Follow GotFuturama on Twitter and Facebook!

   
Can't Get Enough Futurama! Happy Fry
Can't get enough Futurama - morefuturama
Futurama Information
»  Futurama News
»  Articles
»  Episode Guide
»  Character Bios
»  Encyclopedia
»  Episode Capsules
»  Freeze Frame
»  Comic Capsules
»  Futurama FAQ
»  Futurama Staff
»  Lists & References
»  Merchandise
»  TV Listings
»  Web News
»  Futurama Links
»  What's Futurama
»  Behind the Scenes
Futurama Multimedia
»  Ascii Art
»  Sounds & Quotes
»  Fan 3D Art
»  Animation & Video
»  Frame Grabs
»  Guitar Tabs
»  Nokia Stuff
»  Original Scans
»  Other Sounds
»  Promo Pics
Interactive
»  Alien Codecs
»  Comic Reviews
»  Episode Reviews
»  Episode Trivia
»  Random Trivia
»  Fan Art
»  Fan Fiction
»  Futurama Chat
»  Guest Book
»  Message Board
Futurama Desktop
»  Futurama Fonts
»  Icons & Cursors
»  ICQ+ Scheme
»  PocketPC Themes
»  Screen Savers
»  Software
»  Wallpapers
»  Winamp Skins
Futurama Games
»  CGEF Games
»  Official Game
»  Flash Games
»  Game Addons
»  Submitted Games
»  Guess the Pic!
Contact
»  Privacy Statement

   Buddies:
  Planet Express Employee Lounge - The Futurama Message Board
  The Infosphere - Futurama Wiki
  The Futurama Point
  


   Support:
  



Episode Reviews


Short Summary

Near-Death Wish
First aired 08/15/12
Rank: 91/124
Reviews: 103
Rating: 76%

The Professor is deeply disturbed when his parents return from virtual retirement aboard the Near-Death Star.
 


add a review

Page: - 1 - [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11]
#1 by Randy
It was a nice episode. I didn't care for the Matrix jokes but I lol at the naked professor ones. I really liked the ending.

Randy gave 4 points
16.08.2012

#2 by Daniel Bosch
IMHO, the best episode of the new season by quite a margin.

Daniel Bosch gave 5 points
16.08.2012

#3 by SGB
Fur sure a great episode full of great humor, references, and plot-points. I really liked Bender in this one. "That's one crazy uncircumcised old man!" XD

9/10

SGB gave 5 points
16.08.2012

#4 by Jarvio
What a brilliant episode. Funny, intriguing, touching, and plenty of the professor. 10/10

Jarvio gave 5 points
16.08.2012

#5 by Tom_Apples
This episode seemed average, to me(I'm not trolling). Between some jokes in this episode and the mistakes.
Ok let's get started:

THE POSITIVES:

-The joke from the Proffesor's father
-Fry and Leela are possibly no longer "off again-on again"
-The Clippee Awards part(One's who were gone in the line of duty)
-Return of the Near Death Sphere

THE NEGATIVES:

-I can't tell if this is an exaggeration in the episode or just a plain mistake, when Fry said that he was their grandson to the Proffesor's parents, wasn't Fry his own Grandfather?
-Leela pissed off about the Matrix, she also got pissed off about TRON Legacy in "A Farewell to Arms". Which made me annoyed.
-Beginning felt rushed, ending also a bit rushed
-Leela didn't show any signs of her regular personality.

So I really should give this a 6/10. Not good, not bad.

Tom_Apples gave 3 points
16.08.2012

#6 by rok
Good job the writers of The Matrix!

rok gave 5 points
16.08.2012

#7 by Terrick
Loved it! Almost as good as luck of the Fryrish!

Terrick gave 5 points
16.08.2012

#8 by Olwood
A solid episode!

Olwood gave 5 points
16.08.2012

#9 by Beatle60
Best episode of the season so far, great jokes,references, and touching moments.

Beatle60 gave 5 points
16.08.2012

#10 by Mr Snrub
I loved:

The opening scene in the club. Delivery Boy of the Year is a wonderfully silly yet simple idea that gave some good laughs. I liked how Fry was going up against three dead people and still didn't look like he thought he'd win. For those wondering why Bender and Leela weren't there with him, it seemed to be a family only thing, as shown by Dwight/Hermes/LaBarbara and the other young Delivery Boys.
"Let's boldly go where we've gone before!"
More Fry/Leela/Bender trio interaction. While the long Matrix reference was kinda dumb, it felt like the equivalent of elevator small talk, and I like moments between them that seem a bit real. Also, the shot of them falling into the virtual reality was badass. (and 'it's 40% safe!' might be my favourite use of that catchphrase yet.)
Hermes and Bender are still friends! Hooray for consistency!
Fry spending time with his 'grandparents' were sweet, and it was good to see Fry be a bit childish again after his serious first 5 minutes (as much as Leela approved.)
I seem in the minority with this point, but I liked the idea that the Professor isn't actually senile, he was always insane. I don't know why, maybe it makes me more sympathetic towards him? The Brain-O poster made me nerd out a little bit as well.
The ending was sweet, and I think was sort of done as a one-last-time sort of thing. Farnsworth's parents won't be coming back. At least I don't think so.

Mr Snrub gave 5 points
16.08.2012


Page: - 1 - [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11]

add a review


back to the overview

 

Legal notice: "Futurama" TM and copyright FOX, its related entities and the Curiosity Company. All rights reserved. Any reproduction, duplication or distribution of these materials in any form is expressly prohibited. Disclaimer: As a fan page, this web site and its content are not authorized by FOX.