [78] [79] [80] [81] [82] [83] [84] [85] [86] [87] [88] [89] [90] [91] [92] [93] [94] [95] [96] [97] [98] [99] [100] [101] [102] [103] [104] [105] [106] [107] [108] [109] [110] [111] [112] [113] [114] [115] [116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121] [122] [123] [124] [125]

add a review


back to the overview

 

Legal notice: "Futurama" TM and copyright FOX, its related entities and the Curiosity Company. All rights reserved. Any reproduction, duplication or distribution of these materials in any form is expressly prohibited. Disclaimer: As a fan page, this web site and its content are not authorized by FOX.