Follow GotFuturama on Twitter and Facebook!

   
Can't Get Enough Futurama! Happy Fry
Can't get enough Futurama - morefuturama
Futurama Information
»  Futurama News
»  Articles
»  Episode Guide
»  Character Bios
»  Encyclopedia
»  Episode Capsules
»  Freeze Frame
»  Comic Capsules
»  Futurama FAQ
»  Futurama Staff
»  Lists & References
»  Merchandise
»  TV Listings
»  Web News
»  Futurama Links
»  What's Futurama
»  Behind the Scenes
Futurama Multimedia
»  Ascii Art
»  Sounds & Quotes
»  Fan 3D Art
»  Animation & Video
»  Frame Grabs
»  Guitar Tabs
»  Nokia Stuff
»  Original Scans
»  Other Sounds
»  Promo Pics
Interactive
»  Alien Codecs
»  Comic Reviews
»  Episode Reviews
»  Episode Trivia
»  Random Trivia
»  Fan Art
»  Fan Fiction
»  Futurama Chat
»  Guest Book
»  Message Board
Futurama Desktop
»  Futurama Fonts
»  Icons & Cursors
»  ICQ+ Scheme
»  PocketPC Themes
»  Screen Savers
»  Software
»  Wallpapers
»  Winamp Skins
Futurama Games
»  CGEF Games
»  Official Game
»  Flash Games
»  Game Addons
»  Submitted Games
»  Guess the Pic!
Contact
»  Privacy Statement

   Buddies:
  Planet Express Employee Lounge - The Futurama Message Board
  The Infosphere - Futurama Wiki
  The Futurama Point
  


   Support:
  



Futurama DVD Season 1


Short Summary

The Futurama Season 1 DVD set includes 13 episodes each with an alternative commentary track. It was released a over one year ago around Europe. In November 2002, the Australian Futurama DVD release followed. On March 25th 2003 - 5 months after Europeans were enjoying their Season 2 DVDs - the American fans finally get their fix, too. Are they worth their money?
Number of Reviews: 63   Rating: 94.4%


showing entry 11 to 20 out of 66 entries


#11 by Pipian
Just great

Pipian gave 10 points
26.03.2003

#12 by Luis VI
Pretty self-explanatory rating, if you ask me...Comments are awesome...I wish I knew the alien language(s)...that one dude just read em like nothing...if i knew that the writings were significant I probably woulda deciphered it all too...no wait, no...I'd probably have asked Santa for a suicide booth instead. HAHA Good stuff...BUY IT!

Luis VI gave 10 points
26.03.2003 | eMail

#13 by Kristi
Wonderful DVD set! I like the packaging and art inside. The episodes are, of course, hilarious. The commentaries are great and informative and I even laughed a few times while listening to them. My favorite commenters are Billy West and John DiMaggio. I like the scene selection screens. The way they play a part of the scene is cool and they look good. The featurette is too short but the art gallery is very good and fun to look at. The deleted scenes are interesting but there aren't enough of them. The storyboard, early script, and animatics for "Space Pilot 3000" are interesting and give insight into the development of the show.

This is a terrific DVD set and I highly recommend it to everyone.

Kristi gave 10 points
26.03.2003

#14 by YoungHov116
Im not much of a journalist, but this set is a must have. BUY, BUY, BUY.

YoungHov116 gave 10 points
26.03.2003

#15 by Jason M. Peavey
I know, I've already left a review here but I took out more time last night to view the DVD set, and I have to lower my rating to an 8. The first couple of episodes, especially the first, has really glitchy animation ("swimmy" I guess you could call it) when there's a lot of motion at some parts. I was unimpressed with this because I have these episodes already on tape, and it wasn't originally like that. Isn't the DVD version supposed to be better than the aired version? Even if not, it shouldn't look any worse!

I only noticed this problem with the first 2 or 3 episodes, really. The rest looks superb..... Except for the DVD menus. Bor-ring! And the deleted scenes aren't even worth watching in my opinion (It's no wonder why much of it was cut out), but it's still a nice addition. The best special feature in this set is the full-length audio commentaries though.

Still by far this is one of the best DVD sets to own. I'll take a Season 1 set any way I can get it!

Season 3's my fav, by the way... let's hope to see every season eventually released here ;)

Jason M. Peavey gave 8 points
26.03.2003 | eMail

#16 by Gamebox
Am I the only one that noticed some "clipping" in the left top hand side in the 2nd episode when fry and leela are getting out of the crater via the oxygen tank?

Gamebox gave 10 points
26.03.2003

#17 by page
The DVD's commentary track and extras are excellent but the only problem I have are the glitches on the first disk. For me episodes 1-3 skipped a bit. I assume others are having the same problem. That's the only reason why I can't give this DVD a full 10.

page gave 9 points
26.03.2003 | eMail

#18 by mc gusto
my girlfriend bought me the dvd set and i creamed myself. This set rocks! I cant wait for season 2.

mc gusto gave 10 points
26.03.2003

#19 by Gumbercules
Well, well worth the wait. The commentaries alone are worth the price of admission. Yes, the background street sounds on the main menus are annoying, but that's what the 'mute' button is for on my stereo. The extras are excellent, especially the animatic and storyboards; very cool stuff.
Now we shall see if those pole smoking Fox execs release Season 2 here in the states in the near future...

Gumbercules gave 10 points
26.03.2003

#20 by Mooseboy
Like most everyone else that's reviewed this box set so far, I bought it the first day it came out.

I've only watched the first disk, but it's great having surround sound and a rock solid picture for Futurama!

Mooseboy gave 10 points
27.03.2003


[Prev Page] [Next Page]



Write your own review:

Name *
Email
Rating *
Security check *
word 1: word 2:
Comment *
  (Fields marked with * are needed)

 

Legal notice: "Futurama" TM and copyright FOX, its related entities and the Curiosity Company. All rights reserved. Any reproduction, duplication or distribution of these materials in any form is expressly prohibited. Disclaimer: As a fan page, this web site and its content are not authorized by FOX.